We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel-honest staff!”
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bahia Resort Hotel
Ranked #31 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Palmdale, California
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel-honest staff!”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Decided on this hotel due to perfect location and no parking or resort fees. Loved being right on the bay with available water sports and lovely cabanas. Enjoyed relaxing at the pool and jazzuci- both at perfect temperature -after a day at the zoo! We got $10 off zoo price buying them from the hotel. Had a great happy hour at the bar before going to old town. Also got a AAA discount with free breakfast for room. Our room was recently remodeled with a garden view that included watching all the newborn ducklings in the pond outside. But the best part was I accidentally left my jewelry and the honest housekeeper turned it in, thank goodness as it had sentamental value. Will definitely plan a return trip!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MooshiPalmdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,118
    998
    387
    181
    157
See reviews for
1,517
957
91
544
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SoCal, U.S.A.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We Stayed at the Bahia for a wedding over a weekend that was also our anniversary. I would rate the hotel as average. It is conveniently located, but if you want to feel as though you are going to be staying in luxury, that is not the case. I felt that the rooms seemed old and dingy. Perhaps the rooms were renovated, so maybe it was the color scheme that made it feel like something out of the 70's. The hotel staff gave misleading info about late check out, which was upsetting as I had planned our day around the late check out. They did nothing to help me out...and it was on the day of our anniversary. When we got to the room, it smelled of smoke. I called the front desk and they had to have someone come in and spray the room. We would have moved, but with two children it was too much work and we would have been in another part of the hotel instead of in the same building as the wedding reception. Perhaps there are other rooms on the property that are a bit more luxurious. We stayed int he building across from Check in. I think the rate is over-priced for the room quality.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I recently went to San Diego for a college reunion. I stayed at Bahia Resort Hotel in Mission Bay as a single traveler. My experience was great from the time I made the reservation through check out. I felt it was an incredible value for the price. I had an excellent view of Mission Bay from my balcony, a kitchenette, two double beds, living area with separate bath/vanity. The on site amenties were great too; a huge jacuzzi and pool, and tennis courts. The restaurant and bar staff were wonderful, as was the front desk staff. I would definately recommend this to a friend ;)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The ocean in CO
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Bahia 4 nights in April. We had a fantastic time. Our room was in a two story building with a view overlooking the marina. It had a small refrigerator, a stove, microwave and was stocked with dishes and silverware. Like other people have stated, the rooms are outdated. The pool area and grounds are great. The hotel is only two blocks from the ocean and all the downtown attractions (USS Midway, Seaport village, Petco Park) are only a short freeway drive away. Everything about the hotel was fine including the staff...my only complaint would be that the rooms need updating but we would stay there again in a minute.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCOPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This resort was wonderful for our family vacation. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and the price was good. We stayed for four days. I had called the front desk twice, once for more coffee and once because I lost my key card. Both times they were very receptive and quickly responded to my requests. I don't know what all these other people are talking about. The only thing that I would change if I could, was the restaurant. Because this was a family vacation, the food choices were not very kid friendly. They did have a children's menu, but not much on the regular menu for the "tweens". We had two meals there, one of which was the breakfast buffet. The food was okay, but not great, and it was a little pricey. However, we would certainly stay there again. Thanks Bahia!

Room Tip: There are bay view, marina view and garden view rooms. We had a bay view suite and a garden view do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TelmaWomack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I stayed for just over a week at the end of February into March and loved the hotel. Some of the rooms are a bit tired but they are renovating now. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. I loved the location of the hotel and fell in love with San Diego. You definitely need a car to get out and about. It was my first visit there but I hope to be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed 4 days, the location is NOT downtown, but it IS on the water and right there beside SeaWorld.... so you need a car for SURE..... Lots of families with kids at this resort, so it's really geared for a family - and the value is there - location great for kids.... if you're a couple, i'd recommend staying downtown close to all the city-sites....... the food is GREAT here, wonderful restaurant and staff........ for my 1st time to San Diego, i regretted that I didn't stay downtown in the core (it was 20 mins drive from Bahia) and one could get around very easy without a car in the centre..... although, no complaints about the hotel itself, great place

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workin'guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 278 in San Diego
1,036 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 278 in San Diego
896 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Property: Bahia Resort Hotel
Address: 998 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Resort Hotel is a welcoming waterfront property located on a 14-acre picturesque peninsula in San Diego’s scenic Mission Bay. Featuring spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens as well as friendly service and comfortable accommodations, Bahia Resort Hotel is the ideal destination for an authentic Southern California beach getaway. Impressive accommodations are key at the Bahia; guests may choose between our deluxe studios and suites, each with its own balcony or patio and a full range of amenities. Further room options include kitchenettes, direct access to the beach and views of the sparkling bay and our expansive tropical gardens. At Bahia Resort Hotel we ensure you receive all the comforts and amenities needed to enjoy your vacation. Staying at the Bahia grants guests easy access to an array of dining options, including our signature restaurant Cafe Bahia, which offer international cuisine served amid this indoor-outdoor tropical paradise. At our Moroccan-inspired Tangier Lounge, guests enjoy crafty drinks alongside a crackling fireplace and live piano bar. Beyond the Bahia, seemingly countless options offering an array of culinary experiences are just minutes away. For those seeking to spend their vacation on the water, Bahia Resort Hotel boasts an assortment of options. Headlining these choices is the Bahia Belle, an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours guests around the bay nightly. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset and views of the bay’s playful seals from the top deck, then prepare to kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. Additional nearby water activities include sailing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, surfing and more though nobody will blame you for simply relaxing on our soft sand beaches or at our sparkling pool. Back on land, the Bahia boasts a fitness center, kids’ arcade, tennis courts and bicycle and Segway rentals. Within walking distance guests can also explore Belmont Park, an oceanfront amusement park featuring the Great Dipper, a wooden roller coaster and designated historic landmark built in 1925. Take in the picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean during a leisurely stroll on the boardwalk, go rock climbing, or play miniature golf in this popular beachfront locale. Traveling further afield is a breeze, as the Bahia’s location is ideal for those seeking to experience San Diego’s major attractions. The Bahia Resort Hotel is located directly across from SeaWorld and is within 10 miles from the world famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. The Bahia Resort Hotel is owned and operated by Evans Hotels, a San Diego-based hospitality group that also includes the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The Bahia is a reflection of all that “America’s Finest City” has to offer ‒ from year-round perfect weather and soft sandy beaches to dazzling Pacific Ocean sunsets ‒ and we look forward to helping you create your picture perfect Southern California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing