We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of route 6”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southfleet Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wellfleet
Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile

While it is hard to rave about spending $200 to stay in an outdated motel on a highwAy, this really is the best of its kind. Rooms are clean, pools (indoor, outdoor, hot tub) are well-kept, and location is great- short ride to ocean beach, right on the rail trail, and steps away from several restaurants and an Icecream shop. There is coffee and icewater available all day for guests and the staff refills these so often that the ice never seems to melt and the coffee always tastes fresh. There are towels by the pool and these are restocked frequently as well. Only disappointment was the continental breakfast which was just stale mini-bagels, toast, and watermelon slices.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VermontMama3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

The Southfleet has a great location on the Cape. The rooms are always clean and the owners seem to add something new each year to make the stay more comfortable. This year it was raining and we were able to enjoy some fun under the tent that has been installed over some picnic tables.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CahoonHollowite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed here for a weekend in July 2012. I’ve been to the Cape a million times and normally stay at the family home. This time there was too much family there all at once so we decided to stay in a nearby hotel (a wide decision as it turned out).

There are a lot of places to stay in the immediate Eastham-Wellfleet area and most appear similar. I tried the Four Points first but they had few rooms available and the cheapest was like $350/night so I expanded my horizons a little bit. Southfleet satisfied my criteria by being close to the house, cost-competitive (about $200/night) and got decent reviews on Trip Advisor.

Location is pretty good as there are restaurants on either side you can walk to and Marconi Beach (one of my favorites) is a short bike-ride away.

Honestly I spent very little of my weekend at the motel as I really just needed a place to sleep & shower. They have 2 pools (indoor and out), a game room, an outdoor play area for kids and a tent where I guess you can have a picnic. I saw all these things but used none of them so I can’t comment further. The place was completely full while I was there.

My king-bed room was fairly large and clean though plain. Full digital cable TV with HBO and a flat screen was nice. The bathroom was about average though clean. Only issue was the AC unit is in the main room and so when you closed the bathroom door to shower it got hot and steamy in a hurry. Under normal circumstances this probably wouldn’t be an issue but there was record heat going on the weekend I was there.

Overall we were happy with the place and I would recommend it. I wouldn’t necessarily recommend it for a honeymoon or anything but if you’re looking for a decent clean place to take your family this is a good choice. As noted there are lots of places in the area that look from the road just like the Southfleet and I don’t know if any of them are any better or worse or just cheaper. Was it worth $200/night? Of course not but it’s a weekend in July on the Cape so that’s pretty much what you’re going to pay at any decent place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My boyfriend & I just got back from vacation & stayed 2 nights at the Wellfleet Motor Inn. We had never been there before - or to the Wellfleet area - and were pleasantly surprised. We were automatically upgraded to a King when we checked in and were able to check in a few hours early without any problems. The staff were very friendly & gave us suggestions on what beaches to go to & where to eat. The road to Marconi Beach is right across from the Inn & is a GREAT beach! Both the indoor & outdoor pools were very clean & well maintained, & the indoor hot tub was a great way to unwind at the end of the day. The Inn is only a half-hour drive to Provincetown so we were able to do a quick day trip there before we left, & it was close/convenient to Wellfleet center & the Truro Wine Vineyards. We are definitely coming back here next summer!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boston_Girl312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Excellent location at outer Cape Cod near Wellfleet, with charming coffee shops and outstanding seafood take-aways on Route 6, in town and at the harbor in driving distance. Very friendly and helpful staff, in particular at reception (borrowed me their mobile phone for several hours to make complicated airline reservation change). Very convenient free bike rentals w/helmet and technically perfect bicyles (saves $ 15 beach car parking fee/day). Clean indoor and outdoor swimming pool at motel for after ocean swim. Quiet, flat and scenic (woods) bike path across Route 6, going north and south and to beaches. Several fantastic classic Cape Cod beaches within 5 miles, all accessble by bike. Nice surfing at Marconi Beach across the street (1.1 miles) (buy body boards 2 miles south on Route 6). Watch sunset at the quiet harbor of Truro, and you know what people mean by paradise. Will come back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob_from_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We and friends stayed here and it was exactly what we wanted and expected. It was close to the bike trail, friendly service, room was ready when we got there, refrig in room and two pools if you are looking for that. Breakfast was a bit weak - just some bagels and cream cheese and jelly, coffee. It was a plus that there was a restaurant right next door so we could walk there and get off the bikes for the night! If you are looking for a friendly place, clean and a basic Cape motel - this is the place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lkis229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed at the Southfleet Motor inn this past weekend for the first time. We had a great time. The owners were very friendly. We got the deluxe room to accomodate our big family, which is very hard to find a room that is comfotable for all of us. The room was very clean and the pool was the biggest hit with our kids. The free bike rentals were also a very big hit. Would recommend this motel to anyone taking a trip to the Cape. Will definatley return next year.
Thankyou Brad and Virginia for a wonderful experience. Regina

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Regina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellfleet hotels
5.9 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
5.1 mi away
Wellfleet Motel
Wellfleet Motel
#2 of 4 in Wellfleet
239 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Wagner at Duck Creek
The Wagner at Duck Creek
#3 of 10 in Wellfleet
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Mainstay Motor Inn
Mainstay Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Wellfleet
52 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Southfleet Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southfleet Motor Inn

Address: 999 State Hwy, Wellfleet, MA 02642-2550
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Wellfleet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wellfleet
Price Range: £71 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Southfleet Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Year Built - 1974 Additional Property Description - 34 Room Motor Inn Is Surrounded By National Sea Shore And Opposite The Entrance To Marconi Beach, Bike Trail Access, Large Indoor Heated Pool And Hot Tub, Large Outdoor Pool, Sauna, Kids Playground, Game Room, Barbeque And Picnic Area, Guest Laundromat, And Morning Coffee. Free Wireless Internet Access For Our Guests. We Also Have 3 Restaurants Adjacent To The Property. Family Friendly Establishment. Room Amenities For All Rooms - Room Cable/HBO / Direct Dial Telephone / Hairdryer / Non Smoking / Private Bath Or Shower / Refrigerator / Voice Mail 1 King - Max Occupancy - 2, Room Description - 1 King Bed, Cable TV, A/C, Fridge, Wi-Fi 2 Queen - Max Occupancy - 4, Room Description - 2 Queen Beds, Cable TV, A/C, Fridge, Wi-Fi Deluxe - Max Occupancy - 5, Room Description - 2 Queen Beds, Pull Out Queen Sized Sleeper Sofa, Cable TV, A/C, Fridge, Wi-Fi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Southfleet Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southfleet Motor Hotel Wellfleet
Southfleet Hotel Wellfleet
Southfleet Motel Wellfleet
Southfleet Motor Inn Wellfleet, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing