We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Dana hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #46 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Hotel was clean, restaurants were great. Pool was beautiful and great location

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigz1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,580 - 1,586 of 2,460 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

Just got back from a 3 night/4 day stay at the Dana and it was great! My husband and I traveled with our 1 y.o. and 3 y.o. boys and we all had a wonderful time. We stayed in a 2 room suite, after a reasonably priced upgrade, and we were pleased.We stayed in a corner suite, room 2300 (3rd floor), with a large balcony and view of the Bay. My boys loved waking up watching the the boats come and go and the relaxing scenery of Mission Bay. The rooms are kept very clean, the beds are comfortable (although the pillows are little too soft for me), and the staff is very friendly.

Firefly was our favorite restaurant on site, the food was delicious and the restaurant staff was friendly and attentive; it's definitely a little pricier, but we were looking for a few nice meals while on vacation. The other restaurant, I forget the name, the food was decent but they took 55 minutes to get our dinner: UNACCEPTABLE!

We were able to buy bus/trolley passes from the hotel lobby for $5, catch the bus/trolley to the San Diego Convention Center very easily.

The pool is nice in warm, which was nice for us since the temperatures during our stay varied between 60-70 degrees. My son wanted to swim every night!

We walked to Sea World each day, only took about 15 minutes (it's really close!). Our kids rise early and we didn't want to wait for the free shuttle, which starts running at 9:45 (Sea World officially opens at 10am, but lines for shows and attractions start forming earlier).

Loved, loved, loved the fact that Einstein's bagels was just across the street. We ate there each morning.

CON:
1. The Shuttle to/from the Airport stops running at 8pm. Not sure this is advertised. Our flight arrived after 8pm and we found out the hard way. We ended up paying about $35 (including tip) for a taxi ride to the hotel.

I would definitely stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EliasMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The Dana is a lovely hotel situated on Mission Bay. The rooms are spacious, clean and up-to-date. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We had a lovely view of the garden area. We stayed 2 nights and both evenings found ourselves enjoying Happy Hour on the outside patio near the harbor - a beautiful view! Our only "complaint" was that housekeeping was way too efficient! They tried to clean our rooms before 9 each morning. If you are a late riser, remember to put out the "do not disturb" sign. Highly recommend this hotel for any occasion.

Room Tip: The standard rooms (without views) seem larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parisfuess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The Dana is a very nice facility that is well maintained. The grounds are lovely, nice pool area and very convenient location. Our room was upgraded to a suite (#2320) and it was quite nice with a large patio and view of the Marina.

Room Tip: The Marina view rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billyspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The decision to make in San Diego is a hotel, or a resort. For a three day visit to my daughter, I chose a resort and am glad I did. The Dana turned out to be a reasonably priced, well run resort on a very nice peice of property. There are two types of rooms - the old two story buildings, and the more modern mini tower. We stayed in one of the older buildings, and the accomodation was merely adequate. The room was small (though two queen beds) and the appointments were moderate. Very clean however. The pool area was beautiful and well maintained, overlooking the bay. Also a large marina with water sport rentals. Overall I would again, though I would request the new building.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank scarknighttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This hotel offers a decent price for the area. However, they seem to add in a lot of hidden fees and if you do not get a newer room you will be disappointed. They have 2 decent sized pools and hot tubs that were always filled with young families. We were lucky to get a newer room which was clean and large. There is a parking fee, but if you complain they will either take it off completely or drop it in half.

I did not feel that this hotel had my best interest in mind. They did not go over and beyond. If you ask for the better room and ask to have the parking fees removed they are more than willing to help you, but YOU MUST ASK.

I think it is worth paying a little bit more money and staying at the Paradise Point Hotel which is also located in Mission Bay.

Room Tip: Avoid the 900 building, it has not yet been renovated as of 3/2012.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EveRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We had a deluxe room on the first floor where we could walk out our patio to the Bay. Large room with 2 queen beds that were very comfortable. Room service was great, the food came hot, priced right, and very good. We got a great deal, 1/2 off the regular price so it was well worth the money. Took the free shuttle to Seaworld which was perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MntLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#56 of 279 in San Diego
1,663 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#124 of 279 in San Diego
2,743 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Bahia Resort Hotel
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection

Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-7810 (Formerly The Dana On Mission Bay, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#43 Family Hotel in San Diego
#69 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £112 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A waterfront resort enveloped by tropical landscaping, The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection delivers an exceptional lodging experience in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. Rest comfortably in a well-appointed guestroom or two-room suite overlooking Mission Bay. Delight in such quality amenities as two outdoor, heated swimming pools, fitness center, private marina, and watersport and bicycle rentals on site. Our location is both family- and business-friendly. The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection is less than one mile to Mission Beach and Belmont Park. We're the closest hotel to SeaWorld San Diego and a short drive to the San Diego Zoo. And the San Diego Convention Center is equally convenient. In short, the only thing we overlook is the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Splitty, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing