We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit, nice as always”
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bahia Resort Hotel
Ranked #31 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Palo Alto, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Third visit, nice as always”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We recently visited the Bahia again, for our third time in the last year or so, and were once again impressed by the very helpful and laid back staff, and the nice suite room.

We booked a four-night stay for mid-June in one of the suite rooms overlooking West Mission Bay and Sea Word -- these rooms have become our favorite for their recent refurbishing, and are very comfortable with plenty of room for 3-4 people. On our first night, we were placed in a second-story room as we had requested, but its view out over the bay was a bit hemmed in by tall trees. The front desk immediately arranged for us to be moved to another room for the next morning (no others were available at the time).

The Bahia is also fantastic because they are so easy-going about letting us tow in our boat and park it on hotel property. There are plenty of spaces, and plenty of extra-large spaces suitable for the boat. The front desk even helped me locate a hose on-site to rinse off the boat after a day of sailing.

We enjoyed the beaches immediately surrounding the hotel, and the evening fireworks at Sea World. Overall, the trip was great and no drama at all with the hotel -- always a good thing!

Room Tip: We like the second story suite rooms facing Sea World
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apears0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,122
    1,000
    387
    181
    158
See reviews for
1,520
959
91
545
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My fiance surpride me for Fathers day with a getaway to San Diego for last weekend. She booked us into the Bahia Resort. I have nothing to complain about and I need to compliment almost everyone and everything. We had plans on staying at the resort (sleeping) and spending alot of time exploring San Diego. What we didnt expect was that we would spend the majority of our time at the resort. When we checked in we were greeted by Kaylana who was so nice and explained everything about the resort to us including telling us about a boat ride and a show on the beach. Our room wasnt ready so we walked around the resort and there was so much going on. We saw the "show" on the beach they were talking about being set up and the "boat" in the distance. We went into there gift shop and were greeted by a man named Michael who we later found out knew a bunch about San Diego and was one of the Managers. He acted like he knew us and started talking about San Diego, things to do, asked us what we wanted to do, pulled out a map and gave us suggestions. The whole time he and a girl in the store were busy helping people but he kept coming back to us like we were the only people that mattered. He told us about the show on the beach which turned out to be their annual Brazilain Carnaval that they do each summer. He explained that by the time we got into our room and got ready to go out and then go to dinner it would be late and we would probably spend $100 on dinner. Our tickets to Carnaval for both of us which included 3 hours of music, amazing food ( the chimichurri sauce was so good) and then a Brazilian Carnaval show on the beach were less than $100. We bought the tickets and got a text that our room was ready. My fiance was looking at a dress, and Michael set her up in a fitting room and brought her a few others. I was looking at some flip flops. Within 30 minutes of being at the resort we had made two new friends, plans for dinner and a show, my wife had a new dress and I had new flip flops.

Our room was on what they call the Easy Bay. It over looks a public beach. If you walk out the patio and cross the street your on the beach and can access public fire rings etc. They also have a Private Beach which is where the Show was that night. The room was great, big, queen bed, private patio. It was a bit dark but we didnt care because it was really private. Plus we saw the Sea World Fireworks from our room on Saturday Night.

The Carnaval show, it shard to explain. Think a Luau but Brazil. Its a huge stage setup on the beach with whote table cloth tables and yo sit with other people. We were greeted with cocktails and hot girls in Brazilain costumes. We sat and chatted with a lot of hotel guests. There were probaly a few hundred people that night and every employee was smiling and having such a good time. It reminded me of Mexico when we go to resorts and all the employees at every resort in Mexico work so hard to make the hotel guest have a good time. It was like that here. No one, and I mean no one had a bad atttitude. We got to know our cocktail waitress well, she kept the drinks coming. About 30 minutes after arriving they start letting people get up and get in line. All the food was a Brazilian type of foot, Fish, Chicken but the Pork Stew and the Churrasco Beef were my favorite. My girlfriend loved the calamari salad.
The show started about 7:45 so we had plenty of time to mingle, eat and drink. The show was about 1 1/2 hours of singing dancing and everything youd expect from a Brazilian Carnaval. During the dinner the Gift Shop Manager came over to check up on us and asked how we were doing. He told us to find him during our stay if we needed any advice on anything else to do. We really felt like we were at someones house and we were guests, thats how friendly everyone was.

Friday, frankly we were hung over. We slept in late and had breakfast in their Cafe restaurant. They have a huge Breakfast buffet but we wanted to go explore San Diego so we just ate off the menu. The Cafe is really small, but the patio attached is really big so we sat outside and ate, which was great because we discovere dthey shlter and home Harbor Seals that cannot be released back into the wild. We saw the seal they currently have being fed and she looked fat and happy. We also found out by the person feeding her that she was blind.

We went down to the Embarcadero and checked out the Midway and wlaked along the harbor and had lunch at Anthonys FIsh Grotto. Michael had told us that it was a legend in San Diego and it had been around forever and he was right. You could feel how old it was but he was also right that thye have the best Clam Chowder. We had planned to go back to the hotel and go out downtown but we made the mistake of going backinto the gift shop when we got back, (Ha ha it wasnt a mistake). Michael was there and said "Marc, Debbie, how was the show?" We told him all about it and he asked us if we were going to go on the Bahia Belle that night. That was the boat. Its a huge Sternwheeler that takes people and hotel guests for free across the Bay everynight to another hotel that is part of the Bahia. He suggested since it is complimentary we take that instead of driving downtown. He said take the boat across to the hotel, get off, wlak around and have dinner. You can have some cocktails too, not drive and then catch the boat back when we were done to get back to the Resort. He suggested a Restaurant at the Tower 23 Hotel in walking distance from the boat. The boat ride was fun, it was packed, there was music and you can buy cocktails on board. What hotel has this. It was so fun. In fact everyone was having fun, even the employeesn the boat. We had dinner (it was pricey but good and over looked the water) and came back to the resort later on that night. The boat was hopping and they had a band playing on board when we got back.

We hung out by the pool Saturday and and it was busy. There was a wedding going on at the resort I think and lots of families and kids but the pool is big, there were plenty of places to lay and sit, they have a place to get towels and music was playing AND they have a pool Bar!

We knew we wanted to go get dinner on Saturday night but really wanted to go explore downtown but not spend a lot of money. On a whim we went back into the gift shop to see if Michael was there and he was. We told him what we were looking for and he suggested to go to Little Italy which borders downtown, but he said it was an inexpensive italian restaurant that was a San Diego favorite called Fillippis. He said youd eat alot and then have full bellies to go drinking, and he was right. Everything he said was right. We did need to go early and we did wait in line and you do go through the Italian grocery store to get to the restaurant. But the Meatballs really are the size of baseballs and the smell of sauce permeates the restaurant. We ate a huge meal for about 1/3 of what we paid the night before so we had some extra money to just go have fun with downtowin in the gaslight district.

We got back late and had to be up early and dint get a chance to say good bye to anyone. But when we did get back we had a brief conversation with a security guard making his rounds named Sam who was so nice and wanted to know how we were doing, if we were enjoying our stay and if we needed anything.

You know when you travel you hope for the best and expect the worst. In this case we hoped for the best and recieved even more. We honestly cannot wait to get back and see everyone. Kaylana, Sam, our cocktail waitress (we forgot her name) and the gift shop manager Michael. This was the best Fathers Day gift I've ever gotten.

Room Tip: Go into the gift shop and ask for Michael - he knows everything there is to do about San Diego and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We arrived on Sat. around 2:00 PM and had a short wait for our rooms. One of the people in our party had not requested a ground floor room due to a handicap she has. I asked the office for help. They did not have any rooms that night but said they would have one for her the next day. The room wasn't ready the next afternoon but the on duty manager found a very nice ground floor room that was ready. Everyone at the front desk was very helpful and courteous. On our last day the shuttle (not affiliated with the hotel) left us behind. The manager that morning got us to the airport on time. He was a great help. Thank you all.

Room Tip: "All rooms are good but we liked the rooms facing Sea World and Mission Bay"
See more room tips
Green Features: There are recycle trash cans in the rooms. ENERGY STAR rooms.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W712ILrobertr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our stay was only four days. We initially reserved a Marina suite on the second floor. We arrived around 4 PM but needed to wait almost an hour for our room to be ready. Upon inspection we noticed the lights were out above the sink. They were replaced within an hour. We wanted a king bed but there are only queen beds in the Marina suites. The suite was very clean but also very dated. The bed was uncomfortable and you can hear traffic noise within the bedroom. The view of the marina was excellent. The short walk to the restaurant was a plus. The next morning we asked if we could be moved to the Bayfront suites which were recently remodeled so we could have a more comfortable newer king bed. We were able to relocate for the last two days of our stay. We were in room 145 and I highly recommend that if you are planning to stay in a suite, select the Bayfront suites. They are all refurbished, new beds, bathrooms, very nice suites. We ate breakfast and dinner at the restaurant daily. The food and service were excellent. All the staff people that we encountered provided excellent service. I gave my review 4 out of 5 stars based on our experience with the Marina suites.

Room Tip: Reserve the Bayfront suites, they are modern and renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had an amazing time in San Diego at the Bahia Resort. The rooms are well appointed and super clean. Esperanza provided exceptional service and was very friendly. We loved seeing her every morning. She had helpful insights regarding the local scene and would go above and beyond her role as Resort staff member. Over all the experience was 5 star. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Why was I there? Well I live in the Los Angeles area and went to San Diego for work training seminar. I was only going to stay for one night but wanted a nice, peaceful hotel, away from downtown San Diego. This hotel was nice. It was on the bay, we had a nice view from our balcony, and parking was convenient. Again some "pros" you wont get staying in downtown San Diego or gaslamp.

Let me describe the Bahia for you. The Bahia professional pictures taken by the resort are all good and dandy but the pool is wayyyyy smaller then it looks, the bay area is crowded with locals, and the hotel looks like it was built in the 70s. The room were pretty cozy though. The property is pretty well maintained and its clean. They have a bar on the property which was a walking distance from our room, however the waitress was annoyed, and was not very friendly. I think she absolutely hates her job.

When we arrived it was so packed with people checking in that it took us over 40 min of waiting in line to check in. We noticed as we walked to our hotel that they have equipment for rent like bikes, paddle boards etc. I didn't get a chance to check how much they were though.

Walking distance to the hotel was mission bay beach. They have plenty of bars their and even a small roller coaster. Reminded me of "The Jersey Shore" which was cool. Their was a sushi bar really close to the hotel that had awesome, affordable sushi.

For breakfast go off site. Their food was horrible!!!!

Like I said I didn't hate it but I didn't love it. Would I stay their again? No.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAcountyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling CA, Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for the honest review; we always appreciate both the positive and negative feedback. We hope you were able to enjoy not only the Mission Bay beaches on the west and east sides of our peninsula, but the vibrant Mission Beach that is just down the street from us. We apologize you didn’t enjoy your experience in Tangier Bar with an unfriendly server, something that simply doesn't meet the expected standards of our team. We can certainly do better and provide customer service that will produce rave reviews instead of negative commentary. We also apologize for the wait at check-in. Being at capacity is never an excuse as the arrival process should always be expedited. Thanks again for writing in and we hope you'll re-consider joining us should your San Diego travel needs arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed for two nights and booked a Garden view room with two double beds. They upgraded us for free to a studio...........which had a sitting area with a couch and coffee table and two chairs........also had a little kitchen, with stove, refrigerator, and microwave. Furnished with some dishes. It really added a lot more room since there was 4 of us staying in the room. We also got a early check in. Check in is at 4:00 at we got there at 11:30.............and got our room right away. Also, anytime we called for room service they were QUICK!! The hotel is within walking distance to Belmont Park and Mission Bay. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 96penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#30 of 278 in San Diego
1,037 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 278 in San Diego
900 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Property: Bahia Resort Hotel
Address: 998 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Resort Hotel is a welcoming waterfront property located on a 14-acre picturesque peninsula in San Diego’s scenic Mission Bay. Featuring spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens as well as friendly service and comfortable accommodations, Bahia Resort Hotel is the ideal destination for an authentic Southern California beach getaway. Impressive accommodations are key at the Bahia; guests may choose between our deluxe studios and suites, each with its own balcony or patio and a full range of amenities. Further room options include kitchenettes, direct access to the beach and views of the sparkling bay and our expansive tropical gardens. At Bahia Resort Hotel we ensure you receive all the comforts and amenities needed to enjoy your vacation. Staying at the Bahia grants guests easy access to an array of dining options, including our signature restaurant Cafe Bahia, which offer international cuisine served amid this indoor-outdoor tropical paradise. At our Moroccan-inspired Tangier Lounge, guests enjoy crafty drinks alongside a crackling fireplace and live piano bar. Beyond the Bahia, seemingly countless options offering an array of culinary experiences are just minutes away. For those seeking to spend their vacation on the water, Bahia Resort Hotel boasts an assortment of options. Headlining these choices is the Bahia Belle, an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours guests around the bay nightly. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset and views of the bay’s playful seals from the top deck, then prepare to kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. Additional nearby water activities include sailing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, surfing and more though nobody will blame you for simply relaxing on our soft sand beaches or at our sparkling pool. Back on land, the Bahia boasts a fitness center, kids’ arcade, tennis courts and bicycle and Segway rentals. Within walking distance guests can also explore Belmont Park, an oceanfront amusement park featuring the Great Dipper, a wooden roller coaster and designated historic landmark built in 1925. Take in the picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean during a leisurely stroll on the boardwalk, go rock climbing, or play miniature golf in this popular beachfront locale. Traveling further afield is a breeze, as the Bahia’s location is ideal for those seeking to experience San Diego’s major attractions. The Bahia Resort Hotel is located directly across from SeaWorld and is within 10 miles from the world famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. The Bahia Resort Hotel is owned and operated by Evans Hotels, a San Diego-based hospitality group that also includes the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The Bahia is a reflection of all that “America’s Finest City” has to offer ‒ from year-round perfect weather and soft sandy beaches to dazzling Pacific Ocean sunsets ‒ and we look forward to helping you create your picture perfect Southern California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing