We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Resort”
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bahia Resort Hotel
Ranked #29 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great resort. Has a 70's feel to it, which was awesome. Had lots of history to it. Would stay there again. Loved the rescued seal at the front of the hotel. Great views and a short walk to the beach. Just loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeAnn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,966)
There are newer reviews for Bahia Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,310 - 2,316 of 3,967 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed March 13 & 14, 2014, room 357. Check in was quick and the people at the desk were very professional and nice. This was a bayfront king room that faces Bahia's private beach. I recommend any rooms that face the private beach & the Bahia Belle. The other side of the resort faces another part of the bay but you have to look past their huge parking lot which takes away the peacefulness. So request private beach side. On the beach there are plenty of private beach cabanas for your use. The room was good size, very clean, and satisfying but this is a much older hotel and I feel the rooms looked it (outdated). The bed was very comfortable. Having the private patio with lounge chairs was so awesome. You could sit out there, relax, and look at the bay and the boats, very private. We didn't hear any outside noise other than when the Bahia Belle is loading up people or docking. The downfall for me was the bathroom. It was so tiny with a very small sink, toilet, and shower. Only 1 person could fit for sure. There is no place to lay out your toiletries or clothes. It would be nice if the hotel had a shelf on the wall. The bathroom is very outdated. Bottom of the walls were pretty old and stained. Water pressure was strong but again, the bathroom was just so small. The grounds are very pretty and the parking felt secure. We walked to Mission Bay/Belmont Park which is less that 1/2 mile away. There are shops, restaurants, the arcade and roller coaster for kids and the long boardwalk to stroll down. Then of course the ocean to view! I highly recommend for people to park at Old Town and eat at Casa De Reyes restaurant. Old Town has so much to offer from colorful shops to great restaurants all around. Another tip is walking from Old Town over to the trolley station a few blocks away. Pay $5 for the all day compass pass. If you take the green line you can stop off at any one of the other great things to see in San Diego. Little Italy, Gaslamp Quarter, Convention Center, Old Town, and Seaport Village. It is all within walking distance at the stops along the green line. That way you bypass parking at all these places. The trolley is clean and so convenient. For those who know about Anthony's Fish Grotto, you can get off at the Santa Fe Depot and walk a couple of blocks to this famous restaurant. Great sea food, ambiance, and it overlooks the ocean. It's also very close to the Maritime Museum, the cruise ship terminals, and USS Midway Museum. If you don't have a car, you could easily take a cab to the Trolley station then the greenline will take you to many sights to see.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the private beach/the Bahia Belle. The other side faces another part of the bay b...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azdisneyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling CA, Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for such a thorough review and for highlighting all the fun and exciting activities going on around our resort. We appreciate your feedback on the bathroom and adding a shelf for toiletries is, indeed, something we're considering. We are studying the best way to do it without cluttering a bathroom that is smaller than the bathrooms in our beachfront suites. That said, our beachfront rooms include a vanity right outside the bathroom that can be used for toiletries. Thank you again for the comments and we're happy to hear you had a relaxing stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

For a Hotel with as much character as the Bahia Hotel has, why would you want to stay anywhere else. It is right on Mission Bay, beautiful views, prices are great, yes you give a little because the rooms are a little out of date but updated nicely & very clean - it's the history behind it -

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhibracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The friendly staff at the Bahia works to make your stay ultra-comfortable. Every employee I encountered was warm and helpful! Such a beautiful location too, plus clean, large rooms with every amenity you could need.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meels12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

For the price this place was perfect. Everything was clean and maintained well. Sure some minor cosmetic touch up could be used but for our money it was worth it. Rooms were very clean. It was close to Sea World and about 3 blocks from Mission Beach and Belmont Park. San Diego Zoo, USS Midway Museum and Balboa Park were within a 15 minute drive. Definitely recommend you stay at this resort

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I accompanied my husband to a conference at the Bahia Resort. Prior to arriving we had upgraded our room to a Deluxe Bayview room. The resort is quite spread out with numerous buildings ranging from 1 storey to 4 storey buildings. Our room was nice but overlooked a parking lot. We inquired about changing locations and were placed in a bay front two storey building. Better view but a standard room. The room appeared quite rustic with a musty smell. You could barely turn around in the tiny bathroom. Everything in the room was quite old and dated. Quite honestly we have stayed in better rooms in third world countries. The $200/night rate was somewhat outrageous.
Customer service however was outstanding, whether in the restaurant or front reception. Everyone was helpful and greeted you promptly. I enjoyed the pool area. The beach has numerous cabana beds, except the pads to lie on need to be replaced, quite gross looking.
Overall, an okay resort. Overpriced for what you are getting. Would likely not return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeachyPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling CA, Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We're sorry you felt like you didn't receive good value at the resort, but we are proud to hear about the outstanding customer service from our team. Our relationships with our guests is the most important part of what we do, welcoming everyone like we would to our own homes. The driveway does separate the bay view rooms from the beach on the east side of the peninsula and we were more than happy to re-accommodate you to a beachfront room on the west side since the first room didn't exactly fit your needs. The cabana mattresses are cleaned regularly, but we will take a look right away to determine which ones need to be replaced. Thanks again and we hope you'll re-consider visiting us down the road.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

I attended a fund raiser for my nephews school at the Bahia. (Yawn). I was really surprised how much fun I had. The bartender, Randi, was friendly and efficient. I had such a good time with her I was bidding against myself. I ended up with some wonderful gift baskets and my nephews school made a lot of money. The Bahia made an engagement I thought of as an obligation FUN!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pea1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Hotel
#154 of 278 in San Diego
750 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#31 of 278 in San Diego
1,050 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £105 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Resort Hotel is a welcoming waterfront property located on a 14-acre picturesque peninsula in San Diego’s scenic Mission Bay. Featuring spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens as well as friendly service and comfortable accommodations, Bahia Resort Hotel is the ideal destination for an authentic Southern California beach getaway. Impressive accommodations are key at the Bahia; guests may choose between our deluxe studios and suites, each with its own balcony or patio and a full range of amenities. Further room options include kitchenettes, direct access to the beach and views of the sparkling bay and our expansive tropical gardens. At Bahia Resort Hotel we ensure you receive all the comforts and amenities needed to enjoy your vacation. Staying at the Bahia grants guests easy access to an array of dining options, including our signature restaurant Cafe Bahia, which offer international cuisine served amid this indoor-outdoor tropical paradise. At our Moroccan-inspired Tangier Lounge, guests enjoy crafty drinks alongside a crackling fireplace and live piano bar. Beyond the Bahia, seemingly countless options offering an array of culinary experiences are just minutes away. For those seeking to spend their vacation on the water, Bahia Resort Hotel boasts an assortment of options. Headlining these choices is the Bahia Belle, an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours guests around the bay nightly. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset and views of the bay’s playful seals from the top deck, then prepare to kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. Additional nearby water activities include sailing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, surfing and more though nobody will blame you for simply relaxing on our soft sand beaches or at our sparkling pool. Back on land, the Bahia boasts a fitness center, kids’ arcade, tennis courts and bicycle and Segway rentals. Within walking distance guests can also explore Belmont Park, an oceanfront amusement park featuring the Great Dipper, a wooden roller coaster and designated historic landmark built in 1925. Take in the picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean during a leisurely stroll on the boardwalk, go rock climbing, or play miniature golf in this popular beachfront locale. Traveling further afield is a breeze, as the Bahia’s location is ideal for those seeking to experience San Diego’s major attractions. The Bahia Resort Hotel is located directly across from SeaWorld and is within 10 miles from the world famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. The Bahia Resort Hotel is owned and operated by Evans Hotels, a San Diego-based hospitality group that also includes the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The Bahia is a reflection of all that “America’s Finest City” has to offer ‒ from year-round perfect weather and soft sandy beaches to dazzling Pacific Ocean sunsets ‒ and we look forward to helping you create your picture perfect Southern California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing