We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was ok!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld
Ranked #222 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“it was ok!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our room had ants. :( ended up with ants on our cloths in the morning. I mentioned it to front desk. They just said they would check on it. overall it was ok. carpets are a little dingy! But for the price I guess it served it's purpose. I know San Diego is more expensive. Depending on the budget would depend on if I'd stay there again. Our team stayed there so it was ok for my daughter and the girls. Walking distance to buffalo wild wings and chase bank.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Crystal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brenda g, General Manager at Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Crystal,
I do apologize if the summer heat and food brought the ants out; but we do have a preventive pest control treatment in place and the company has done well at controlling all, including ants. If a specific room tends to attract them more often than the otheres, we look at the natural enviornment around the room, as certain palm trees produce a fruit, that the ants like. Hence, we cut the fruit out of the palm. Please share the room number you stayed in and I will look for potential temptations and eliminate them.
Please return to us, anytime you are in San Diego...
Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    536
    622
    444
    324
See reviews for
1,316
342
77
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful but that is the best thing that I can say about this place. The rooms themselves are very small with comforters and sheets that clearly show first and grime from the many years of people sleeping on them. The bathroom tub was warped and bubbled making showering extremely difficult and uncomfortable. Called for a cab and was told they use a service, called front desk and they helped set it up. It turned out to be some random guy in an SUV, no speedometer, no fair checker and almost got into 3 accidents on the highway driving nearly 90MPH! Lastly there is nothing near this place worth seeing except for the awful neighborhood surrounding it. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brenda g, General Manager at Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Tyler,
Thank you for sharing positive comments, regarding the staff. I am truly blessed to have them on board. I am not sure what you mean by bubbled, as far as the tub goes. We do replace tubs as needed, and would never overlook one that could be difficult to use. Please contact me and let me know which room you stayed in. I will look at the tub and get back to you on any needed repairs. The transportation company we use has been a prtner of ours for some time. The owner has a large new fleet and the guests prefer his pricing over taxi cab services.
Hope this helps to assure you that your next stay with us will be a great one...
Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Irvine, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I travel to San Diego on business on a weekly basis, and stay at The Wyndham Garden Hotel. Having been in the hotel/restaurant business for my entire life, I can highly recommend The Wyndham as great place to stay. It is well staffed with a friendly professional team that strives to meet your every need. The rooms are clean and well equipped, with a refrigerator and microwave that provides the option of in room dining. It is in a great location, and freeway close. I have never had a bad experience, and look forward to my next visit.
Terry Smith

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brenda g, General Manager at Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Terry,
The staff feels the same way about you! They know you and look forward to having you here every week. We will continue to enhance and improve in any and every way possible; but are happy that you are pleased with the cleanliness of our rooms and the amenities provided.
Come home soon!

Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

we had a family vacation in san diego, chose this hotel because central location, the room was very clean,bathroom clean,the staff very helpful and friendly,close to sea world,mission beach,the SD zoo.,airport,old town,excellent stay, thank you wyndam garden....we had a great stay, look forward to future stay's.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brenda g, General Manager at Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Mike,
I am happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We do pride ourselves on our clean rooms, friendly staff and a prime location. I know you will return to us and look forard to the reunion.

Best,
Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Hotel staff was friendly, one of the only good things about this hotel. Our room was on the back side of the hotel, literally had to drive out of the parking lot and around the block to get to our room. Parking was awful!!! We have a mid size SUV that would barely fit in the tight parking spots. Out room was at the end of a dark hallway, on a busy street, ACROSS FROM A FIRE DEPARTMENT. Bathroom was dirty with ants crawling around. Air conditioning worked occasionally and would switch off every 30 min. We never made it to the pool considering it was a hike back to the front of the hotel. Thankfully we were only here for one night. I would have expected better from a Wyndham hotel!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank dberry03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Point Loma
Ramada Limited San Diego/Near SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#225 of 278 in San Diego
1,247 reviews
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#90 of 278 in San Diego
753 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld

Property: Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld
Address: 3737 Sports Arena Blvd, San Diego, CA 92110-5131 (Formerly Mission Plaza Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld 3*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one mile to SeaWorld, the hotel is located just minutes from San Diego's best attractions including SeaWorld San Diego, Mission Bay, Old Town, Downtown, Gaslamp Quarter and the world famous San Diego Zoo. Mission Beach, one of San Diego's most popular beaches, is located two miles away, and Mission Valley and Fashion Valley Malls are both within three miles. Popular restaurants and shops are within walking distance of the hotel. This San Diego hotel has one bedroom Junior Suites that will give you and your family the comfort you desire while you enjoy your San Diego vacation. Has special Kids Mini Suites, with a custom-designed bedroom for kids separated from a bedroom area for parents, are perfect for families with children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden San Diego Near Seaworld Hotel San Diego
Mission Plaza Hotel
San Diego Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing