We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Long Hike on Great Island”
Review of Great Island Trail

Ranked #4 of 37 things to do in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
568 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Great Long Hike on Great Island”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My sister and I took this 7-mile loop, full-day hike for our first time while vacationing on the lower cape. It was a gorgeous, warm September day at low tide, and while people elsewhere were sweating like crazy with temps nearing 100 degrees in Boston, we were a comfortable, breezy 82 degrees. We brought plenty of water and lunch to eat, as we knew there would be nowhere to eat or drink (nor bathrooms) once on the trail. Trails are initially marked, but we later got a bit lost as trail signs seemed to disappear once you reach the beach and dunes. We stayed mainly on the beach, partly because of the "tick factor" among the dune reeds. Lots of wildlife abounded, including sea birds, gulls, tiny crabs, and even a seal which we spotted on a rock protruding offshore. We collected lots of interesting and beautiful shells and rocks as well, an unidentified animal skull and some other creepy items which we could not clearly identify as animal, plant or mineral. The area was pretty clean with not much trash from human activity. In fact, we encountered only about a dozen or so other people during our whole day. The water was warm even on the ocean side. You can walk nearly out to Jeremy Point on the far end of the "island" which is actually a long peninsula. One must use caution here, because you can get stranded on a sand bar out there if you're not careful. Bring plenty of sunscreen, potable water and insect repellant (if you're hiking in bug or tick season).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    18
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
augusta
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“unspoiled Cape Cod experience”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Before I embarked on this hike, I stopped at the visitors center and the rangers were very helpful in describing the trail and providing trail guides. Love to read the history of a place I visit and this added to the experience of the hike. Was able to complete the entire 8 miles in 3 hrs. Never a dull moment with much variety available of different terrains. The first section you are walking through sand dunes with ocean views on all sides of the trail and then a portion takes you through the woods. This would be considered a moderate hike. Very secluded and away from the busy Cape Cod roadways. I would recommend wearing boots that go up to your ankles. Made the mistake of wearing sneakers in which sand easily entered.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pippenAugusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Hike”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

On a recent visit to Eastham, my son recommended a hike he had taken, so we visited the Great Island Trail. It was just beautiful, very serene. We walked along a sand trail and on the beach a while. Just a beautiful scene!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank adrisc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellfleet, Massachusetts, United States
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Crowd free hike!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We love to walk on Great Island and very infrequently do we find a lot of people walking. This means that we can relax, enjoy the sights, smells and sounds all which adds up to a very pleasant, peaceful experience. Great exercise too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Get away from it all and walk peacefully”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This is the prettiest hike we took in Cape Cod. You get to see unspoiled and uncrowned views of beeches, bays and woods. If you visit during low tide, if you wear water shoes and are willing to get a bit wet, you can could across the bay.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bbmf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Island Trail also viewed

 
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Great Island Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing