We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long Wait for Bakery”

PB Boulangerie Bistro
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: PB Boulangerie Bistro is an award-winning Zagat-Rated French Bakery, Pastry Shop, and Bistro. Our Chefs use traditional European techniques to create specialty hand-crafted products, and the finest French cuisine with only the best natural ingredients. A taste of France on Cape Cod!
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
327 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Long Wait for Bakery”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

An August Saturday morning, a 20 minute wait in line for some baked goods. A chocolate bombe was okay, an almond croissant was passable. A ham sandwich with one slice of ham, too much dijon on a baguette that even a billy goat would find difficult to chew -- at $10 -- was ridiculous. The coffee is very good.

This place is obviously extremely popular but they're very disorganized behind the counter which leads to the long wait time. This review is for the bakery only, not for the evening bistro.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Filmprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    121
    60
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great food, charming place”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

What a pleasant surprise. Been coming to Truro for years and somehow missed this gem. Greeted by a young and competent French host with a twinkle in his eye. Our table wasn't ready but he made every attempt to keep us updated on the progress of the party who had to leave before we could be seated. Had the absolute best heirloom tomato salad with mozzarella sitting on a bed of "eggplant caviar" redolent with olive oil. We sopped up every bit with our crusty bagette. Oyster are fresh and served with a classic cocktail sauce as well as mignonette. Main courses were clams in a heady curry broth with jasmine rice. Again a great use for that bagette. Olive oil poached cod was sublime as was the locally caught swordfish with cherry tomatoes and mashed potatoes. It was such a great dinner, we cancelled our reservation at a local favorite and went back again two night later. Again we had a wonderful meal. Loved our waiter. The owner came out and bid us adieu upon departure. If you are on the outer Cape, you must dine here.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mjgboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Pastries!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Granddad opened his wallet for the grand kids and they followed suit. They ordered croissants, pastries, eclairs, cheesy bread, Napoleons, etc. Everything was fresh and delicious. The sandwiches made with the cheesy bread were divine on the beach later in the day. Great place to visit on Cape Cod although you will think you are in Paris.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Domenic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Parisian”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

An overall pleasant experience. Went to get coffee and pastries for my sleeping family during vacation. Waited in line for 40 minutes. Not sure I would wait like that again but needed to see what all the fuss was about. I nice young man came around giving away free samples while we waited which was very nice. My frustration piqued when we entered the building and I saw that they were understaffed and the staff was not moving particularly fast. They were very pleasant though. They decor was nice, the food was very European, and the staff was very nice. It definitely had a flair that was unique and inviting and on my way out I walked through the restaurant area and they had quite a staff prepping for the lunchtime rush. It's on my list to go back with just my wife for lunch or even dinner. Has potential.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeCerretani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed...”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Had a great dinner here with friends last summer. What a turn-around this year.
Arrived on time for our reservation, no table available. Ok, that happens with a popular place.
45 minutes later we are finally seated.
Just gets worse.
Poor service, entrees are average to mediocre.
A very disappointing dinner experience. Especially when the prices are well above average.
Not sure I can recommend or if we will return, there are several new places in the area that warrant a try.
Unfortunate.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank hhreese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PB Boulangerie Bistro also viewed

 
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to PB Boulangerie Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing