We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal!”

Van Rensselaer's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Van Rensselaer's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 47 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Cape Cod Seafood & Wellfleet Shellfish, Angus Beef & Prime Rib, Vegan & Gluten-Free Selections, Deliciously Fresh Salad Bar, Nice Wines, Local Brews, Fun Martinis, and Casual & Comfortable! Thursdays - Saturdays we also offer Late Night at VR's to 11:00 pm at night!
Southington, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Phenomenal!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Peter and Dianne go above and beyond. Local produce, best seafood and land fare you could possibly want all within budget.And their breakfast menu is outstanding. Worth the trip while vacationing on the cape.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    135
    39
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and Dinner”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

During our recent vacation to Cape Cod we tried Van Rensselaer's for breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was excellent. I had an omelet with spinach, cheese and mushrooms. It was one of the best I ever had. My wife also enjoyed her pancakes and bacon, cooked exactly the way she wanted. One evening we also had dinner there with another couple. Again we were very satisfied with our meals. Most meals came in two sizes which also worked well for two people in our party. The potato crusted salmon was absolutely delicious. None of us left anything on our plates. Both wait staff we dealt with were very knowledgeable, helpful and paid attention to the details. Pricing was a little high, but we all felt it was worthwhile. I will return again soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A little overpriced”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We've been dining here for year's and were really looking forward to the Sunday breakfast buffet. Unfortunately, they did away with it. We had a very yummy breakfast but it was a little more than I was planning to spend on eggs and pancakes. $50 for a family of 4 - breakfast. I think lunch or dinner would be a better option. They do still have the salad bar and fantastic cocktails.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hatchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The BEST lobster”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Lobster Dinner was amazing! Huge and fresh lobster which was definitely worth every penny. The people working there were so friendly and nice.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jessicalcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
1,602 reviews
832 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
“An Excellent Dining Experience”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

V R's still stands out as one of the best restaurants in Wellfleet. The commitment of management to food of high quality, wide variety and good taste makes it a place to come back to for a good meal again and again. The appetizers and salads lay the foundation for an interesting menu. The buffet salad bar is a great option for those who want to supplement their meal or make it a meal. The standard entrees are supplemented with a number of interesting options every day. While beef, chicken and pork are available, V R's is renown for its seafood, freshly caught by local fisherman. A decent wine and beer menu is available as well as a good bar. The veteran wait staff is enthusiastic and attentive. You will probably be greeted by the Halls, whose smiles and charm symbolize the welcoming atmosphere of this place

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffl499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Van Rensselaer's Restaurant also viewed

 
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Van Rensselaer's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing