We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place to stay and close to everything we wanted to do”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #45 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Wapello, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay and close to everything we wanted to do”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had a very nice experience staying here! The grounds are beautiful, our room was clean and comfortable and more than adequate, with comfy beds and pillows...believe me, a much appreciated thing after all the walking we did sight-seeing all over San Diego. Both restaurants on site were very good and not too terribly priced. The waitstaff were very friendly and attentive...especially at the Blue Oyster. We used one of the coupons in the book they gave us at check-in towards one of our breakfasts (forgot to use it at the firefly) and found some very cute things in the gift shop and was able to use our coupon there as well. We had a garden view room with a partial view of the marina on the second floor of what I assume is the "older part of the motel. Loved the keurig machine in our room. The staff were very friendly and helpful...the lady in the gift shop saved us a ton of parking fees at Coronado by telling us where to park and where not to park. The pools were clean and well maintained. We had a lovely stay and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask the people working about the areas you plan to visit...they can probably help you save money on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schelly1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,064
    680
    270
    145
    81
See reviews for
994
576
66
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

The sleek buildings with turquoise tinted glass that house the lobby and main restaurant/bar contrast with the older buildings where the hotel rooms are located, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. These are obviously older rooms with tiny bathrooms and old style shower tubs, but the rooms have been tastefully redecorated. The beds were very comfortable, with premium linens and down pillows. The pool areas are nice, and geared toward families. Service at both restaurants was excellent, and prices were surprisingly modest for a resort property on the bay. You can rent boats, jet skis and bicycles steps away from your room. Please drop the $20 parking fee added to the $9 resort fee. Sea World is a short (and free) shuttle ride away.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade to a corner room with a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkoLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We loved this place. We were in the old section facing Mission Bay and the marina., there is a walking and jogging trail along the bay and marina . They give you a coupon book upon check in
which we used for breakfast one morning. The omelets were very good and reasonable. We also used a coupon for cocktails at the Firefly sitting outside overlooking one of the pools and the Marina. I hate paying the $20.00 for parking but it is secure, you have to use your key card to get into the lot. It was a 15 minute walk to SeaWorld and the beach is about a 15 minute walk across the bridge. The staff was very nice and we really enjoyed being outside a lot. You definitely need to have a car here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tequila777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Beautiful location, nice room, friendly staff, wonderfully close to the ocean. However, our room seemed a little unclean, and you do have to pay 20$ for parking!! Which is a bummer. :-( Because of that, probably wouldnt stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is really a bungalow type room. It's clean and safe feeling, other than that, didn't overwhelm me in any way! Kind of confusing to get around at first. Always have to have your room key to open gates in the parking lots. The restaurant on site was good, not great, but pretty good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeline55870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeside, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed one night with my wife. Upgraded to a pool side room. Showered and put on one of their complemintary robes. I reached into the pocket and pulled out a wad of tissue paper covered in mucus. A real gross out. They must not laundry the guest supplies. Bathrooms appeared moldy and dirty around the base boards. Also hidden charges such as parking fees do not appear until you check out. I'm local and have stayed in all the resort hotels locally. Dana is my 1st real disappointment. Will not ever recommend.

Room Tip: Don't let the nice landscape fool you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Charlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Very nice hotel. We stayed for three nights- everyone very friendly and helpful. Room in 1000 building very comfortable and clean with view of bay. We used the seaworld shuttle which was very convenient

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#143 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Formerly The Dana On Mission Bay, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#43 Family Hotel in San Diego
#69 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A waterfront resort enveloped by tropical landscaping, The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection delivers an exceptional lodging experience in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. Rest comfortably in a well-appointed guestroom or two-room suite overlooking Mission Bay. Delight in such quality amenities as two outdoor, heated swimming pools, fitness center, private marina, and watersport and bicycle rentals on site. Our location is both family- and business-friendly. The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection is less than one mile to Mission Beach and Belmont Park. We're the closest hotel to SeaWorld San Diego and a short drive to the San Diego Zoo. And the San Diego Convention Center is equally convenient. In short, the only thing we overlook is the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing