We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real food made by real people”

Newbreak Coffee & Cafe
Ranked #16 of 226 Coffee & Tea in San Diego
Price range: US$1 - US$7
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Real food made by real people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Nothing corporate here. Beachy, with fresh food mostly made on premises. Excellent baked goods, rather charming service. This place should be a garbage tourist trap: it is anything BUT that! It's a real locals hangout. Stopped by here after surfing with my teenage son and we had a truly delightful brunch. This place will become one of our post-surfing go to spots in OB. I was very impressed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Musedoc613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great coffee, quick breakfast and nicest servest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

On the way to the AUA meeting at 7:20 am I stopped at this coffee store and I am glad I did. I had a sipunrise sandwich in pita was very tasty. Also, asked for a canberry muffin as it look very good in the window. Very nice taste, somewhat cakey texture. I tried the Konablend coffee it was very good as well. The best was the service. She was nice, warmed up the coffee cup before pouring the coffee and offered to warm the muffin. So, I am impressed and now happy on my way to the sessions!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lukcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect little cafe for a good, quick bite to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

We were in town with friends for the weekend and ate breakfast here both mornings! We don't get many places like this where we're from, good atmosphere and good, speedy food. Ate breakfast... between all of us we had the omelet, burrito, bagels, etc and everything was delicious.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NalaLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Local Spot for Breakfast, Lunch or Coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

I stopped by Newbreak Cafe totally by accident because I was tired and hungry after visiting Ocean Beach. What a lucky find! It was after lunch, but the cafe was filled with people enjoying a drink or snack and just hanging out reading, surfing the web, or talking. I had a delicious blueberry smoothie and caught up on some work. If I lived in Ocean Beach I know this would be my go to place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A find right around the corner from Ocean Beach, CA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

looking for coffee, tea and a light breakfast near where we stayed lead us to this sweet spot for all we wanted and more.. Will go back to try other other items on the menu, Check out the wall of tea.. Like Starbucks but for us tea drinkers when it comes to selection.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diver010Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newbreak Coffee & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Newbreak Coffee & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing