We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best for Cape Cod Trail” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wellfleet Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wellfleet Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wellfleet
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not the best for Cape Cod Trail”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We chose this Motel primarily because they told us of the direct access to the Cape Cod Trail. Since riding the trail was our primary purpose for our 5 day mini-vacation, it was the deciding factor. We had previously reserved a basic room but later upgraded to one on the ground floor with a patio so that we could park our bikes out of the weather. The cost, pre-season, was $97 plus tax.

Pros: Friendly front desk staff. Large room. Clean. High quality coffee maker and coffee.

Cons: The direct access to the trail is via a poorly maintained dirt trail about 100 yards away from the Cape Cod Trail itself. The exterior of the property is unkempt with grass growing in the parking lot and in need of some sweeping. The room is adequately furnished but no soundproofing. The bathroom has no shelf for placing toiletries. We asked the sheets be changed (it isn't done every day and that's perfectly OK) after I spilled some soda the previous night. That request was not relayed to housekeeping. Fortunately we saw the housekeeper and she provided the needed service. Our building was empty except for ours and one other room. The room given to that guest, with a pre-teen son who bounced off the walls (and floor), was directly over our room with virtually no soundproofing. The noise was terrible and assigning that room when all others were unoccupied, defies logic. The cost was $30 above a much better property in Orleans. For anyone wanting to ride the trail we recommend the Seashore Park Inn in Orleans. Much better maintained and about 30 yds. away from the trail via a paved road.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank recumbentrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted606, General Manager at Wellfleet Motel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
I apologize you had a noise issue with the room above. In the future please let the office staff know as soon as possible so we can address the problem or move you to another room.

I'll have to check out the access to the bike trail a little more closely. It is a dirt road and it is not like riding on asphalt. There are some bumps and soft sand. This is the first time anyone has complained about it. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    86
    31
    21
    9
See reviews for
96
69
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Very clean, comfortable, spacious rooms equipped with refrigerator, Keurig coffee maker & large screen tv. Quiet setting near the Cape Cod Rail Trail for biking. Indoor saltwater pool & spa were a wonderful rainy day diversion. Lovely outdoor pool as well. Complimentary Wi-Fi . Located near the Wellfleet Audubon Sanctuary & many fine restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraSw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted606, General Manager at Wellfleet Motel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit us again and thank you for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

This was an overnight stay. I enjoyed it. The owner is friendly and helpful. Check in was easy. We stayed in the motel part (vs) one of the lodge rooms. Our room was clean and comfortably. It was recently remodeled. WiFi is complementary. There is a small keurig and fridge. No microwave but they have one you can rent. There was an indoor and outdoor salt water pool,also noticed a small hot tub near the indoor pool. I didn't have time to use either of them. They looked older but ok. There is quite a bit of property with other units in the rear. Our room faced the parking lot. I am sure its noisier in July and August. The room rate was $98.This was not booked directly with the motel. The owner and I had a discussion that he would prefer guests book directly with him. It was unclear if the price would be the same but one could ask if comparing prices. This facility also has a breakfast room with full breakfast. The price is not included. I did enjoy the breakfast and prices were reasonable. I plan on coming back here for a long weekend. I am hoping the price doesn't triple for the high season. I would not pay more than $150 per night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2010homerun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Clean newly remodeled motel. Rooms r clean and upgraded except for the matress. The rooms are large with a Kuerig and a nice cold fridge. Convenient location. Draw back is its loud in morning when people are leaving slamming doors and letting their kids run and yell. This is a super nice motel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Addileesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted606, General Manager at Wellfleet Motel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear guest, I'm glad you enjoyed your room with the Keruig coffee brewer and refrigerator. Thank you for sharing your comments. Yes, we were very busy this winter as we underwent a major guestroom renovation project that included new carpet, wallpaper, furniture, bedspreads, and local artwork. Also, while the room was stripped of carpet and furniture everything got a fresh coat of paint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massen
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Great location. Very clean and well maintained. Front desk and cleaning staff very friendly and helpful. Had two double Queen connecting rooms in main lodge; bright, cheery and spacious and spotlessly clean. Large indoor pool area; also clean and well maintained. We enjoyed the Elementary School Fund Raiser Breakfast on Sat. morning. Our pleasant stay made for a very special Mother's Day for my wife and her sisters. Dave & Linda F. Syracuse, NY

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank popsicle270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted606, General Manager at Wellfleet Motel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear guest, it is great to hear you enjoyed your Mother's Day Weekend with us. Thank you. We take great pride in providing clean and comfortable accommodations and well maintained facilities. We also try to give back to the community. The Pancake breakfast is a fundraiser for the elementary school. It was a great turn out and a big help for the school. I donate all the food, flip pancakes, and all the servers and kithchen help are volunteers to help pull it together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

An older, quite dated motel. Our room was mostly very clean, although the rug was old, worn and stained pretty badly. The walls were not quite clean either. Overall, just passable. Nothing to get interested in.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NEcm104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted606, General Manager at Wellfleet Motel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for your comments. During the winter of 2012 we completed a major guestroom renovation on 25 of our rooms. They were updated with new carpet, wallpaper, furniture, drapes and bed spreads. All interior trim was given a fresh coat of paint to brighten the room with a clean crisp look. We also made electric outlets more accessible by the bed for plugging in smart phones and laptops.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield County, CT
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

This past September was our second stay, found this motel to be just as nice as before. The room was large, VERY clean and quiet. The location on Route 6 is convenient to the beaches, P'Town and loads of many restaurants. We were lucky to get one of the last two rooms left. The staff at the front desk checked us in quickly and was really helpful answering all our questions. The rates are reasonable for a vacation/resort type location.
We're future repeat customers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a 'court yard' view, ground floor. You'll get a large room with a sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatbigsoxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted606, General Manager at Wellfleet Motel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellfleet
14.2 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
8.3 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.9 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#4 of 9 in Eastham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
2.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Eastham Cape Cod
1.4 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellfleet Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellfleet Motel

Property: Wellfleet Motel
Address: 170 U.S. 6, South Wellfleet, Wellfleet, MA 02663
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Wellfleet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wellfleet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wellfleet Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
65 Room Resort located on 12 acres between the National Seashore and the Wellfleet Bay Wildlife Sanctuary. Indoor/outdoor pools - hot tub - suites - king beds - Free Wi-Fi - Harrigan's Cafe - bike trail - B&B packages. Newly renovated. Green Certified. Solar powered. AAA Rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Wellfleet Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellfleet Hotel Wellfleet
Wellfleet Motel MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing