We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with Friendly staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Ranked #25 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel with Friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I keep coming back to this hotel 2-3 times a year, every time I visit San Diego for business.

Conveniently located by the Qualcomm campus, the rooms are convenient, breakfast is rich and tasty, and most of all the staff is friendly and helpful, giving you a feeling of home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank assaf_ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us feedback on your recent stay! I am delighted that your stay was enjoyable, the staff friendly and that you found the Morning Spread wonderful!

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us! If I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-597-0500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    192
    51
    23
    16
See reviews for
243
124
32
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

They have it down here, free wireless, breakfast buffet included, shuttles. "Restaurant" food leaves something to be desired, but it's business travel. I did bring dinner in one night and threw the containers in the trash, when I came back the next evening housekeeping had not emptied it which made for an unpleasant odor. I went to the front desk and they took care of it but I was surprised.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front can be susceptible to parking lot noise and lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us feedback on your recent stay! I am delighted that you enjoyed the Morning Spread and you found the free wireless useful.

I do apologize that your trash was not taken out. Please know I will address with our Housekeeping Staff. Thank you for bringing this to my attention!

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us! If I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-597-0500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My first stay wasn't nice, their system was down which effect me. I couldn't check in early and wifi was down. At check out, George Korkar, Assistant general manager apologized for inconvenience and gave a voucher for a free night which I used. The second stay was wonderful. They gave a really nice suite, wifi worked good, breakfast is wonderful. Nice stay, good customer care.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us feedback on your recent stay! I am delighted that your second stay was great and that you found the Morning Spread wonderful!

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us! If I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-597-0500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Staying at this hotel over the Memorial day weekend. We checked in yesterday and it's a really nice hotel. Everything is smaller than I expected, the room, the lobby, the pool but it's nice. It's in a business park so nothing is close. The only restaurant besides the hotel's is Chili's. It's very quite in the neighborhood because everyone's off. There's a lot of kids at the hotel but that's expected when the hotel gives out free breakfast. The kids were rowdy last night but security quickly took care of it. Breakfast was good with a lot of variety. I don't know that I would stay again but that's only because of location. Besides that it was fine.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank toniecet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us feedback on your recent stay! I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you found the hotel to be clean, and modern.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us! If I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-597-0500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I was curious to see if this property and Hyatt brand was up to the test of the Hyatt Place as that brand is excellent. I must say that after staying there for two nights I would give it top billing.

The property is located very central to most attractions in San Diego county and is a quick trip via car to downtown San Diego itself. The price compared to say the Manchester Grand Hyatt is well worth it as parking is included, internet is included and the breakfast offers a wide variety of food choices that typically you would pay $8 -$10+ per person in most restaurants, which is also included in the rate. These amenities make this property a great value before you see the room.
The King Suite is well appointed with perhaps a somewhat sterile but very clean feeling, all new furnishing spacious and a very comfortable bed. The room was very well cleaned by the maid staff and attended to well during our stay. Overall I would give this property 5+ stars and say that it is one of the better Hyatt's that I have stayed in.

As for the styrofoam plates addressed by one of the previous reviewers, on Sunday we did experience this but realized that this was their only alternative as the breakfast was "really busy" and they would not have had and opportunity to keep enough plates in stock for all the patrons getting breakfast thus making people complain that they could not get breakfast due to a lack of plates. On Saturday they did have regular plates though.

Excellent Job!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelsalot411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us feedback on your recent stay! I am delighted that you found the hotel location convenient, the rooms to be well appointed and having great value compared to full service hotels.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us! If I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-597-0500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel on my vacation to San Diego and we chose this hotel because my wife insisted on a hotel with a kitchen so that my 20 month old kid can have home cooked food.
The hotel is located in a business area 20 mins from downtown/airport. I dont have major complaints but will not stay this far next time unless I have some business close to the hotel.

The Plus:
1) Full Kitchen
2) Free Hot Continental Breakfast ( no complaints)
3) Free Parking
4) Good for large family.

The minus:
1) Not as modern and clean as a Hyatt hotel should be. If you are expecting high quality, I will not stay here.
2) Though we were not making noise, we received a call from guest services twice saying the the guests staying below were complaining. I would rather blame the soundproofing quality the the guests below.
3) San Diego zoo, Sea world, airport etc are close to downtown and this hotel is a minimum of 25 mins from downtown. If you are visiting sea world/downtown and plan to take a nap/break in between, I would live in downtown rather than in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to five us your feedback. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying and found the hotel not to be as clean as other Hyatt's. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

My wife and I stayed in the King Bed Suite, Very, Very Nice room. Like a small apartment. Very Clean and Comfy. My only complaint was the Pillows were Hard, Had trouble sleeping, I will bring my own next time. Other than that, Great Place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emeraldsod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us feedback on your recent stay! I am delighted that you found the hotel location convenient and the rooms to be clean, spacious, and modern.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us! If I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 858-597-0500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Central
Courtyard San Diego Central
#11 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#7 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa

Property: HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Address: 10044 Pacific Mesa Blvd., San Diego, CA 92121 (Formerly Woodfin Suites Hotel, Sorrento Mesa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodfin Suites Hotel, Sorrento Mesa Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Hotel Sorrento Mesa
Woodfin San Diego
Woodfin Suites Hotel San Diego
Woodfin Suite San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing