We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a place to rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
Ranked #212 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 23 April 2007

Nice an clean hotel with a great value. The 30 minutes to San Diego or the beach didn t matter to us,since the place was quite and we had a great sleep there. The night we went to Imperial Beach and a had a great diner. For travelling to Mexico, this is a bargain and a great value. We travel a lot and have miserable experience with Motel 8, and finaly found a chain which offers great and comforable service.Try this one out, even you visit Seaworl or other places. The 30 minutes drive to all attractions are nothing, compared to the rest you and the children will get there.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Nilo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2006

The price is lower at this location because it is in an industrial area next to the border. Lots of tractor trailers hanging out nearby.

The rooms are decent size for a normal hotel. But they are a little deceiving as this location calls itself Comfort SUITES. The rooms are generally clean. The rooms seem to be only slightly larger than a standard room elsewhere.

*** One important caution: They advertise free Internet in the rooms, but the service is very poor! It is slower than dial-up and most of the time the pages will nto even load.

When we complained about this, they acknowledged it was a problem. As they are not in a cable service area, they rely on satellite for Internet, and it is not reliable at all.

If you are into the heavy, fattening breakfasts, theirs is ample. But they close it very early so dont be late!!! Also, be prepared to hear the cleaning crew making enough noise to wake up the devil, at around 7am!

In conclusion, the place is a very decent value if you happen to be needing a place in the industrial zone by the border and dont need Internet!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Viajero77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2006

The property is nice and clean. Rooms are nice and spacious. Microwave and Refridgerator were nice to have - due to lack of open food choices. Although I would only recommend for short stays, as everything in the area closes early. Hard to find anything that is open late for dinner or fast food, even the Mcdonalds that is 2mins away closes by 11pm. I did have good sense of security considering that it is in a dark industrial area. Hotel is well lit at nite.
If you are planning to see San Diego alot this is not the hotel for you. Drive to downtown is 30-40 min. Spend the extra money on city hotel as you will end up spending more money on gas anyway. If you are planning Mexico visits this is the perfect location.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank travellover72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Jacksonville, Florida
12
Reviewed 20 June 2006

The breakfast was the best part of this hotel. In our room, the bedspread was stained and the carpet was very dirty. I had to wash my feet after walking around on it. The location is good if you are going to Mexico. It takes some time to go to San Diego because of border traffic. But the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2006

This is a great little hotel! Really GREAT value - clean, comfortable and quiet and great deluxe continental breakfast.

Particularly good if you want a nice comfortable place to stay overnight on your way to Tijuana (TJ) or places further South. It's about a 10 minute walk to the Otay Mesa border crossing, which is so much lower stress and quicker than the much more heavily used San Ysidro crossing. We checked out in the morning, left our car in the parking lot (which management was happy to let us do), walked across the border, and grabbed a cab to where we needed to go in TJ. Coming back to the U.S. later that day, it was a very quick walk through inspection at the border, nothing like San Ysidro.

I do agree with prior review that it is a little far out from the main part of San Diego, so you would probably be disappointed if you really want to stay right in the heart of San Diego, but I like this hotel so much that I would consider staying here even if my primary destination were San Diego instead of TJ.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LA_Larry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2006

Nothing wrong with the hotel except for one important thing - location.

Unless your destination is Mexico, I will not recommend this hotel for touring San Diego. You do get a nice view of the bordering Mexico, especially at night, but going to the central touristy spots in San Diego is a good 20 minute drive, that is if you are not stuck in the border crossing traffic.

Basically the hotel is located one exit from the border. There's nothing much surrounding it except for 1 IHOP, some gas stations, 1 MacDonald, 1 Jack in the Box. It's about 8 miles from the nearest highway.

The room is a basic suite, with a queen bed and a separate sitting area. The bed is one of the hardest I have slept on, but it is clean. There is a mini fridge and a microwave.

Breakfast is complimentary and is similar to other chains like Residence Inn. They had make it yourself pancakes, biscuits and sausage gravy, bagels, cereal, etc.

There is a reason why the rate is so cheap...

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stella t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2005

We made these reservations for just one night to rest after our 12 hour drive (traffic) from nor. cal. on our way in to Mexico. I warned the family... it's dirt cheap so it could be a dump but we'll save money to afford the resorts in Baja. As it turns out asside from the fact that we had no ocean view this stay was more enjoyable than any of the 3 places we stayed in Baja for twice as much money. We were concerned as it's just 3 minutes from the border and a very industrial setting-area. But the staff was pleasant & helpful. The room was a suite for $69 a night. The swimming pool was treated with Bromine not chlorine so your eyes don't burn, the hot tub was fantastic. We met tons of people who were coming and going from Mexico~great socialization. The rooms were clean and air conditioned. There were tons of casual places to eat around there. and mex. insurance is available in the plaza next door. At check out I was informed of the all you can eat complimentary breakfast buffet. I already thought we'de gotten great value and service, you could even make your own fresh hot Belgium Waffles there! Where we live in Northern Calif. it's $85 for a dump, we were pleased!

25  Thank Loveourcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Best Western Americana Inn
#129 of 278 in San Diego
326 reviews
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
#185 of 278 in San Diego
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#162 of 278 in San Diego
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Otay Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Otay Mesa

Address: 2351 Otay Center Dr, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Comfort Suites Otay Mesa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £59 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites Otay Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get more for your money at the Quality Suites San Diego Otay Mesa hotel in San Diego, CA near Maquiladoras and Cross Border Xpress to Tijuana Airport. This smoke-free hotel is close to Las Americas Premium Outlets, Aquatica San Diego, SeaWorld's Water Park and Sleep Train Amphitheatre. Enjoy amenities like free hot breakfast, free WiFi, free weekday newspaper, fitness center and swimming pool facilities. Rooms include a flat-screen TV, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer and coffee maker. Also, earn rewards including free nights and gift cards with our Choice Privileges Rewards program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites Otay Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Otay Mesa Hotel San Diego
Comfort Suites San Diego
San Diego Comfort Suites
Otay Mesa Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing