We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sea World
Ranked #167 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We spent one night in San Diego and picked this HIE which is very centrally located and just a few minutes to the entrance of Sea World and a very short drive to Old Town. Yes, it is near the freeway and a major road and it was a little bit noisy at times mainly from the road and not the freeway for our room anyway. We had a room facing the road, maybe the rooms facing the storage building to the back may be more quiet. Not sure. Although the area was not the most scenic, it was very close to retail stores and restaurants. Our room was clean and appeared to be updated. The mattress was okay, not the most comfortable but you get an option of a soft pillow or a firm pillow. Huge sink space and nice amenities and very clean. There is no mini-frig in our room but noticed you can request a microwave from front desk. The staff was very friendly and pleasant. Check in and check out were both very fast. The breakfast was decent for a hotel of this level. They had a very good variety - cereals, fresh fruit, hard boiled and scrambles eggs, yogurt, bacon, biscuits and gravy, muffins, bagels, toast and pancakes and coffee, tea, and juices. Wish we inquired about the omelets though. It was constantly being stocked by the staff. The parking was complimentary which is a nice plus. We did not have too much trouble with parking as the hotel did not appear to be completely booked. The spaces are pretty tight but it was nice to see that they had security cameras in the parking garage area and one needs a room key to get into the lobby area/elevator from the garage. Overall, we had a pleasant stay and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spunkymom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

This hotel is clean, comfortable, and the staff is very helpful. Unfortunately, it is located in a place where there is a freeway, a major road, and a dog kennel within a very short distance... all making the experience much less desirable than it should be. There were two other reasons to give a low rating: 1) Our friends booked their room (same room type) at the same time we did, and somehow they received a rate $15 cheaper, and 2) The full stay was charged to our card up front with no option for changes or refund. There are many other choices in the area, and I hope that Holiday Inn changes their policy for future patrons. Overall the stay was acceptable, but it is not what we expected.

Room Tip: I think a room on the East side of the hotel would be less noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank POSitiveBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear POSitiveBrett,

We welcome feedback especially from our valued guests like you. I am pleased to know that you found our staff to be helpful. However, please accept my sincerest apologies for the noise levels experienced. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Again, thanks for the candid feedback and my apologies for the shortcomings experienced.

Regards,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I was happily surprise that eventhough some of the reviews where not great, that this hotel turned out to be a good choice for our six day stay. The personnel that works at this hotel goes out of their way to make your stay a pleasent one. Rooms were clean, bathroom good size and clean. Breakfast was okay, they offer the normal cereals, breads, juices, coffee, hot cakes, and eggs. Compared to other hotels that offer breakfast in their rate, I must say this was fairly good. Their cinnamon rolls were just jummy. They also had bananas and apples. The hotel was full due to Spring Break but everybody seemed to be happy with service and food. They even had eggs filled with chocolates for the children, this was a good gesture. Centrally located, very near Sea World and the Interstates. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lourdes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Hotel rooms have been updated. Our room faced the road so it was noisy, in addition to the noise from the airport, people at the swimming pool, and kids/family in the hallway (yelling at 6:30 am!). Breakfast was adequate, but very crowded at times. Afternoon cookies were appreciated by the kids. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located close to restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the road and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Awesome! Honestly, I had my reservations about the Holiday Inn chain based on outside input. The price was right with this and I couldn't be happier. Location was great for the major San Diego attractions and beaches, rooms were immaculate and free breakfast was plentiful and actually good! Staff was awesome, housekeeping was polite and efficient and even parking was secure, yet easy to get in and out.
Restaurants within walking distance - freeways seconds away, but not so close you hear the traffic at night - beds were clean and comfortable
Will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: Rooms all seem pretty quiet, but the rooms on the 3rd floor nearest the stairs are really convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Stark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Very clean (including bathroom & carpet), yummy chocolate chip cookies are in the lobby for guests to enjoy, very friendly and accommodating - gave postcards & money to attendant to purchase postcard stamps & she mailed them, Priorty Club Members receive a goody bag upon arrival--included fruit cup, pretzels & granola bar, 2 bottles of water in room, breakfast bar maintained & included pancakes, eggs prepared a different way each day (I didn't like the Western omelet though--too sweet), cinn. buns, juice, cereal, biscuits, yogurt, etc., limited tables and seating in breakfast area, need more TV channels including family friendly ones, must park in covered parking lot and go through an outside door to enter lobby area but no problem with the other good ammenities - we have stayed at this hotel before and would again

Room Tip: Not far from the San Diego Airport, which is one of the reasons why we stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeaLady_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Went to San Diego for a family trip and stayed here for three nights. The room was awesome, very modern and very clean. The staff is very nice and greets you every time you pass by. We needed an extra toothbrush, and called the front desk. They were at our door with a new one in minutes. The breakfast was great, and it changed a little each day.

Room Tip: the foldaways in the two queen/sofa are pretty comfy. Also, there is only one elevator and it is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sea World

Address: 3950 Jupiter Street, San Diego, CA 92110-5119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: £93 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sea World 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld Hotel is conveniently located only minutes away from the San Diego Zoo, San Diego SeaWorld, downtown San Diego, San Diego Old Town and the San Diego Waterfront.The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld is also only a few minutes drive from the San Diego Airport, and close to many local companies like Lockheed Martin, CSC, SAIC, CACI, EDS, and SPAWAR. Hotel features include complimentary hot full breakfast buffet, free local phone calls, and free high-speed wireless Internet. Visit beautiful San Diego and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego-SeaWorld Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sea World Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn Sea World
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing