We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great for family trips” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
Ranked #98 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great for family trips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We loved this hotel. The staff is so great that my kids looked forward to breakfast and talking to them. They even made sure we had gluten free options for breakfast and for the evening BBQ. The grounds are beautiful and we loved the pool. Having our own kitchen was key to making the vacation cost effective. We wanted a location that would allow us access to all parts of San Diego and it was perfect. Lots of stores and restaurants right near by. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orbuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kibutler3, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review my hotel. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to hosting you on your next trip to San Diego. You will also be excited to hear that in April of 2012 we upgraded our high speed internet to 50mbps and have changed our provider to make your future stays even more enjoyable.

Again, thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    58
    24
    4
    4
See reviews for
76
22
10
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

I booked this hotel for a long 2 months stay for my business tip to San Diego California. The hotel offers great comforts and was an ideal match for me for its proximity to my office.

I was surprised with the service that the hotel provides. Menu for the breakfast is awesome, offering a wide variety of things to choose from. The staff were very friendly and often ready to help. The room was really luxurious and I opted for for a one bedroom suite with a decent size kitchen. Kitchen is an important priority for me as I am a strict vegetarian and prefer cooking my own food. Room had 2 lcd tvs , a mini dining table and a sofa set to complete the set. All in all, the acoustics of the room was very sound and pleasing.

In addition to it,the hotel offered an additional social hour sacks and some beer four days a week. The hotel had ample parking facility.

I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dina009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kit B, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our property and I am excited to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff really appreciates the feedback and are always happy to help!

We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

This is a great mid-level hotel for staying in the business/Qualcomm area of San Diego. Having stayed 60+ nights at this hotel, the service has always been impeccable. The gentleman who takes care of the evening buffet is extremely pleasant, helpful, and kind - he cares about the patrons and has a terrific attitude. The front desk is extremely professional. In terms of cons, the hotel hallways have an interesting smell and the internet is excruciatingly slow during peak hours . However, the housekeeping has been good and the proximity to Yogurtland is a plus!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScarfGirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

It was a last minute reservation on a Labor Day weekend. Got the room I wanted but for the price, I missed not having a small bottle of hand lotion that usually comes with the shampoo and conditioner. Breakfast was good. Room was great and staff was courteous and hospitable.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batacbabyboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

We vacationed in San Diego for 8 days this summer and made the Residence Inn in Mira Mesa our home base. There are five of us, so we like the larger suites that are available in Mariott's Residence Inn.

Room: We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit, which is definitely more like an apartment than a hotel room. Plenty of adequate space. It's the second time we used this chain, and they are very much alike. The only bad part was the volume of the A/C unit, which we could tell was the same for the entire complex.

Location: It's located 15 minutes north of San Diego (Balboa Park, Sea World) and maybe 20 minutes south of Carlsbad (Lego Land). It was really conveniently located, just a few blocks off of I-805. The area is a large commercial business park and afternoon "5 o'clock whistle" traffic exiting the area was thick. Otherwise, it was a really great spot.

Extras: The complimentary breakfast is really a plus. There's fresh eggs, sausage, hashbrowns, oatmeal, fresh waffles, etc. etc. The pool is average but adequate.

I'd definitely recommend this place for families on vacation or for business travelers on extended stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MojoDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2008

This property was a pretty typical Residence Inn. The rooms were nicely maintained and the whole property was clean. My only complaint was the noise of the air conditioner. And I had read other people say that and had dismissed it as petty. But it's true. The air conditioner is unimaginably noisy for a fairly new property, and it is housed right in a closet in the bedroom, so you can't escape it.

The location was pretty good. It is a half hour or so drive to downtown, but it is located just off a street that has every restaurant and store I could think of. The staff was helpful and even gave us a guide to local restaurants that we found quite helpful.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank rpandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2008

My husband had enough Marriott points to get us a free room here for two nights when we went to visit my brother and attend his wedding. For free, it was pretty good and did the job. It was clean, the location was perfect for what we needed, and it had the free breakfast, which was nice.

The bed is really really firm, though. It killed my back. The towels and toiletries are lackluster, but that's okay. I'm sure this place is good for families who need something a little more like a house.

The staff was very kind to us (although my husband is a platinum member so that probably helped), and always responded to our requests quickly.

The only problem is that there aren't any good restaurants nearby -- this is strictly for the crowd that is here for a purpose (knows someone who lives nearby or on business) -- I wouldn't stay here if you're a tourist.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, roominess, amenities
  • Disliked — Noisy, inconvenient location, bed
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Megami76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
0.2 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Sorrento Valley
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
Address: 5995 Pacific Mesa Ct, San Diego, CA 92121-4316
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly-renovated Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa hotel. Unlike other San Diego extended stay hotels, our unique location puts you right in the middle of all that San Diego has to offer. Not only are we just minutes from Sea World, Balboa Park and MCAS Miramar, but our all-suite hotel is also near North County attractions: Solana Beach, Legoland, Del Mar Fairgrounds and the world-famous San Diego Zoo Safari Park. Inside our hotel in Sorrento Valley, start your day with a free hot breakfast buffet and end it with The Residence Inn Mix™. Spacious suites at our hotel near Miramar offer a large work space, a soft sofa and a fully equipped kitchen. During your stay, you can curl up in front of the fireplace or stay connected with free high-speed internet. There is also an outdoor BBQ and picnic area, ping pong table and pets are always welcome. In addition to our pool and fitness center, our San Diego extended stay hotel in Sorrento Valley offers a unique experience that sets us apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn
Residence Inn Sorrento Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing