We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and Switch; Constantly increasing prices at registration and check-in”
Review of Wellfleet Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wellfleet Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We felt constantly gouged for money. First at reservation the Orbitz site said the price had increased while I was reserving a room. Don't get suckered by what appeared to be reasonable price online. Then during registration was told there was another $20 fee per night to have 4 people in a room with two queen beds! This room should value out at under $100, but with changes ends up over $200. Then enjoy a nice breakfast for $50 for four. Welcome to the Cape.

As others have stated, there is no early check in or flexibility on the 3:30 check in time and no offer to expedite or call you when it's ready. Really poor customer service.

Luckily the room was clean, spacious and had been recently renovated with a refrig and flat screen TV. The family said they would come back for the location, but for the value and lack of customer service we'll try somewhere else next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SU_b-ball-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Wellfleet Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my wife in late July of 2013.Man at desk was friendly and helpful with local information, the room was very clean-absolutely loved the salt water outdoor in ground pool. Purchase your breakfasts when you book you'll save $. food was excellent.If and when we return to Cape cod (half way up the vertical arm ) , we're going to stay there again

Room Tip: we had room 19 which was relatively small but we were very happy with it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted606, General Manager at Wellfleet Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Guest, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and plan to return again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed here July 19-21, 2013. I can't say enough great things about this place! They were extremely accomodating as we arrived early and they let us use all the amenities including the indoor and outdoor saltwater pools before our room was ready for check in. They let me park a boat on the propoerty as well for the weekend for no cost as well. We booked a "family room" which had two double beds and they brought in a rollaway for us as well without even having to ask. We stayed in room 1 which was huge and we had plenty of room for 2 adults, a 9 and a 3 year old, and a baby. The room was clean, well appointed and recently remodeled. Also, the motel is right on the bike trail with easy access behind the buildings, not sure what one other commenter was saying about that? The motel is close to all the Wellfleet beaches, with good restaurants and the drive-in nearby. They also have outdoor propane BBQ's for use for free which saved us from having to go out one night for dinner. Lastly, my daughter forgot her doll in the room, and they even called us to mail it back to us! I would stay again with them in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The family rooms are great!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joedigio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted606, General Manager at Wellfleet Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Guest,

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your wonderful comments. Please visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Last w/e I stayed here with my 3 grandchildren. We had a 2 room suite which was immaculate. The location is central to all the things we like to do at this end of the cape. The Wellfleet sanctuary is across the road, and our trip to Ptown was a quick one. I highly suggest Harrigan's for breakfast. If you do go, order the blueberry pancakes, you won't be disappointed. between trips to the beaches the kids loved the outdoor salt water pool and in the evening swam indoors. The staff here are fun and accommodating and enhance your stay. I really enjoyed our stay and plan to stay again soon.

Room Tip: We had 3 kids so the 2 room suite was perfect for us.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted606, General Manager at Wellfleet Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear guest, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and plan to return again. It is our goal to provide a comfortable and pleasing experience while you are staying with us. Also glad to hear you enjoyed your breafast in our Cafe and especially the fresh blueberry pancakes. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We are very fortunate to have such a positive and professional group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I called to ask about early check in & the person who answered the phone was extremely rude & condescending. He kept repeating that check in wasn't until 3:30. So we drove around & did a few things until about 4pm. You have to pay in full at check in which is odd considering most places you pay upon check out. I had my 2yo with me who was playing in the lobby & the man at the desk seemed to get irritated with him. Obviously not child friendly :( Then they charged my card incorrectly 4 times! I was shocked & when I went to the desk to clear it up the man was so rude again! He put his hand in my face telling me to stop talking. I was just asking a question about refunding & he kept repeating the same thing off the computer. I'm sadly disappointed in this motel. Although it seemed like it was going to be a great time, it turned out to be stressful & we will never be back. Stay somewhere down the road, you won't regret passing this place up!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ShannonEliz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted606, General Manager at Wellfleet Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

I'm sorry that your room was not available when you arrived. Even on busy weekends we try to have rooms available earlier than the stated check-in time but sometimes housekeeping needs extra time and they are not ready until 3:30. As part of our routine, all rooms are checked after the rooms have been cleaned by housekeeping to make sure room supplies are restocked and everything is tidy.

It is standard procedure in a resort area like Cape Cod to pay the balance due at check-in. I agree there were 2 cards presented for payment and an authorization was placed on the wrong card but we corrected the situation very quickly and the incorrect entries were voided and never sent to the processor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We chose this Motel primarily because they told us of the direct access to the Cape Cod Trail. Since riding the trail was our primary purpose for our 5 day mini-vacation, it was the deciding factor. We had previously reserved a basic room but later upgraded to one on the ground floor with a patio so that we could park our bikes out of the weather. The cost, pre-season, was $97 plus tax.

Pros: Friendly front desk staff. Large room. Clean. High quality coffee maker and coffee.

Cons: The direct access to the trail is via a poorly maintained dirt trail about 100 yards away from the Cape Cod Trail itself. The exterior of the property is unkempt with grass growing in the parking lot and in need of some sweeping. The room is adequately furnished but no soundproofing. The bathroom has no shelf for placing toiletries. We asked the sheets be changed (it isn't done every day and that's perfectly OK) after I spilled some soda the previous night. That request was not relayed to housekeeping. Fortunately we saw the housekeeper and she provided the needed service. Our building was empty except for ours and one other room. The room given to that guest, with a pre-teen son who bounced off the walls (and floor), was directly over our room with virtually no soundproofing. The noise was terrible and assigning that room when all others were unoccupied, defies logic. The cost was $30 above a much better property in Orleans. For anyone wanting to ride the trail we recommend the Seashore Park Inn in Orleans. Much better maintained and about 30 yds. away from the trail via a paved road.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank recumbentrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted606, General Manager at Wellfleet Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

I apologize you had a noise issue with the room above. In the future please let the office staff know as soon as possible so we can address the problem or move you to another room.

I'll have to check out the access to the bike trail a little more closely. It is a dirt road and it is not like riding on asphalt. There are some bumps and soft sand. This is the first time anyone has complained about it. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Very clean, comfortable, spacious rooms equipped with refrigerator, Keurig coffee maker & large screen tv. Quiet setting near the Cape Cod Rail Trail for biking. Indoor saltwater pool & spa were a wonderful rainy day diversion. Lovely outdoor pool as well. Complimentary Wi-Fi . Located near the Wellfleet Audubon Sanctuary & many fine restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraSw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted606, General Manager at Wellfleet Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit us again and thank you for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellfleet
15.4 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,060 reviews
21.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,246 reviews
0.9 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#5 of 9 in Eastham
263 reviews
5.0 mi away
Southfleet Motor Inn
Southfleet Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Wellfleet
135 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mainstay Motor Inn
Mainstay Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Wellfleet
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellfleet Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellfleet Motel

Address: 170 U.S. 6, South Wellfleet, Wellfleet, MA 02663
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Wellfleet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wellfleet
Price Range: £64 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wellfleet Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
65 Room Resort located on 12 acres between the National Seashore and the Wellfleet Bay Wildlife Sanctuary. Indoor/outdoor pools - hot tub - suites - king beds - Free Wi-Fi - Harrigan's Cafe - bike trail - B&B packages. Newly renovated. Green Certified. Solar powered. AAA Rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wellfleet Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellfleet Hotel Wellfleet
Wellfleet Motel MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing