We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!”

Mac’s On the Pier
Ranked #13 of 46 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$18
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Order at the window. Send the kids to scout a table on the sand. This is the place for a plate of fried clams with a slow summer sunset on the side. Steamers with broth and drawn butter, a lobster roll, a fried fish sandwich, onion rings--they're Cape Cod classics for a reason. There may be nothing better. But here's satisfaction for those who might crave something else: grilled tuna with summer vegetables and ponzu, a scallop burrito, fish tacos, Caribbean fish stew. And ice cream, of course: sundaes and frappes, soft-serve and scooped - served every night until 10pm. Our honest-to-goodness clam shack. Right on Wellfleet harbor, next to our original fish market.
Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Love their scallop and lobster rolls! Their lobster chowder was not so good, really thin and only one piece of lobster...and luke warm. Everything else I have had there has been great!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RR532014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    117
    34
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great family outing”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Hands down, this is our kids first choice on our annual trip to Wellfleet. The food is consistently good. My favorite is the salmon, swordfish or tuna sandwich. If ordering lobster roll, I suggest requesting no lettuce. Otherwise, the lobster is skimpy. One treat for our family is having lobsters steamed and cracked by the market in the rear and eating them at home with the market's delicious seaweed salad plus sweet corn and salads.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank shandi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1,025 reviews
537 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch at the pier”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We have a boat in Weelfleet harbor and love to stop by Macs either before or after a day of boating.

I think the best food here are the burritos. This trip we had the fish burrito, but we have also enjoyed the chicken and the jerk pork and loved them.

Someone in out party had the grilled salmon wrap. It was so good and juicy and flavorful. She was very happy with her choice.

We also had a standard fish and chips. It was not greasy and we received a good sized piece of cod.

Helpful?
Thank RiceWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Nice location, so-so food. The Cape needs something to raise the bar as this little place demonstrates. The menu offerings are fairly standard as is the resultant product. As we were a family of eight, none of us left with a "can't wait to return" take on the place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BRPROC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A better than average Clam Shack”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

What makes this place special it the freshness of its food. The oysters on the half shell, the steamed lobsters, the fried fish are all fresh and delicious. You place your order, grab a picnic table on the beach, listen for number to be called and dig in.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mitch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mac’s On the Pier also viewed

Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Mac’s On the Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing