We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, some rooms newly remodelled”
Review of Pacific Shores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Shores Inn
Ranked #209 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location, some rooms newly remodelled”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed in a remodeled room- it was really nice! There is one building between the hotel and the beach but all that means is a few extra steps to walk. The outdoor pool is heated and seems well used. Loved the location and the price was good. Free parking- a godsend in this part of town! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcurtis924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Very nice! Thank you for your comments! We will be fully renovated my the beginning of next year. But, our rooms are nice, whether you have a new room or an older room. We did just complete a renovation of those rooms a while back, and the big difference is really the décor! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    162
    93
    46
    47
See reviews for
169
123
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

For the price, you can't beat it. Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms. They are really done well. Great location. It's back from the beach about 1/2 block but you can see a bit of the water from a few rooms. Free parking on site, very nice staff. Walking distance to just about anything you need. I wold definitely stay here again. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms, they are really great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
And, we do hope to see you again soon! Thank you for your nice comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here last weekend during a big rainstorm (at least for the warm San Diego area). Our room got cold during the night and the heater was not working. We were nice and warm as long as we stayed under the blankets and after calling the desk in the morning they send us a little portable heater (was kind of disappointed that we didn't receive a small discount, but oh well). We stayed in Room 24 and it was very comfortable. Love the bathroom. Great restaurants and stores are within easy walking distance. Beach access is just a very short walk away. The room and grounds were very clean and I will stay there again on my next visit to San Diego. The little seating area outside our door was a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marg19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you! And we do apologize for the heater. Please let me know upon your next visit with us so that I can make up for the situation you had this time. It will be our pleasure! We do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had originally booked at the PB Surf Beachside Inn, but the afternoon prior to our arrival I received a call from the front desk informing me we were being moved to the "sister" property a block away. I was not thrilled with the change as I had spent many hours pondering, looking at pictures, maps, and reviews on the internet before making the selection.

When we arrived and saw the room, it was nice enough, but you could tell it was only halfway remodeled. There we obvious upgrades, nice BIG new TV, nice little fridge and microwave, however; the old curtains were still up, and the floor was carpeted, not tiled. The bathroom was upgraded, but also unfinished, as the shower grout and chalking was not finished around the bottom....which allowed water flow out the shower, under the wall and into the carpet in the room. We discovered this as our socks got soaked as we walked into the bathroom across the soggy carpet.

Front desk was very helpful. When we turned our TV on, there was no cable. When we called the front desk, she cheerfully came down and immediately found the problem, the cable was not plugged into the TV. She also told us to let management know about the leaky shower when we checked out...which we did, and they got us a reasonable discount.

The location is superb! It's a couple minutes walk to the beach, and there is a nice grassy park above the beach on the little bluff with great views. Many reasonably priced restaurants in walking distance.

We will be back, and hope to get a fully finished room...at which point the review will be 4 or 5 instead of 3!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swimdesertrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Of course, we would love to receive a 5! But, I do understand your issues, and I believe I met you while I was picking up some paperwork at the desk. Please just give me a call the next time, and we'll make sure you get a fully renovated room! Thank you! And, btw, we did take care of the issues you told us about! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here in early 2010 when we were looking at moving into the area. This motel is a block from the beach, has extremely clean rooms, ample parking and great rates. We moved to San Diego later that month, and now we always recommend this hotel to out of towners. My in-laws have stayed here on numerous occassions (most recently in October 2013) and they enjoy it every time!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you! This is the best type of advertising we could ever hope for! We hope your family will continue to stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson az
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have stayed at this hotel befpre. It was great then considering it is only 1 block from Pacific Beach. Now it is even better. The rooms are being remodeled and are beautiful. We stayed in Rm 21. It had a view of the beach, outside seating area, slept 6 (with a sofa bed) and had a beautiful kitchen and bathroom. I could live in this place! Parking is free and there is a continental breakfast. The staff is extremely friendly and seemed to take great pride in the property. They are also very accommodating; I wasn't feeling well and they extended our check out by an hour. The property is within walking distance of shops, a grocery store, restaurants, bars and all the Pacific Beach happenings. It is close to everything but still on the quiet end of the beach area (even on New Year's Eve). The main draw by far is the beach. It is so nice to be able to walk along the beach walk or go down and walk in the sand. This is the ultimate beach hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room on the second floor. We stayed in Rm. 21 and had small ocean view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
This is probably my favorite room when considering space, location, and the newness itself. We just finished our renovation about seven months ago, and am very pleased with the results! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here for a week in October and thought it was fine. The location is great, our room was brand new and we got a really good price by using the hotels website. The continental breakfast was not much although the pastries were good. We used the coffee maker in room and kept breakfast items in the fridge. Our room was clean, the hotel was fairly quiet, and everyone working there was friendly and helpful. We had a second floor room with table and chairs outside the door, even had a peek-a-boo view of the ocean. Would definitely recommend it if you love Pacific Beach like we do and are able to get a price that's good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jupiter1WestVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
That's very nice, and that's really what we are striving for. We always hope that the service is excellent, and that the guest will always want to return. Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#223 of 278 in San Diego
173 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#128 of 278 in San Diego
212 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#100 of 278 in San Diego
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#164 of 278 in San Diego
331 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#178 of 278 in San Diego
337 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 278 in San Diego
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Shores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Shores Inn

Property: Pacific Shores Inn
Address: 4802 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109-2590
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Shores Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pacific Shores Inn is a quaint inn located at the north end of Pacific Beach. Many of the rooms offer some views of the ocean, and restaurants and shops are just a couple of blocks away. The boardwalk is a 2.5 mile stretch that will take you from the north end of Pacific Beach all the way to the south end of Mission Beach. As you stroll down the boardwalk, you will find ocean front shops and restaurants as well as the famous Belmont Park in Mission Beach. Bike, and surfboard rentals are located within two blocks so there is no reason to pack those items when visiting us. And, every room has a microwave oven, refrigerator, and a coffee maker for your convenience. Some rooms also have full kitchens for those who require that. Parking, and a continental breakfast which includes juice, coffee, and danishes are always free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Shores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Shores Hotel San Diego
Pacific Shores San Diego
Pacific Shores Inn Of Pacific Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing