We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everybody is right!”
Review of Moby Dick's

Moby Dick's
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Closed for the winter. See you May 2017 When we first opened Moby Dick’s in ‘83, we had no idea we’d become an establishment on Cape Cod. We simply wanted to start a BYOB restaurant that had fresh seafood, a relaxed environment, and a friendly staff that would make people feel at home. Well, three decades later, we’re still doing exactly that, opening every season in May to the delight of locals and visitors alike. Some people stop in for our lobster rolls while others come for an old-fashioned bucket of steamers. But everyone knows they can come to us for fresh family fun and a dining experience in Wellfleet they'll never forget.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Everybody is right!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Thanks Tripadvisor users for once again steering me in the right direction. Awesome food in acute setting & HUGE portions. Really worth going out of your way while on the Cape

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Gwen V, Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    711
    296
    83
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

After many meals of fish and chips and lobster rolls, we decided to try a sit down, table service restaurant with a little more variety. Moby Dick's was exactly what we were looking for. Great good, great service and a great value. They are BYOB, so stop by one of the many nearby liquor shops on the way there.

We were at the Salt Pond visitors center in Eastham and 'tripadvisored' Moby Dick's. We arrived at 6:30 on a Wednesday and there was a long line. But the line moved quickly (20 min) and they even served us watermelon while waiting.

As soon as you enter the restaurant, you order (before you are seated), so review the menu while waiting on line. Once seated, the food came quickly and we had great service clearing the table and taking additional requests. They brought an ice bucket for our beer.

For appetizers we had the buttery, melt in your mouth raw oysters and calamari (tasty, but not a large portion. Our entrees were the clam bake (yummy), grilled striped bass (also yummy), and fish and chips for the kids. Desert was the key lime pie (delicious, as the other reviewers pointed out) and Moby madness (kids loved it).

Tips are optional (and cash only), but we had great service, so we left a tip at the table (there is a tipping jar when you order)

Overall, I would highly recommend Moby Dick's. We will be back on our next visit to the Cape.






Helpful?
1 Thank Familyguy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Familyguy88, Thank you so much for your review and kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, MA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Place To Eat”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My boyfriend and I absolutely love this place! We have been coming here for years. The staff is super friendly and the food is excellent. The owner, Todd, is always walking around talking to the customers to ensure everything is good. We were in Truro for 3 nights 4th of July weekend and ate at Moby Dick's twice. The second time our food came out before we were done our soup. We didn't mind a bit, but the owner noticed and came to our table to apologize and ask if we wanted our food remade. I assured him it completely fine. He came back a second time, clearly bothered by this, asked again, and I gave the same response. He asked if there was anything else he could do. He then came back with a gift card covering the entire price of my Moby's special (fisherman's platter), tax included. We will be going back in August and continue to recommend this restaurant. Absolutely the best! Thanks Todd!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pumpkinmuffin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Pumpkinmuffin2014, Thank you for your very kind words. We look forward to seeing you in August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oneco, CT
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent & Reliable Food”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We eat here at least three times during the week we vacation in Wellfleet! Been traveling to Wellfleet the last 14 years, and have not been disappointed once. Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OutThereCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
OutThereCT, Thank you for your business and kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Yummy fried food on the side of the road”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Classic Cape Rt 6 fried food. Good food, good value and a sweet little gift store next door with decent stuff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cmbassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you and thank you for your nice comment about Moby's Cargo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 

Been to Moby Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing