We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet campground, woodsy near beaches and bike trail”

Maurice's Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellfleet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maurice's Campground
vernon, ct
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“quiet campground, woodsy near beaches and bike trail”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We have been staying here for many years. It's a small campground and the campsites are kept tidy and are mostly located in a pine tree'd area. Bathrooms are clean with soap provided and paid showers are hot. There is a small general store on the premisis where you can get grocery items, deli and some seafood. It's a bit pricey but nice to be able to walk there. The locaiton is great, as you have a drive-in and sit-in movie theatre right across the street and the rails to trails bike path runs along the back of the campground for easy access for biking. You could bike to the beaches (Marconi Beach) or its a very short drive there. My husband and I like the peacefulness of the campground and the clean bathrooms and showers, but there really is very little to do for our children. There is a small playground that has not been kept up in a number of years. Would like to see more activities for children. They also do not allow dogs. Wish this rule would be changed as sometimes our visits are limited if we cannot find someone to watch our dogs for us. Because the campgrond is located in the National Seashore area, you are not allowed open fires. If you're looking for a nice, quiet campground, this is a great place to go. The smells of the ocean are wonderful and it really is very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    8
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We are camping in a trailer. The roads throughout the campground need serious repair and the sites need to be mowed or weed whacked making it uncomfortable to sit outside. The kids playground is very outdated and in a busy location. The convenience store is well stocked and the location is great. The price is just ok, but beats a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Duginda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I agree with the other posters in some ways -- this is a clean, well-run camp. But I had been used to camping in state parks in NY and PA, which spread campsites apart. At Maurice's campground, people are packed right next to each other, meaning that you get no privacy. If that is fine by you, go for it -- the rates are reasonable. But don't reserve expecting more privacy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 898Fairminded898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kitchener
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

we were one of the few mon permanent guests, but the campsit was lovely.
very clean , well maintained, friendly helpful staff/owners, convenient store on site, great location on the cape. Quiet but not dead on the Memorial day wknd . :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khigginscc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We have been staying at Maurice's for many years, first in our Pop up for quite a few, then a tent, and this year we stayed in a cabin. My daughter stayed in the same cabin last year. Being a seasonal camper in Western MA..I compare where I am to other places..I am always impressed by the updates that Maurice's have done. Bathrooms have been upgraded very nicely...the store was done a couple of years ago - and that is quite nice (food is good too!) I too have always been amazed at how quiet it is...but I guess after loong days at the beach - who has any energy to be rowdy anyways!! Do I miss sitting by a fire - yes - but not enough to go somewhere else. Closeness to beaches, ponds, etc is great. While we miss having our dog with us - being gone all day would not be fun for her either..so the no pets rule is ok. I am already thinking about next summer - and I will be in a pop up again!! Thanks for a nice stay!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanPct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We just spent a few days at maurices campground.. the staff were very polite and friendly.. we had an water electric site which was clean, spacious and close to the bathroom.. I don't know if were just lucky with neighbors but we could not believe how quite this place was.. we were playing Yatzee in our pop up at 9pm and felt like our dice was the loudest thing in the campground..almost too quite.. we switched games lol. Having access to the bike trail and the well stocked store right from the campground was awesome. A few little bummers was the shower house.. the only have one for the entire campground so we had to wait one morning for a shower, the shower stalls were small and metered, only 25 cents for about 10 min so not bad just don't forget your quarters or your walking back to your site.. the only other the thing I did not like was when I saw a staff member doing the bathroom cleaning he used just a spray bottle of cleaning solution and a roll of paper towels to do a "quick once over", now to his defense the bathroom was not filthy but definitely could of used more of a cleaning.. other than that no issues.. This is not a resort type of cg.. If you are use to big koa type cg with pools and events every minute then keep looking.. this is a small ma and pop type cg that has a perfect location in cape cod and friendly staff.. we will definitely return to maurices

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottcoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

It is a rustic family vacation! One year when our kids were little (4and 7)my Mom rented a cabin and we stayed in our pop-up...the kids thought the cabin was like the Waldorf Astoria! We go every summer and relish our time. The kids(21 and 17) still get a kick out of paying 25 cents for a shower and for a treat they get a longer one for 35 cents!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NutmeggersSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellfleet
2.2 mi away
Ocean Park Inn Cape Cod
0.2 mi away
Wellfleet Motel
Wellfleet Motel
#2 of 4 in Wellfleet
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#5 of 9 in Eastham
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
1.1 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel and Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Viking Shores Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maurice's Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maurice's Campground

Property: Maurice's Campground
Address: 80 State Hwy Rte 6 Unit One, Wellfleet, MA 02667
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Wellfleet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Wellfleet
Number of rooms: 230
Also Known As:
Maurice`s Campground Hotel Wellfleet
Maurice's Campground Wellfleet, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing