We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, nice atmosphere, kind service.”
Review of Winslow's Tavern

Winslow's Tavern
Ranked #4 of 47 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A dining experience at Winslow's begins with a warm greeting from Tracey Barry Hunt, the General Manager who oversees "the front of the house." A former documentary television producer and director, Tracey loves speaking with guests and sharing local knowledge about her favorite spots on the Cape. Winslow's menu and wine list are created by South African born Chef, Phillip Hunt, Tracey's husband. Phillip is always happy to share his passion and vast knowledge of wine with guests interested in recommendations and food pairings. On any given day Tracey and Phillip's two young sons, Hunter and Romanee (our grill and saute cooks for the 2020 season!) may also make an appearance at Winslow's to pick some herbs for Dad or entertain the staff and guests with Mom.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere, kind service.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

During a two week stay in Wellfleet, I ate at Winslow Tavern three times. Each visit was outstanding and completely different. My first visit was during Oyster Happy hour (3-5). My wife and I saw in the front for a leisurely drink and a dozen oysters. Can't beat it. Visit two was with a large group of foodies. We all loved the crudos- tuna, scallop, and sea bass. Each one was fantastic-and the salads. I particularly enjoyed the warm fig salad with Gorgonzola and truffle oil. The entrees were excellent as well. The wine was well selected and reasonably priced. Tonight, for our last night in town, my wife, kids, and I all had the Winslow burger (Kobe beef, Gorgonzola, and prosciutto). On each visit the servers were kind and patient (especially with the large party of foodies).

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Afstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    130
    36
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Exquisite”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Exquisite food and excellent service!
This is he third year we go to this restaurant on our Cape Cod Vacations. It is worth the ride even when you are staying at another town.
Sara Smith was our waitress this time. We have had an impeccable evening.
This restaurant is a must do if you are staying somewhere on the Cape.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“What a lovely place to Lunch”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

What a great Lunch Today at Winslow's, we had made a reservation and our table was ready and waiting. Our waiter was very patient with a large group that had trouble deciding, he was attentive throughout and when the meals came out, other staff assisted so that you felt the meals were coming out quickly but not in a frantic way.

The perfect restaurant for a leisurely lunch, and a great choice for a group with many different menu requirements. Wonderful clam chowder, a bit of a departure from the rest of the restaurants in town, with a bit more flavour and lovely roasted corn.
The Scallop Crudo looked amazing as did the Lump crab cakes, I will need to try those on my next visit. A really interesting menu.
Presentation was great especially of the chocolate mousse dessert, with flowers and sauce. I had the lobster BLT, delicious with prosciutto, and a nice side side salad. Everyone's meals looked great and everyone enjoyed them!

Winslow's garden is lovely, and the building is very well kept up, it feels fresh and charming.

Very accommodating, it did not throw them to put our check on many different credit cards.

We will be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very upmarket for the money”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We had a really great meal, ww were seated in a sort of private dining room which felt very exclusive.
The evening was spoiled by a service charge being applied although we were only 6 people. Apparently the terms had recently changed from being based on 8 people. Bad mistake not to communicate this clearly on web site and menus. 18% uplift if not trivial.

Do not be put off by this, because everything else was genuinely perfect.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew V, Manager at Winslow's Tavern, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for voicing your concerns about our gratuity policies, though we're thrilled to hear that you found everything else to be genuinely perfect.

Regards,
Winslow's Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southborough, Massachusetts
1 review
“Winslow lunch review”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

What a perfect little place for a late lunch. It showered briefly coming off the beach not too far away and we elected to sit inside. But the folks already on the patio all stayed put and didn't seem disrupted at all. I had the salad nicoise and she had the broiled calamari special app and we split the lobster pizza special. All were excellent and the service was so easy and friendly. We wanted to go back for dinner but were stuck in Orleans the next night so will have to make it another time. The outdoor seating is very spacious and green. Possibly the best setting for outdoor dining I can remember so we would do that the next time too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winslow's Tavern also viewed

Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Winslow's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing