We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in the heart of San Diego”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bristol Hotel
Ranked #66 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the heart of San Diego”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I was quiet impressed with this hotel. It was very clean, modern, stylish, quiet and comfortable. It had an excellent location and it was a short pleasant walk to the harbor and many sit-down restaurants. There was a bar fridge in our room but it wasn't working, we called downstairs and someone brought up a new mini fridge right away. Our intention was to buy food for breakfasts/lunches and put it in the fridge but sadly grocery stores were non-existent (and fast food restaurants were hard to find). I would be nice if the Bristol offered a complementary breakfast, even if it is small like juice, muffins and cereal. Other amenities were also present like an iron, hair dryer, coffee maker and safe. Though we were a little skeptical about the hotel restaurant we ended up going there for dinner one night as it was convenient and guests get 50% off. I ordered the steak and double-baked potato. It was amazing! I would say it was the best meal of the entire trip and it was less than $10. The sundae afterwards was also delicious. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only thing I really didn't like was the extra $26 a day for valet parking. I wish this could be somehow rolled into the price of the room and not be a surprise at check-in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaosAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear ChaosAngel,
Thank you for a great review! As you mentioned, our rooms are stocked with great amenities including plush robes, slippers, eco-friendly spa products and complimentary Wi-Fi. I apologize for the refrigerator snafu, but I am glad that it was taken care of immediately by our staff. Our restaurant, the First Avenue Bar and Grille, offers some of the best cuisine in San Diego and we're glad you enjoyed our 50% discount on select entrees for guests of the hotel. We also extend a 50% discount on overnight Valet parking if you are driving a Hybrid Vehicle. Our standard parking charge is between $8 to $12 less expensive than surface lots or competing hotels and we have intentionally priced it that way to give our guest the added savings.

On behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for selecting and staying at the Bristol Hotel.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    435
    113
    46
    39
See reviews for
167
413
72
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

First of all the restaurant looks like something from Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares.. who puts carpeting in a restaurant? So it stinks and the food is subpar. Out of all the great places to eat downtown who would want to eat there? Place is poorly managed and staff looks overworked. The owner of the hotel responding to each and every review is a little creepy and intimidating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tae Ha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Tae Ha P,
Thank you for your observations and comments. The First Avenue Bar and Grille Restaurant receives many compliments regarding the food and service provided and I apologize if your experience was not to your liking. We try our best to satisfy everyone and your comments are being forwarded to our restaurant partner for their review.

I also want to assure you that I respond to many reviews not to be intimidating, but because I want to acknowledge that every review, good or bad, is taken seriously, so that we can continue to provide excellent service for past, current and future guests.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My friend and I were on a road trip in California, and of the four hotels we visited, this one was the best. The room was clean, comfortable, and had the necessary amenities including a hair dryer, iron, toiletries, coffee maker, and fridge. We had trouble with the fridge not being cool enough so we called the front desk and a gentleman was up in minutes with a new fridge. The staff were friendly and the hotel is in a great location - just a few minutes from Seaport, the ocean, the gas lamp district, etc. The only thing I would have liked would have been a complementary breakfast, although I understand that breakfast could be purchased at the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilly_bopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Jilly_bopper,
Road Trip?! That sounds like fun! Thank you for rating the Bristol as the best hotel out of the four that you stayed at and thank you for writing a great review! I am glad you liked our spacious rooms and a number of our complimentary amenities like in-room refrigerators, coffee makers, complimentary Wi-Fi, hairdryers and more. Our location is great as well and I am glad you were able to take advantage of it during your stay with a visit to Seaport Village, the Gaslamp and more.

Thanks again for including us in your road trip adventure and for your nice review.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

What a great hotel for our weekend holiday. Located downtown and right around the corner from a trolley stop, getting to wherever you wanted to go was easy. Many of the fun places in San Diego (Seaport Village, bay front, Gaslamp District, Petco Park and Little Italy) were within walking distance. The hotel staff were very courteous and attentive, excellent room service. Our room was spectacular, with a great view of the bay. Excellent hotel for the price and we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Though on the street side, the rooms located on the upper floors north end offer views of the bay...
See more room tips
Green Features: I was very impressed with their excellent environmentally-friendly practices
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Jeff D,
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Bristol Hotel, with a great view of the bay!
As you mentioned, we are walking distance to most of the major downtown attractions, especially those along the waterfront, which includes our popular Seaport Village; Petco Park is nearby as well as Little Italy, Gaslamp Quarter, Convention Center and Horton Plaza for shopping. I was happy to read you ordered room service and that you will stay with us again!

Thank you for your complimentary comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

San Diego was our favourite place on our California road trip, and this hotel is a little gem. The rooms are large and very clean, with slippers and dressing gowns for a more homely feel. We were welcomed so warmly when we arrived by the lady at the desk, I think her name might have been Jasmine? It is about 5 minutes to the Gaslamp district which we absolutely loved. We stayed Sunday-Tuesday so probably a quieter time, but we found it to have lots of atmosphere and great bars and restaurants- try one of the Mexican places! Our room overlooked the street but were not disturbed by noise at all in the night. Would thoroughly recommend the Trolley Bus tours, the guides are fantastic and the trip to San Diego Old Town is not to be missed! Wish we had longer in this beautiful, friendly city, will definitely stay here again if we have the fortune to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Emily H,
Thank you for a great 5-star review!!! As we say - all roads lead to the Bristol Hotel! I am happy to read that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our special touches including our plush robes and slippers. We're also glad you enjoyed our clean, spacious and nicely appointed guestrooms, which are “quiet” for an urban hotel.

Thank you for mentioning our excellent location within walking distance to the Convention Center, the Gaslamp Quarter, Seaport Village, Petco Park, Horton Plaza for shopping and the many live music and theater venues that surround us.

Jazmine, is a recent employee, and like many of our staff members, she is very friendly and delightful and we will be sure to share your comments with her and place them in her employee file.

Emily H, on behalf of the Bristol Team we thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and we sincerely appreciate your accolades; please visit us again soon!.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

excellent hotel - just celebrating 1st year anniversary - so everything still very fresh and new - well situated near Horton Plaza - within 5 -10 mins of Gas lamp quarter, and 15 minutes pleasant walk to convention centre. Staff incredibly helpful and pleasant and several nice touches - like providing 2 $1 vouchers for drinks in bar, free printing of boarding cards, free wifi, half price entrees in restaurant for hotel guests (incredibly good value with high quality 'healthy' and v tasty options - try the signature chicken! would definitely use this again if ever back in San Diego

Green Features: encourage re-use of towels and bed linen, half or full flush for loo
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Janet S.,
Thank you for a nice review! We are happy to read you enjoyed our downtown San Diego location near the convention center, Horton Plaza and the Gaslamp. Thank you for mentioning our complimentary business center and our friendly and courteous Reception Desk Employees who are here to assist you with your every need. I am glad you liked our on-site restaurant, the FIRST avenue bar & grille, as well as the drink vouchers.

Thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and we hope you are able to visit us from the UK again soon.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a stylish boutique hotel in the Gaslamp district. The location cannot be beat, as we were within 2 blocks of restaurants and shopping. We loved our room! It was large and well appointed. There was the standard hair dryer, coffee maker, safe, iron, ironing board, and even a refrigerator. And the bed was so comfortable! The decor was delightful and included a fresh flower and candies. The room was clean, and well maintained. The maid service was excellent. There were earplugs in case you needed them, but the room was very quiet, and we were even near the elevator. The staff were friendly and very responsive, and the valet service was also very good. They were fast and courteous. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear KI,
Wow, thank you for a great review and I am glad that your visit was memorable. I will be sure to pass along your comments to the Parking Valet Staff, Reception Agents and our Housekeepers. From the valet to housekeeping to the reception agents, thank you for acknowledging our friendly and responsive staff! I am also pleased you enjoyed our spacious and comfortable accommodations with a variety of amenities. As you mentioned, our downtown San Diego location is close to shopping, restaurants and the Gaslamp, and can’t be beat.

On behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and we look forward to your future visits.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#80 of 279 in San Diego
1,335 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
960 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 279 in San Diego
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel

Property: The Bristol Hotel
Address: 1055 1st Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4890
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Business Hotel in San Diego
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bristol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bristol Hotel, a premier boutique hotel in downtown San Diego, offers extreme comfort and friendly service whether your travel is for business or leisure. The Bristol Hotel is a fresh take on modern style - our sophisticated atmosphere awaits you in our contemporary lobby and throughout our eclectically styled San Diego hotel rooms. This modern flair continues throughout the lounge and banquet facilities and is sure to be a perfect choice for business, leisure, group functions, meetings and special events. This downtown hotel’s superb location is within blocks of the Gaslamp Quarter, fine dining, world-class shopping at Horton Plaza, the Cruise Ship Terminal, the Convention Center, Petco Park, Theatre District, East Village, Little Italy, San Diego Concourse and the San Diego Bay. This pet-friendly San Diego hotel is only a short drive to any of the many sunny beaches, the San Diego Zoo, and SeaWorld. The Bristol Hotel is one of only seven hotels in San Diego to receive the Green Eco-Leaf Rating and is also a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing