We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dissapointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay
Ranked #87 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We have often chosen La Quinta when traveling. We chose this location for it's proximity to the attractions we wanted to see. We booked a suite. A suite in the other La Quinta's means a living area and separate sleeping area. In this location, it means a sleeper sofa beside a King bed. I found this arrangement quite unsatisfactory. The best thing that I can say about this place, is that the shower was great! Large shower head and plenty of hot water. When we had contact with the staff, they were helpful. And the complimentary breakfast was plentiful, if you get there early. La Quinta's are pet friendly, but this one has absolutely nowhere decent to take your dog. There is a small muddy patch right beside the street and that's it. And you can only get to the hotel in one direction. And getting to that steer takes you out of the way. It is almost impossible to take an immediate left onto Mission Bay Drive, because of regular heavy traffic. The location was decent for our needs, but it's inconvenience and lack of dog walking space, will never have me returning. Pay extra for a more convenient location. That is my advice.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank JAZ715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We booked this hotel as a last resort to get to San Diego for the holiday weekend. The rooms are a bit run down, and parking is a joke. You pay $8 a night for parking and there is barely enough room for the guests' cars. Not to mention the spots are SO small, my Ford Edge barely fit. The complimentary breakfast was poorly organized for the mass mob that visited each morning and the food was mediocre at best. We paid way too much for this hotel and probably wouldn't go back but in a pinch we made it work. Oh, and our tub wouldn't drain very well when you showered...eww.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I recently took my grandsons to southern California and chose this hotel for part of the trip. I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness, comfort, and size of the room. The price was great as well. Add in the free breakfast (which had many choices) and it was a great deal overall.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel is renovated and clean. The breakfast is wonderful. Since it is pet friendly I would suggest a bigger designated space for pets to relieve themselves. Also, a toilet seat cover was missing in our room which made it difficult as my dog kept running to try and get water.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Orbelina Isa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The room was small and the bathroom was hard to get into with the door. The AC unit needed to be cleaned as it had a musty odor. Not bad for the price and location but just a few tweaks could make this a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank Nichole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Super clean and modern motel near Mission Bay. Free parking and hot breakfast. Easy to find, near shopping and restaurants of all price ranges. Would recommend to everyone visiting San Diego. Will definitely stay again at this or other La Quinta properties.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

stayed there with my family since we were going to visit SeaWorld. It is conveniently close to SeaWorld. The breakfast was packed in the morning but there was definitely a lot to chose from. Not just your regular coffee and cereal breakfast there was eggs and waffles and many other things. The parking is very tricky so anyone traveling I'd recommend a smaller car. The desk people were very friendly. Rooms were clean and the beds were so comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessi_032709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Best Western Mission Bay
#119 of 279 in San Diego
637 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 279 in San Diego
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay

Address: 4610 De Soto St, Interstate 5 and Balbo, San Diego, CA 92109-3815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#67 Family Hotel in San Diego
#95 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £60 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctively different, the Mission Bay Inn San Diego is conveniently located in Pacific Beach, and only 1 mile to Mission Bay Park. The Mission Bay Inn San Diego is also located within 2 miles of Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Downtown, Old Town, San Diego Convention Center, and the University of California - San Diego. New for 2009, we've installed brand new furniture in all of our rooms! Our guest rooms offer all the conveniences of home, including free wireless high speed Internet access, refrigerator and microwave in all rooms, coffee/tea maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, 27-inch television with cable and free local calls. To start off the morning right, stop by for our great hot breakfast, served complimentary to all guests in our brand new breakfast area. USA Today is also provided Monday through Friday for your convenience. A brand new fitness room and guest laundry are also available for your convenience. We offer a sparkling heated pool and jacuzzi for your enjoyment. Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, comfortable and memorable with quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Bay Inn San Diego Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing