We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2012 via mobile

The room was very comfortable and kept very clean by a pleasant staff. The only complaint is that the room was cool at night requiring an additional blanket. The breakfasts each morning were excellent. No two were the same. We skipped lunches. Bob and Bebe were gracious hosts. I would stay there again. The location is convenient for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

Traveling for the NC State Harley Davidson Bike Rally......We have visted several B&B all over North Carolina and the White Doe is by far one of my favorites! The location is the best and the house is so beautiful and classy. If you are headed towards Nags Head or the surrounding areas please treat yourself to the White Doe. Clean, friendly people, breakfast and snacks are wonderful. Five Star all the way!

Room Tip: Always read the reviews,if the good out weight the bad then by all means go for it! it hasn't fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Simply stated--best weekend getaway to a B&B ever. Less than 2 hour drive from our home, parking was a cinch, and check-in was smooth. The day before arriving, we preordered a bottle of house red and 2 salads through the Inn's website to be brought to the room shortly after check- in to tide us over until late dinner reservations up the street. These were brought to us within 5 minutes of entering our room--very fresh and flavorful, but huge! No detail was spared down to the miniature salt and pepper shakers to the beautiful serving tray and chinaware. Upon arrival we were also met with the afternoons gourmet selections of complimentary coffee, teas, sodas, snacks, etc in the grand dining room so we probably could have gone without the salads, but nevertheless they were so good. Perhaps if we were staying in, this would have been sufficient to serve as dinner. So this is only check in.....it gets even better! The Innkeeper was gracious from the start, and the owner, Bob met me in the parlor to introduce himself and inquire a little about us. I could tell he just loves people and the desire to serve the comforts of his guests! He insisted that we "take a peek" at any of the open rooms, which we found to all be excellent choices for our next stay. So on to actually experiencing our room--WOW! We stayed in the 3rd floor Roanoke suite which was so beautifully decorated. Furniture placement was appealing and inviting, the fireplace added to the ambiance, and the spa shower is something I want in my bathroom at home! Some of the rooms online appeared bright and open, but we chose this one for its dark tones. The entire room was cozy, not cramped. We were across from the Tower suite and Garrett suite, both available for a short time to peek in and both equally inviting. Dinner was a short walk 2 blocks up the street along the waterfront, but we drove due to intermittent rain. Cute waterfront area with shops and boutiques, a few upscale bars with live music and our restaurant, 1587. Crowded and a bit loud towards the end of dinner as a huge party arrived and was sat near us, but you could tell it was a local favorite and everyone was there to reconnect with someone. Great food and service, though. A brief walk on the bridge connecting it to the Island was refreshing afterwards. The Inn's magnificently rumored "to die for" breakfast the next morning was prepared and again no minor detail was overlooked in the table setting, just hope I remembered to use the right utensil with each course. But I don't think anyone sitting at the table with us would've noticed as everyone staying there seemed really friendly and interested in the person next to them. But what's more....I think they were just eagerly anticipating the next course because it was so good. There was a woman from Northern Cali who had never tried grits and well, let's just say she will be back just for those. Watching her amusement while eating them was classic! And they were the best grits ever. There were other options for dining if you wanted to be alone....a smaller table in the library off of the parlor was set and the weather was nice enough if you wanted to sit on the veranda. Peace Train, aka Buddy the resident cat would've gladly shared his seat. Just make sure you're wearing thick pants because he likes to massage your legs when he invites himself onto your lap and he is not declawed! He was very friendly. Ok, so time to check out and we were sad to leave. The Innkeeper's desk is situated off of the small "shop" which was the perfect place to purchase a goodie bag of spa like stuff for the mom keeping the kids, desperately awaiting our return home. The shop also had a few kid friendly books, wines and gourmet goodies, and small cottage type beach themed housewares in addition to all the bath salts and pampering items. The only bad thing I can say about this experience is it was too short!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EliseVaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the White Doe Inn 9/13 & 14. It's a beautiful home with several very nice rooms. We stayed in the Roanoke room on the 3rd floor. It was well appointed and comfortable. We were only marginally disappointed in the cleanliness (some stains on the bedspread and the bathroom sink had tooth paste schmutz and some other unidentifiable stuff on it that we had to clean off), but was otherwise comfortable. We didn't raise these issues with Bob or Bebe, owners/innkeepers, as we took care of the sink ourselves and just pulled down the bedspread. Other than that, the property was in very good order.

Breakfast was delicious and the service was great. We ate on the veranda both mornings which was refreshing. If French Toast is being served, be sure to give it a try.

The proximity to downtown Manteo and all the nice little shops is perfect. Parking is not an issue, you're a few blocks walk to downtown, and it is an easy in/out for access to old 64 which runs through the island.

If we return to Manteo we'll likely stay here again, but will try a different room. There were a couple (the Raleigh room in particular stands out) that seemed a little fresher and bigger.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeffRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitedoeinn, Owner at The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

We were extremely concerned about the conditions found upon checking into their room. So, we checked back to determine how this could have happened and how we could prevent it in the future. Regarding the condition of the sink we found that another guest had reserved this room prior to this guests reservation and then requested they be changed to our Tower Suite. Apparently they had used the sink before relocating and the change was not communicated to our housekeeping staff so they could make sure everything was in order for the next guest. In regards to the bedspread we have re-instructed our staff to not use linens that have stains on them. We regret that this may have caused some discomfort to our guests but appreciate learning about it so that we can make sure it does not occur again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This house is beautiful! It has been lovingly restored and the rooms are bright and airy, so pretty. We loved the 4 course breakfast and chatting with the innkeeper. Peace Train, the cat added to the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redfish_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The White Doe Inn is a breath of fresh air for the rest seeing traveler. Having traveled up from Myrtle Beach, via ferries & the Outer Banks, a full day's drive - it was nice to enter the B&B The White Doe Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MicheleVallee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed and were well pampered on our anniversary get away at the White Doe Inn - we started the weekend with one of the best couples Swedish massage ever!! The inn is located in the quiet and quaint village of Manteo. We were impressed with the lovely gardens, porches, and charm of the in from the moment we saw it. Inside is well decorated with a nice blend of antiques and modern amenities. The afternoon snacks were nice and the breakfasts were wonderful! The staff was friendly, informative, and very responsive! Our room was very well appointed and comfortable. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kielbasaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
13.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
7.0 mi away
Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay
Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay
#15 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
18 reviews
7.5 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Cambridge Cove At Bermuda Bay
Cambridge Cove At Bermuda Bay
#16 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
56 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
487 reviews
22.5 mi away
Sanderling Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 319 Sir Walter Raleigh St, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range: £189 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury lodging, quality service, and island life await you at the White Doe Inn; located in the quaint, coastal village of Manteo on Roanoke Island, NC. All bedchambers are decorated with family heirlooms, turn-of-the-century antiques & reproductions with comfortable sitting areas and fireplaces. Several rooms offer spa tubs for two and balconies. A full breakfast if offered daily. Every effort has been made to create a comfortable and intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Doe Hotel Manteo
The White Doe Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing