We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place in San Diego!”
Review of Zia's Bistro - CLOSED

Zia's Bistro
Price range: US$30 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Fir St.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“My favorite place in San Diego!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I had dinner there on Saturday (3/29), arrived at about 8:30 and waited for half an hour to get a table outside. Absolutely worth the wait! The food was outstanding, fantastic wine choices. We were three, I had the rib (can't for the life of me remember the name of the dish, but it was cooked for 6 hours and it melted right off the bone), one of us had the shrimp alfredo (very yummy!), and one of us had the chicken parm. We loved the food, the live music and the flowers certainly added to the charm. Our waiter was fantastic, informative, offered great suggestions on both wines & food menu. The cappuccino afterwards is outstanding as well. I will certainly return on my next trip to San Diego.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingUnic0rN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    36
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Poor Service, Good Food, Good Location”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

On a gorgeous Sunday afternoon, I stopped here to dine at one of their sidewalk tables. Their menu is good, as is their food. At 2pm, they were not overly busy, but my waiter seemed offended I didn't order a drink (just water) and practically snatched the drink menu away. When he came back to take my food order, he snidely asked if I would be eating. When he brought me my food, he plunked my plate down and ran off - I had to flag down the busboy to ask for an extra napkin. When I got the check and paid, the waiter shorted me $1.12 in change. I still tipped him because I'm hoping he was just having a bad day, and otherwise the restaurant and the food were good, but he could have ruined my day if I wasn't such a happy person. If you go here, try to get a female server, on the off chance he still works here. And count your change.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StacetheGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We went here for lunch and the bill was over $100. The food was good--fresh and well made. The greeting and the service were ok. Just got the feeling that they see ALOT of tourists and they do a good, solid job--but nothing exceptional--especially for the price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellingfamily12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Glad we decided on Zias”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Our initial plan was to try Mimmos or Fillipis (sp?) but kept walking because of the long waits to get into those two. Stumbled upon Zias b/c I noticed a man at an outdoor table devouring some yummy looking pasta and decided to give Zias a try. SO glad we stopped here. Fabulous atmosphere, service (thanks Daniel) and of course food. Mother-in-law from London proclaimed the butternut squash ravioli the best she'd ever had. Kids loved the food and warm garlic rolls. My gnocchi was wonderful although the marinara could have been seasoned a bit more. Overall, 5 out of 5 and glad we kept walking past the big names of Little Italy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing food great service”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Great service must go here.... the food was superbly delicious. Having pizza was like eating little bites of heaven......... wonderful seafood pasta..
absoluteky loved it

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poojadixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zia's Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing