We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Wellfleet Bay Wildlife Sanctuary
Ranked #2 of 37 things to do in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This preserve is a great place to commune with nature and watch the sunset.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We really enjoyed our visit here. Make sure you bring binoculars and a camera and a good pair of walking or hiking shoes. You can definitely spend the whole day here. When we were crossing one of the bridges on the trail, some of the Sanctuary employees were watching for birds, and they took the time to explain the area we were in and what we should look for. We can't wait to go back when we're in the area again!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dianna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    54
    8
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful sanctuary”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

If you love wildlife, and peaceful trails to walk and explore, visit here! There is also a small information area, in the visitor center, that helps teach about native species. A quaint gift shop is available in the visitor center. If you enjoy nature, you'll probably loose yourself for a few hours here. A welcome respite.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fun outing for our family.”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Went there with our one year old son during our vacation to Provincetown. It was a fun, leisurely outing and we loved that we could go at our own pace. Definitely worth the stop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rlynch0522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun place to relax and enjoy nature!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was a great place to take a nice, long leisurely walk. There were over 5 miles of trails but they all branch off from the visitor's center so you can choose how far you want to go. It's a beautiful place and educational too.. I think kids would absolutely love it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goldenlove7112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nature at it's best”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This sanctuary is easy to get to by public transport.
The salt marshes are truly beautiful and get there early and you won't be dissapointed.
The place is crawling with flora and fauna. The bay seals are especially charming. Beautiful herons. A great opportunity to see crabs,etc.
The nearby village has excellent eateries and a small market.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wellfleet Bay Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

 
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Wellfleet Bay Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing