We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“eh, food is just 'ok'” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bob's Sub & Cone

Bob's Sub & Cone
Ranked #3 of 4 Dessert in Wellfleet
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
North Haven, ct
Level Contributor
152 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“eh, food is just 'ok'”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I used to stop at Bobs Sub-n-Cone at least once during my yearly trips to the cape....but i no longer do. The last few times i went, the food just seemed to go incredibly down hill. Yeah, if you get a hot dog or burger it's fine....but if you want any of their subs, it's like you're rolling the dice as to whether or not what you get will be good......or not. I tried the Italian sub....the meat inside was warm, which i found a tad odd...and the sub roll was a little on the stale side. It also looked like a 5 year old made it and i literally had to take the entire sub apart and remake it myself. I've also tried the steak and cheese sub....was disappointed w/ that as well. The steak was tough and VERY GREASY! Now i understand there is going to be SOME grease when ordering a steak & cheese...but DRIPPING? And i'm sorry, but a steak sub should NOT be tough. I've also tried the 'famous clam fritters'...first few years they were GREAT. But then the last few years, they've literally been RAW in the middle. Because of this, i have not been to Bobs in a few years and doubt i'll go back....i'd rather go to PJS down the street....far better quality food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lisa0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    12
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Lobster Pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We have been going to Bob's for years enjoying the their great Ice Cream. Since Rookie's closed, we now get their same great Lobster Pizza at Bob's. Their service is quick & friendly. They have both indoor & outdoor seating plus a small game room.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JimNTerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best beach food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Bobs is on our checklist during our annual visit. We've been going for the last six years at least once during our trip. This trip we had the fried fish sandwich, onion rings, fries, shrimp and corn chowder, fried clams and steak bombs. Everything was fresh and made to order. No mistakes. Staff was friendly and attentive to our requests. Looking forward to next year.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Swalters63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellfleet
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Rude”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

The kid at the ice cream counter is rude and lacks respect for the seniors coming to the take out window. He was that way 2 years ago and hasn't changed yet!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrammyG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Poor quality and untrained staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

The summer help appear to be here on tourist visas and have no idea how to prepare food. The ice cream may be OK but don't eat there, you will regret it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank joedigio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bob's Sub & Cone also viewed

 
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Bob's Sub & Cone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing