We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sea World
Ranked #161 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2006

My husband and i stayed at the Holiday Inn Express hotel (Sea World) for 3 days and loved it. Here are some great things abt the hotel

1)Breakfast was excellent and starts promptly at 6:30 am. The staff is extremely courteous and keep a watchful eye on food / coffee that need refills.

2)The rooms and corridors and even the lifts were spic n span.

3)The room had a microwave and a fridge and we could get food from outside and reheat at our convenience.

4)There is a vending machine for midnight snacks.

5)Very close to most of the tourist attractions like Zoo, Se World, La Jolla, Gas Lamp etc.

6)Free Internet access.

7) Lots of restaurants close by like Olive Garden, Red Robin, Chipotle etc.

Helpful?
4 Thank tara1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    119
    33
    17
    15
See reviews for
126
37
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2006

We chose this hotel because it was one of the few with free parking, free breakfast, and room to sleep six, for less than $100. It's a fantastic deal! If you're a family on a budget, it's even better. It's very close to Sea World (an easy 5-minute drive). It's very clean and comfortable, the breakfast is good, the service is good. The parking is tight, as others mentioned, but we were okay with our minivan. I wouldn't want to try to park a large SUV or passenger van, though. The view is lousy...our window looked out onto the ugly roof of the run-down buildings behind the hotel. But we weren't there for the view. If you want a view, stay near the beach, and pay $200 more a night.

The area is a little iffy behind the hotel, but we felt very safe. However, another family's car was broken into in the garage. The security guard heard the window being broken and stopped the theft, but that made us a little wary. I'd absolutely stay here again if we're in San Diego. I did extensive research on hotels, and this one is a real find. You won't find this quality for this price elsewhere. San Diego is a very expensive city.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chazcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2006

Great value in San Diego. You need a car at this location, though. It's not conveniently close to a trolley stop. Parking is tight in the garage, but doable. The pool area is uninviting -- clean, but small and reachable only through the garage. However, if you have a car and don't care about a pool, this is an expertly run hotel, dedicated to caring for the guests. There's a free computer and printer in the lobby for guest use. We had a sofa in the room, as well as a refrigerator and microwave. It's also on a quiet side street. The staff was courteous and responsive to our needs. The location is convenient to the Mission Bay area and points north, just blocks away from the Sports Arena, and no more than ten minutes from Old Town, downtown, and Balboa Park by car.

Helpful?
2 Thank samanthasopoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannette, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2006

I stayed for three nights at this hotel and enjoyed my stay completely. The rooms have plenty of space and are very clean. The bathroom is good sized and also kept very clean. The only thing missing there would be possibly a heat lamp in the ceiling since it does get cool, esp since the bathroom door automatically closes.

The staff is extremely helpful with directions and assisting you with anything they can. If you are want to go out on one of the harbor excursions make sure you ask them about it since they have discounts to things such as the whale watching. It can save you a few bucks depending on how may are going.

I agree with everyone else that the cinnamon rolls are delicious. They also have rolls and muffins, cereal, fruit and a variety of standard continental breakfast items. It's plenty to fill you in the morning and it's free.

The parking in the garage is quite tight as others have mentioned. It's worse when some people don't bother to stay in the lines. I had no real issues though during my stay.

The free wireless in the rooms is a great feature. If you have a laptop make sure you bring it with you. The pc/printer in the lobby is also a great feature.

The hotel can be a little difficult to get to once you get off the freeway. If you fly in and follow the directions that came on the confirmation you'll end up going the wrong direction on I-5 (shows I-5 South). You will need to go North on I-5 up to I-8 West. Once you exit I-8 make the left at the light and then go to the next light and make a left again (before the light you'll see the hotel on your left but you can't turn left or make a u-turn). You can then make a u-turn down the road further or at the next light.

There were a lot of families staying here, I'm sure due to how close it is to SeaWorld. They all seemed to enjoy their stay. The rates were extremely reasonable for the San Diego area. My AAA rate was great.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Billpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2006

We really liked staying at this hotel. The rooms were clean and spacious. The bathroom was also a pleasant surprise. It was roomy and the custom shower head added a nice touch. We stayed in a room with a double queen and a sofa bed. I personally slept on the sofabed and I had a good night's rest. We had 3 adults and 3 kids but didn't feel cramped in this room. The free breakfast was the best part of our stay. The reviews were absolutely correct about the cinnamon rolls. They were the best! The location of this hotel was also very close to Sea World, which was the reason why we were there in the first place. Many things like restaurants, grocery stores, and the beach were close by.

The negative things about this hotel was the cramped and few parking spaces in the garage. It was free though. They had a small pool but we didn't use it so I can't tell you if it was good or not. But we didn't go there for the pool. It was actually a very nice stay for us. I was very pleased.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Point Loma
Ramada Limited San Diego/Near SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sea World

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sea World
Address: 3950 Jupiter St., San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sea World 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld Hotel is conveniently located only minutes away from the San Diego Zoo, San Diego SeaWorld, downtown San Diego, San Diego Old Town and the San Diego Waterfront.The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld is also only a few minutes drive from the San Diego Airport, and close to many local companies like Lockheed Martin, CSC, SAIC, CACI, EDS, and SPAWAR. Hotel features include complimentary hot full breakfast buffet, free local phone calls, and free high-speed wireless Internet. Visit beautiful San Diego and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego-SeaWorld Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sea World Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn Sea World
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing