We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Carnaval at the Bahia”
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bahia Resort Hotel
Ranked #29 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oceanside, California
1 review
“Carnaval at the Bahia”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It was a very lovely evening spent on the private beach at the Bahia. The buffet dinner was fresh and delicious and started on time. The entertainment was fun, and we really enjoyed how the dancers invited the little kids up to dance with them. So precious!! We are locals and had never been to this resort, we will definitely be back.

We didn't stay at the hotel, but we were shown what the rooms look like and I was impressed with the quality of the furnishings. Loved the rooms that are right on the beach and look out over the bay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,051
    979
    376
    177
    155
See reviews for
1,457
930
89
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A wonderful resort for my family and I visiting San Diego for the first time! The location, pool, staff, hotel events, ocean views, and food were all amazing and met our expectations. We would recommend this resort to anyone with kids or without.

Tips:
The rooms were nice but a bit dated. We had a garden side studio which included a "kitchen" and athough convenient it was also dated. This room was located on the 4th floor and the balcony faced the restaurant and bar. As we were traveling with children we felt that this particular room was a bit "noisy" from the crowd outside enjoying the restaurant and bar which closed late. If you are looking for quiet time we would recommend booking in another location on the grounds of the resort.

There were two weddings on this property during our stay. We were never notified prior to booking or during our stay that these events were to take place. This created more traffic, people and noise on the resort. The banquet room was on the 5th floor right above our room. If we had known of these events, we would have opted for another location on the resort because the wedding party was very loud and could be heard in our room later than we would have liked traveling with children. We did feel that security did a great job keeping the party in check for the other visitors not associated with the wedding. Be sure to ask when you book if a wedding is planned during your stay and you can plan accordingly.

Room Tip: rooms closer to the beach and away from the main lobby may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler516957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We lucked into this resort due a change in itineries and could not have been happier. We were in town for San Diego Comic Con and it was far enough out to miss the craziness but a short drive to everything. The staff was friendly and the rooms were spacious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingwolfdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holtville, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were very disappointed with our stay at the Bahia. Based on a family member's recommendation, we chose this hotel and we were so sorry we did. We paid over $1,400 for a four night stay in a hotel room that was dirty everywhere but the beds upon arrival, outdated everything. Kitchen sink clogged, bathroom sink drained slow, rust on the bottom of bathroom doorframe, sand and dirt on balcony. This hotel looks like it had not been renovated since the 70s. Our room was just not worth the price. The staff was only able to give us a $100 credit for the inconveniences. The only plus to this hotel was that it was close to Mission Beach and Belmont Park. We had brought our grandsons there for a birthday celebration and vacation and my husband was so upset with our accommodations that we almost checked out but there was nothing else available on the beach. Definitely will not recommend this hotel to anyone especially for the price and for what you get. For the $1,400+, we will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't pick this hotel if you are looking for luxury and cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JANET M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
260 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

we lucked out being introduced to this hotel...large, comfy rooms, great view, great staff and amazing bargain as it was through groupon...don't usually stay in this area but so glad we did!! would go back...lovely beach just outside!

Room Tip: get the view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I recently got married at the Bahia Resort and we couldn't have chosen a better venue. The location is beautiful but their ballroom is what we fell in love with the most. We are so pleased with how everything turned out and we received so many great compliments from all our guests. Thank you to all the wonderful staff members (Kadi, Yinka, Rusty and Kelsey) for all the help, making sure everything was running smoothly and great attitude.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_torres727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Resort hotel in a good location - shame about the rooms -we had a ground floor room in a block - with dated furnishings and decor. The kitchenette, whilst functional, had seen better days... Everything was clean and pool /service good ... Just in need of a thorough refurb.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 42ASimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Property: Bahia Resort Hotel
Address: 998 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Resort Hotel is a welcoming waterfront property located on a 14-acre picturesque peninsula in San Diego’s scenic Mission Bay. Featuring spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens as well as friendly service and comfortable accommodations, Bahia Resort Hotel is the ideal destination for an authentic Southern California beach getaway. Impressive accommodations are key at the Bahia; guests may choose between our deluxe studios and suites, each with its own balcony or patio and a full range of amenities. Further room options include kitchenettes, direct access to the beach and views of the sparkling bay and our expansive tropical gardens. At Bahia Resort Hotel we ensure you receive all the comforts and amenities needed to enjoy your vacation. Staying at the Bahia grants guests easy access to an array of dining options, including our signature restaurant Cafe Bahia, which offer international cuisine served amid this indoor-outdoor tropical paradise. At our Moroccan-inspired Tangier Lounge, guests enjoy crafty drinks alongside a crackling fireplace and live piano bar. Beyond the Bahia, seemingly countless options offering an array of culinary experiences are just minutes away. For those seeking to spend their vacation on the water, Bahia Resort Hotel boasts an assortment of options. Headlining these choices is the Bahia Belle, an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours guests around the bay nightly. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset and views of the bay’s playful seals from the top deck, then prepare to kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. Additional nearby water activities include sailing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, surfing and more though nobody will blame you for simply relaxing on our soft sand beaches or at our sparkling pool. Back on land, the Bahia boasts a fitness center, kids’ arcade, tennis courts and bicycle and Segway rentals. Within walking distance guests can also explore Belmont Park, an oceanfront amusement park featuring the Great Dipper, a wooden roller coaster and designated historic landmark built in 1925. Take in the picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean during a leisurely stroll on the boardwalk, go rock climbing, or play miniature golf in this popular beachfront locale. Traveling further afield is a breeze, as the Bahia’s location is ideal for those seeking to experience San Diego’s major attractions. The Bahia Resort Hotel is located directly across from SeaWorld and is within 10 miles from the world famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. The Bahia Resort Hotel is owned and operated by Evans Hotels, a San Diego-based hospitality group that also includes the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The Bahia is a reflection of all that “America’s Finest City” has to offer ‒ from year-round perfect weather and soft sandy beaches to dazzling Pacific Ocean sunsets ‒ and we look forward to helping you create your picture perfect Southern California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing