We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definite go to place in San Diego”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saigon on Fifth

Saigon on Fifth
Ranked #450 of 4,716 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Definite go to place in San Diego”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is an elegant restaurant with gracious service and excellent food. We especially like their Beef broth Pho. Highly recommended. (Don't be frightened by the look of the restaurant. You can have two bowls of Pho and spend less than $10 per person!) Also open very late!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LesfromSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    33
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colton, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“very impressed”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

one of the best meal i have had.
all of us in a party of 6 were very impressed --- food excellent, ambience was well set for a date or family get together, service and the price.
we had all fish dishes - the best was the creamy basil bass dish
they have only 2 desserts in the menu - the sticky rice with mango fared less than Thai

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetheartofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome food, great service!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We were trying to find a good pho place and stumbled across this Gem. We had the spring rolls and vegetable pho. Both were amazing. Our server was one of the best we have ever had at a Vietnamese restaurant. A very pleasant experience and we would definitely come back next time we are in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jfreakingw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver |Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food and great value for money”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The decor is elegant and the service was super fast. Very tasty food in large portions. My friend and I ordered two dishes, ate a lot and had enough leftovers to give a homeless person a super meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harteld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty Vegan Options”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I love this restaurant! The owners are friendly and gracious. The staff are always attentive as well. As a vegan I have found many choices available to me but I find myself ordering the same dishes over and over because they're just so good! I love the Ginger Salad, just be sure to order it vegan or they will add fish sauce to the dressing. The Lemongrass Mock Chicken is delicious and I always order it spicy, a number 8 on their spiciness scale. I have enjoyed many other items on the menu including Mixed Vegetables, Sweet and Sour and Yellow Curry, all were very tasty. Did I mention the prices are very reasonable as well? If you're in the Hillcrest area of San Diego and are looking for good food at a reasonable price, served graciously in a lovely setting that will appeal to many different appetites, vegan, vegetarian and meat eaters alike, please try Saigon On Fifth. Really a delightful experience for all!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank radams2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saigon on Fifth also viewed

 

Been to Saigon on Fifth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing