We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mainstay Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mainstay Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Wellfleet
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Anywhere besides the Cape in summertime, we would have been pretty disappointed with the quality of the room for the price that we paid (around $150-$160/night). However, considering this was, unfortunately, one of the cheapest options on the Cape, and in a good location on Route 6 not far from Marconi Beach, we were satisfied. I am pretty sure the bike trail was not too far from here. If you are looking for a room on the Cape in the off season, when prices are lower, I would not recommend this as your first choice. But during the expensive summer, not bad!

Our room was definitely in need of some TLC - the old, musty-smelling carpet was my #1 complaint. I also would have liked a full continental breakfast for the price; instead we were supplied with mini muffins and coffee (but at least they had something).
Otherwise, beds were comfy enough, it was a decent sized room, and the place was quiet even though it was completely packed the weekend we stayed there. I am not too picky with rooms as long as they are clean, and this one was; if you are used to nice new accomodations you might not like this place.
We really loved the pool and hot tub as a way to relax and unwind after being at the beach all day. They both seemed clean enough to us, and they even supply you with pool towels. No one was even using it, so we had the entire poolhouse to ourselves.
The placement of their sun deck by the pool is unfortunate, it's really nice, but it's facing right out onto Route 6; would be great if they could eventually build a deck on the side or somewhere else where you aren't looking out onto Cape traffic, but oh well. It is a motor inn, not a resort!

Also, I have to say that this place, despite its stinky old carpet, will forever have a place in my heart as it's where we got engaged! :-)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanhou3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    9
    10
    7
    14
See reviews for
17
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york,ny
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

This motel is very out of date. The room was fairly clean but the rug was stained and the curtains were stained. Bedspreads were ancient and had rips repaired. The ceiling tiles were water stained and looked as if they could fall down any minute! No coffee maker and the continental breakfast was pathetic - tiny muffins and coffee that was so weak it was like slightly brown colored water. I would try any other motel next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank momroadwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wellfleet hotels

Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Rooms are out dated, ugly and smell bad. The bed was lumpy, the pillows flat and the sheets were at least 20 years old. The bathroom was tiny, the tub was cracked and rusty and the shower was like standing in a fine mist. The carpet was industrial drab. The door did not actually lock; the handle locked but you could push the door open anyway. The only saving grace was the air conditioner actually worked well. The proprietors were inattentive and outright rude, kept us waiting for five minutes before they answered the bell, then proceeded to take a phone call for another five minutes while we stood waiting in front of them. Unfortunately, they seem to care for their dogs as little as their property, the poor things looked flea bitten and malnourished. And it was way overpriced. The best part of our stay was leaving.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wmacpherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

This motel covers the basics... but, just barely... It needs some updating and it could be cleaner... It would have been better to pay more and get better accomodations...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinca123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

My family and I have stayed in the rooms as well as rented the cottage outback.We have never had a bad expeience. We have gone there every summer for almost 10 years.People can always find something to complaine about but for the price honestly you cant find anything better the staff is wonderfull, free muffins coffee and juice in the morning! My kids LOVE going there!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowellbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

More like a flop house. I was tired after a day of driving and saw a sign for a hot tub. I didn't ask to see the room first, but just took it. Was I disappointed! The room was not clean, the hot tub was cloudy, the lamp shade was upside down and couldn't be fixed. I would not stay here again or recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ex_pat-London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

Some people travel to the Cape and expect big extravagant hotels. That is not what the Cape is about. It's about friendliness. The motels and shops on Cape Cod want to make you feel comfortable and at home. We think that the Mainstay hit that perfectly. The staff at The Mainstay was wonderful. There was always someone there to talk to and help us when we needed it. The rooms aren't huge, but who wants to stay inside their motel room while on vacation?? And the rooms have all that anyone needs! A bed to sleep in, a bathroom, a shower, a fridge! Everyday we had fresh towels if we wanted them. Our sheets weren't replaced every day, but let's be honest, how often do you change your sheets at home? The Mainstay is close to town too! It isn't on the water, but no motels on the Cape overlook the ocean. They had free internet as well, which I was super happy about! They even have a computer that you can use if you need to! It is also pet friendly. Sometimes it is SO hard to find a place where we can bring our little dog. We were so grateful to be able to bring him along for the trip! Overall, we had a great time and can't wait to go back to the Mainstay!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerouactraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellfleet
12.4 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
2.2 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
1.7 mi away
Southfleet Motor Inn
Southfleet Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Wellfleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Wellfleet Motel
Wellfleet Motel
#2 of 4 in Wellfleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
4.1 mi away
Viking Shores Motor Inn
3.4 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#3 of 9 in Eastham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainstay Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Motor Inn

Property: Mainstay Motor Inn
Address: 2068 State Hwy Rte 6, Box 295, Wellfleet, MA 02667-8908
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Wellfleet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Wellfleet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Mainstay Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Mainstay Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Motor Hotel Wellfleet
Mainstay Hotel Wellfleet
Mainstay Motor Inn Wellfleet, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing