We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just breathtaking”

Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Chinle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Red cliff and canyon walls that are home to ancient Indian ruins.
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just breathtaking”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Only had a short time to visit but what we got to see has made us want to come back and explore more. A beautiful National Park and they don't charge a fee, we also suggest driving Rte 13 over Buffalo Pass to Shiprock, views are amazing.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dream Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,139
    252
    64
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hike to White House ruin”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

With only a few hours to spare en route somewhere else, we drove the south rum overlooks and hikes down into the canyon to see White House ruin. This is the only place you can go down into the canyon without a guide, and it is a FANTASTIC hike! It's not easy (steep hill in and out) but all clearly marked, and 100% worth it to see the ruins and pictographs. One of the best parts of our whole trip, even compared with Mesa Verde. Take the time, about 2-3 hours, and do the hike!

Helpful?
3 Thank TheProseccoLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We enjoyed this immensely! Beautiful landscapes, amazing pictographs and ruins on the canyon walls. We hired a guide to take us into the canyon in an SUV, and we learned all about the history and culture of the peoples who have lived in the canyon. When we went to the Grand Canyon, all we did was look out over it from the rim. But at Canyon de Chelly it was super easy to just drive right into the canyon to explore.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dudakadud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The welcome center wasn't here last Time”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

It was nice to see some of the artifacts in a little museum but something was missing with all the new walkways and it being very natural. I guess it is safe but kind of takes away from the ancient feeling

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem,NC
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Fabulous tour through Canyon De Chelly”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This Park/Monument is passed over by a great many and it is a mistake - you can hire a Navajo guide to go down into the Canyon OR tour via the Rim Roads and view it from the top.
You will be amazed at the Anasazi ruins preserved for us to marvel at.
You will need a full day to see the canyon properly.
We planned it so that we did the ineer Canyon with a Guide day 1 and the Rim Roads alone day #2 - made sense that way.
The red rock formations are beautiful everywhere and the canyon contains both a multiple of impressive thousand years old Anasazi ruins and many hidden pictographs and petroglyphs. The one street town of Chinle near the entrance to the canyon has nothing of interest and planning your visit so that you only need a hotel room for one night is recommendable.
We booked two nights at the Holiday Inn - the Town of Chinle has little to offer - very depressed area - few foods areas.
Visited Canyon de Chelly National Monument via hiring Twin Trails Scenic Tours, Tim Halwood 928-349-5560 or 928-674-2935 We called him ahead of time and arranged the Tour and he was MUCH more reasonably priced than other operators and the tour was GREAT!!! Our guide, DAN, was fantastic. Bring water and ask lots of questions. Go at 4 PM in Summer when the Canyon is shaded; cooler.
Park postings all over to guard valuables - lots of poverty in the area - on a Navajo Reservation....do NOT let this put you off.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Outlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canyon de Chelly National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Canyon de Chelly National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing