We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pacific Shores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Shores Inn
Ranked #230 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
West Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here for a week in October and thought it was fine. The location is great, our room was brand new and we got a really good price by using the hotels website. The continental breakfast was not much although the pastries were good. We used the coffee maker in room and kept breakfast items in the fridge. Our room was clean, the hotel was fairly quiet, and everyone working there was friendly and helpful. We had a second floor room with table and chairs outside the door, even had a peek-a-boo view of the ocean. Would definitely recommend it if you love Pacific Beach like we do and are able to get a price that's good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jupiter1WestVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
That's very nice, and that's really what we are striving for. We always hope that the service is excellent, and that the guest will always want to return. Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    156
    90
    46
    47
See reviews for
162
121
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Booked this hotel/motel based on location of the beach access. I knew it probably wouldn't be the Waldorf but was nicely surprised but what it had to offer. Clean room in an older building. VERY little parking but they give you a pass to make sure you have a spot. The continental breakfast is very basic but it's there. Walking distance to lots of eateries/beach. Was here in November but if I needed airconditioning I think we would have been out of luck. The unit looked a little older than I do. The bathroom was partially updated but the room still needs some help.

Room Tip: Request a room in the newer section away from Mission Blvd. The noise isn't a big deal but it co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Actually, you may have been surprised. The a/c units need replacement about every three to four years with the ocean air hitting them. But, we are very happy you decided to stay with us when you did. We hope you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

The Internet misrepresents this inn, which is more of a motel. The greatest thing about Pacific Shores Inn is the location, our room was 99 steps to Pacific Beach, we counted! A few things made this place average on our stay-
1. The walk-in closet had a burned out light despite the two requests to replace it.
2. The maids seemed not interested in getting the room cleaned and disregarded the "maid service" sign on the door.
3. The parking was full nearly every night. We could park but not close to our room.

Overall, a good, inexpensive place to spend the weekend and walk to the beach and nearby restaurants on Mission.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitatoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
I would like to apologize for your light bulb. We do not have an excuse for this, and my maintenance staff will see your comments. Thank you. I think I will tell people about the 99 steps in the future! Thank you. We are always trying to improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at the Pacific Shores first week of November '13 ...appox. 6 mabybe 7 times now. Great rates (even in summer), the staff always ready to serve. Located next to the boardwalk ..you're at the north end of where most of the "action" is, yet removed from much of the noise.

Depending on the season and who you book with you'll pay between $65 - $230 ..a bargain when you see what the other places are charging and what you're getting for the cost.

When we're at the beach in San Deigo and not renting a house; it's the Pacific Shores.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malomalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you, and yes, we are very competitive with the local competition. And, if you are a return guest, the rates are almost always better depending on the time period you would like to stay with us. Thank you for your comments, and we look forward to your return with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at Pacific Shores in Nov. 2013. Yes, the location to the beach was great, within walking distance for sure, but there were things that did not meet our expectations or the advertised amenities. Listed was premium TV channels including HBO. According to the desk clerk, they have not had HBO for years. Continental breakfast was coffee, tea, juice and pastries. No fruit, no cereal, nothing else. Sorry but this does not constitute a continental breakfast. Wifi was not free but very pricey. I think you could find several hotels in this price range which would have better amenities. I tried to speak to the general manager but he was never available at this hotel. Also there is absolutely no counter space in the bathroom for any items you might need to use that you brought with. My partner and I were constantly juggling things around. The placement of the fridge and microwave was odd. They are in the closet right in the doorway. Perhaps an inferior decorator, tongue in cheek, is needed, Location was great as I said, but not much else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tab555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
I'm sorry you did not like our property. We are constantly trying to improve every aspect of the property, from the rooms to the service. The WiFI service was changed to a much less expensive company with great customer service in regards to support when and if needed. I do apologize if I wasn't available, which is strange when I work every day. I hope you will try us again. Just contact me directly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

This place is great. close to the action but just far enough north that it's quiet. maybe 5-6 blocks from Garnet (3 min walk). 2 blocks from Bareback, thrashers and Duck Dive.
hotel stretches from Mission Blvd all the way back but not beach front. plenty of parking. free OJ and donuts in the morning. rooms are clean and simple. I stay here every time in PB, great place and can't beat the price. parking is a big deal in PB..especially if hotel doesn't guarantee a spot.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
That's a pretty good description of our location in regards to some of the local places to eat in PB. Of course, there are so many others. But, yes, parking in PB is very difficult during some time periods, so parking at the property and walking is usually the best way to patronize them. If not, you could find yourself further away than you would have been in the first place. I know, because I have tried to cheat the system myself before! Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

The rooms were a good size and the beds were comfortable, but once you get outside it feels very cramped with cars everywhere (exhausts at your front door if you are downstairs). Very good location near the sea. The pool was supposedly heated - but it didn't feel like it. Wifi was not free - an anachronism these days. Hand rail in bathroom fell off during stay - seemed like a new bathroom but not great quality. There are car parking spaces marked out - but then you are told they don't actually mean anything anymore as they don't use them - confusing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Yes, the parking is very tight almost every day when we are full. But, normally, we do find room for every vehicle. As for the renovation. There are definitely a few things that could be changed, but as for overall quality, in my opinion, it is very surprising to see the room! If you can forget about the cars down the middle of property, the room represents a much different idea! Thank you for your comments! We hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#126 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#228 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#150 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#97 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#171 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Shores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Shores Inn

Property: Pacific Shores Inn
Address: 4802 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109-2590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Shores Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pacific Shores Inn is a quaint inn located at the north end of Pacific Beach. Many of the rooms offer some views of the ocean, and restaurants and shops are just a couple of blocks away. The boardwalk is a 2.5 mile stretch that will take you from the north end of Pacific Beach all the way to the south end of Mission Beach. As you stroll down the boardwalk, you will find ocean front shops and restaurants as well as the famous Belmont Park in Mission Beach. Bike, and surfboard rentals are located within two blocks so there is no reason to pack those items when visiting us. And, every room has a microwave oven, refrigerator, and a coffee maker for your convenience. Some rooms also have full kitchens for those who require that. Parking, and a continental breakfast which includes juice, coffee, and danishes are always free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Shores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Shores Hotel San Diego
Pacific Shores San Diego
Pacific Shores Inn Of Pacific Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing