We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Oysters!”
Review of Mac's Shack

Mac's Shack
Ranked #3 of 47 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$39
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Mac's Shack is all about the pure goodness of the season's local harvest. Your taste buds will shout "hello summer!" Ice cold Wellfleet Oysters, tender lobster dripping with butter, mouthwatering sushi, and the freshest seafood served on the Cape - made exactly how you like it. This is the kind of food that makes you happy.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Oysters!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stopped here for a quick snack on our way to Provincetown, at the Shack. Ordered 1/2 dozen Wellfleet Oysters and ate by the beach.. The oysters were very fresh, but can't help to notice bits of cracked shells in almost every oyster. Wish they scrubbed the oysters before opening them up!

None the less, the scenery by the beach was very calming and inviting. Great place to stop and take in some fresh ocean breeze.

There was no one in line, I didn't really have any wait at all. It was probably 4pm during the weekday.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    165
    35
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
salm01@optonline.net
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth an Hour Wait?”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We have been to Mac's a few times and they are always crowded. Avoid the crowds and go for lunch. If you dare to brave the wait be prepared to stand shoulder to shoulder with a crowd and consume overpriced drinks for the alloted time. If they say an hour; count on an hour plus. Once seated you can choose between overpriced sushi or a good mix of broiled and fried dishes. The fish is fresh and well prepared but choose wisely. An appetizer of mussels consisted of 12 mollusks prepared in a broth. For the same price, one can have a dozen fresh oysters or clams anywhere else

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevi_Sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mac Attack!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Love this place! Perfect vibe for lazy Sunday in Wellfleet! Sat outside, regge music...great cocktails but also Provence Rose pour moi! Sushi is awesome (try wave roll) as is grilled offerings and Bermuda Chowder.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donna2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
1,113 reviews
729 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“A Fish Taco for the Record Books”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Before a concert in Truro, we stopped by Mac's for dinner & drinks. What a crowd! Huge numbers of people, with every parking spot taken. We were fortunate to get a table in the bar area right away. Split a fish taco, house salad and cup of fish chowder: all delicious. Unlike other fish tacos in the area, this was the real deal, with all the fixings -- chunks of broiled fish, guacamole, onion, and a great sauce -- on a plate and a pile of empty tacos shells. We had a great meal and plenty of people watching. My caipirinha was exceptional: not too sweet, and with some heat to it and powerful drink. A great meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jaseaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Nice place to sit, but eat somewhere else...”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

There are fish shacks all over Cape Cod and Mac's is sadly nothing special. The location is pretty good as you sit on a picnic table overlooking beautiful Wellfleet Harbor. For me, while a great view is a must for a fish shack, good tasting and distinctive food is equally as important and that is where Mac's falls down.

At Mac's, the food was simply ok. The grilled Tuna sandwich lacked flavor and sat on a bun that was twice as large as the tuna steak. Others in our party were not overly satisfied with their selections either.

Perhaps my standards are too high, but I tend to compare all fish shacks to Sesuit Harbor Cafe, where the lobster rolls are outstanding and the fired scallops and shrimp platter is ridiculously good. The views are stunning as well. So if you are looking for great food in a perfect waterfront location, I would avoid Mac's and go elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eppyhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mac's Shack also viewed

Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Mac's Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing