We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Hyatt Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Ranked #25 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not Hyatt Quality”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel on my vacation to San Diego and we chose this hotel because my wife insisted on a hotel with a kitchen so that my 20 month old kid can have home cooked food.
The hotel is located in a business area 20 mins from downtown/airport. I dont have major complaints but will not stay this far next time unless I have some business close to the hotel.

The Plus:
1) Full Kitchen
2) Free Hot Continental Breakfast ( no complaints)
3) Free Parking
4) Good for large family.

The minus:
1) Not as modern and clean as a Hyatt hotel should be. If you are expecting high quality, I will not stay here.
2) Though we were not making noise, we received a call from guest services twice saying the the guests staying below were complaining. I would rather blame the soundproofing quality the the guests below.
3) San Diego zoo, Sea world, airport etc are close to downtown and this hotel is a minimum of 25 mins from downtown. If you are visiting sea world/downtown and plan to take a nap/break in between, I would live in downtown rather than in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to five us your feedback. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying and found the hotel not to be as clean as other Hyatt's. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    199
    54
    23
    17
See reviews for
254
126
32
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My wife and I stayed in the King Bed Suite, Very, Very Nice room. Like a small apartment. Very Clean and Comfy. My only complaint was the Pillows were Hard, Had trouble sleeping, I will bring my own next time. Other than that, Great Place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emeraldsod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us feedback on your recent stay! I am delighted that you found the hotel location convenient and the rooms to be clean, spacious, and modern.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us! If I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-597-0500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
241 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Hyatt House is a great business hotel, recently renovated, the rooms are very clean, great beds, nice linen, cable TV, big showers, AC blows nice and cold, absolutely perfect. The hotel includes a great breakfast every morning from 7an to 10am.

I was very disturbed that the hotel cut corners and uses non-recyclable Styrofoam dishes and plastic utensils for the breakfast. It makes the hotel look very low end and at the same time pollutes the environment. I felt guilty eating because I knew what I was using would not be recycled. See photos. The hotel has a kitchen with dishes I can only assume they are doing this to save money but it's really bringing down the image of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysGl0beTr0tting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us feedback on your recent stay! I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you found the hotel rooms to be clean, modern, and efficient. I also would like to thank you about your comment about the hotel using Styrofoam, the hotel is currently looking at using reusable/ recyclable option.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us! If I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-597-0500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Our soccer team was fortunate to stay at this lovely hotel during a recent tournament, and we were all very impressed. The rooms were spacious and beautifully furnished, including a fully stocked kitchen, modern bathroom with gorgeous shower area, and super-comfortable bed. The breakfast was the best free breakfast we have ever enjoyed, with cooked-to-order omelettes, abundant fresh fruit bar (pineapple, melon, watermelon, bananas, etc.), freshly baked biscuits and scrambled eggs, and even Asian selections such as miso soup, rice, and lentil soup. The workout room was large, with four treadmills and a full weight area. They even offer cocktails and appetizers every day from 5:30-9 (for a nominal charge). Everything was new, modern, clean, and suited our needs perfectly. Staff was friendly and helpful. It was also an excellent value at the group rate. Next time we are in the San Diego area, we will stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skypark91107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us feedback on your recent stay! I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you found the hotel to be clean, modern, and that you found the hotel's Morning Spread Bountiful.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us! If I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-597-0500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I recently stayed at Hyatt House for two nights while visiting Qualcomm and had a great time. The hotel is walking distance to most Qualcomm buidlings which is great since it is hard to find parking. The rooms were recently renovated (so I am told) and were very nice and comfortable.

Everything is well thought of and very modern and convenient. Like the TV has front HDMI, VGA and USB inputs, the kitchen was well stocked and the beds/pillows are nice quality. Surprisingly there was no clock in the room - like an alarm clock or radio etc.

The breakfast was good value as well. Made to order omelette and lots of fresh fruits, cottage cheese and eggs etc. The breads and cereals were also the better variety and not the lower-end all white grain kinds.

The exercise room was recently done and contained spanking new LifeFitness equipment that worked great. Three treadmills, one elliptical and one bike and weights etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us feedback on your recent stay! I am delighted that you found the hotel location convenient for your business needs and that you found the Morning Spread breakfast so bountiful and appealing!.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us! If I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-597-0500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We like breakfast, many food for select. Full kitchen. It was quiet and modern hotel. Very good for family to stay. We spent time with grandchildren, they come from Kansas City, KS. We had very happy time to live together here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiemNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us feedback on your recent stay! I am delighted that you had a peaceful stay with us and that you found the Morning Spread Breakfast so bountiful and appealing!. I am also delighted that you found Hyatt house Sorrento Mesa so nice and clean!

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us! If I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-597-0500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We enjoyed a great breakfast which comes with the room. Omelets made to order. Lots of items to eat. Surely should please everyone in your crowd. We had a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen. We did not really use the kitchen but is was nice to have it there if needed. Would have been used had we had our kids with us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbscs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us feedback on your recent stay! I am delighted that you had a peaceful stay with us and that you found the Morning Spread Breakfast so bountiful and appealing!.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us! If I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-597-0500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Central
Courtyard San Diego Central
#16 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa

Property: HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Address: 10044 Pacific Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-4386 (Formerly Woodfin Suites Hotel, Sorrento Mesa)
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodfin Suites Hotel, Sorrento Mesa Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Hotel Sorrento Mesa
Woodfin San Diego
Woodfin Suites Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Suite San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing