We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our visit at the White Doe Inn was a splendid experience. We stayed in a great room called "the East Lake" with a very nice balcony. The breakfast is not fair to describe in words - you have to taste it because it was excellent in every little detail.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carsten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We loved our two night stay at the white doe inn! We wished we had planned to stay longer! We enjoyed all that manteo had to offer. The inn was a perfect blend of quiet places and opportunities to interact with other guests at the inn! The breakfasts are beautifully served and excellent! The special touches are too numerous to mention! We recommend a stay! Jeff and Becky

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmcandrsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was our first trip to the OBX, and we couldn`t have chosen a more wonderful place to stay. The White Doe Inn felt like "home away from home". We stayed in the Garden Room, with our own entrance and a little private patio and garden with a fountain. Lovely! The bed was very comfortable (loved the soft sheets!), and there is a sitting area in the bedroom. The bathroom is large, with pretty stained glass windows. We enjoyed the delicious breakfasts on the inn`s patio/garden under the arbor. Coffee or tea is available throughout the day and some delectable treats set out on the dining room table every afternoon. Many thanks to Bob and Bebe, Sarah and the staff for making our stay in Manteo such a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Located just blocks from downtown Manteo, the White Doe Inn is one of the loveliest B&Bs I've stayed in. From the moment you walk up you realize you have arrived someplace special. Everything about the place is impeccable. The rooms are beautifully appointed. We stayed in the East Lake room and had a small balcony overlooking the gardens. The room was large and comfortable, the gas fireplace a real treat, and the bathroom was spacious with plenty of electoral outlets!

While the interior is just beautiful, the backyard and gardens are even nicer. It was a beautiful setting for breakfast each morning, and I could have lingered well into the afternoon if we didn't have other commitments. The four-course breakfast was delicious, with a different menu each morning. And they have an espresso machine where you can get a coffee, latte or cappuccino any time of day -- definitely a plus for me!

The owners and staff were delightful and added to the overall experience. I'd be back every month if I could for a little respite from the "real world". And while you're there, don't miss downtown Manteo. It's our favorite destination in the OBX. Cute little shops and restaurants downtown, lots of historic sites to visit, and a bike trail that runs the entire length of the island with plenty of places to take a break in the shade of the marvelous old trees and get a sip of cool water at the fountains placed along the way.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms connect to the wrap around porch. I would personally would choose a room that over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed this bed and breakfast to the fullest! The room was like being at home, the bed so comfortable, and the staff wonderful! We had a lunch bag packed for our sunset cruise that everyone should try. The breakfast awesome each morning. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I can't think of anything that could be improved. The elegant building, the beautifully appointed rooms, the 4-course breakfasts and the ever friendly and helpful staff - this was a delight. Manteo itself is a charming town and the White Doe Inn fits its ambience perfectly. If you want to relax and wind down in style and comfort, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GDub1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a great time staying at the White Dove. This was a last minute quick trip and we were lucky to get the Garden Room. Beautiful, comfy accomodations, really nice and helpful hosts. Highly recommend The White Dove.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wmanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
4.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,617 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
902 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#2 of 2 in Manteo
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cameron House Inn
Cameron House Inn
#1 of 9 in Manteo
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 319 Sir Walter Raleigh St, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range: £189 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury lodging, quality service, and island life await you at the White Doe Inn; located in the quaint, coastal village of Manteo on Roanoke Island, NC. All bedchambers are decorated with family heirlooms, turn-of-the-century antiques & reproductions with comfortable sitting areas and fireplaces. Several rooms offer spa tubs for two and balconies. A full breakfast if offered daily. Every effort has been made to create a comfortable and intimate ambiance. Pets and children under 10 are not allowed at the White Doe Inn (Main House). The White Fawn Cottage is available for up to six guests and accommodates children and pets. It is adjacent to the Inn; however, amenities are not included but may be added; i.e. spa services, breakfast and dinner at the inn. Call for specific details and to reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Doe Inn Bed And Breakfast
The White Doe Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing