We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only bad thing was having to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2009

This was our first trip to the Outer Banks, and the first stay in a Bed and Breakfast. The experience was amazing! From our greeting at the car by the loving kitty, Buddy, to the warm welcome by the innkeeper, Beth, it was the beginning of a wonderful three night trip. We stayed in the Turret room, but on the next trip would like to try one of the other rooms. (Yes, we definitely plan to return) The breakfast on the terrace was incredible.
We give the White Doe a hearty recommendation.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Figaro1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2009

The owners and staff were gracious and helpful. The house is beautifully restored and provides so many diversions that it can be difficult to leave to see the rest of Manteo. Nothing better than to curl up in the evening with one of the Inn's many DVDs after a restful bath or a book from Manteo Booksellers. The breakfast is simply wonderful, each course beautifully presented. Beware the self serve espresso machine, especially if one is wont to over-indulge. A lovely perfect stay!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elphabaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Can't say enough good things about this wonderful inn! For those looking for a peaceful getaway spot, Manteo is a great choice...The White Doe Inn is the perfect Bed and Breakfast inn, warmly welcoming guests, old and new, young and old, newlyweds or couples celebrating 30 plus years of marriage! The breakfasts are excellent and the inn is always clean, neat, and tastefully and beautifully decorated. It is elegant, and also cozy...the fireplaces in the rooms are both romantic and comforting, even on a mild spring night. We highly recommend this inn AND it's wonderful, friendly innkeepers and staff. Manteo is a lovely little town, where walking from the inn to restaurants, shops, or the waterfront, is convenient and pleasant. It is also a great "jumping off point" to Nags Head, Hatteras, Duck and Corolla and more...so there is much to do and much to see.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarylandGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

This is a wonderful B&B located within walking distance of the waterfront. The rooms are clean and comfortable (although I wouldn't recommend the Scuppergong room if you're tall). Our bath was a bit on the small side, but serviceable. The staff are excellent and accommodating. The breakfasts tend to be on the sweet side, but are fresh and tasty. There's no end to the coffee and tea, and they always have snacks and cakes out. Wine and other drinks are available 24 hours. Overall, a great experience and I'd fully recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morpheus1041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

This is a B&B with a great location. Just minutes off the 64 yet tucked away in an oasis of peace and calm and just a five minute stroll from the waterfront and restaurants.

The White Doe is a beautiful building whether viewed from the outside with its manicured gardens or from within with its spaceous rooms and beautiful furnishings.

The four course breakfasts were scrumptious (we partook of three of them) and in the evenings there was a never ending supply of soft drinks, coffee, sherry, cookies and cakes. The staff were always at hand and keen to share their experiences and wisdom with their guests.

If there is room left for another meal after the White Doe breakfast, do go to the 1587 Restaurant at the Tranquil Inn by the waterfront. Great views and great food.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

We live 90 miles from Manteo and The White Doe Inn. The Outer Banks, Manteo, and The White Doe make for a very relaxing weekend away. We've stayed at The White Doe at least six times and while there are other inns in town which we've seen we never consider anywhere else. The Inn itself is beautifully restored, match that with the owners who remember their previous guests and a staff that bends over backwards to accomodate your every desire and it makes for the best Inn we've ever visited. We have stayed in B&B's from Georgia along the East Coast to Maine and in Tennessee and have never found one to compare to The White Doe experience. As an old commercial once said "try it, you'll like it".

Jan & Dean Horton
Chesapeake, VA

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAJanDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2009

Best B&B breakfast - White Doe Inn
Best dinner in area (by far) - 1587 Restaurant

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJMANDGVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
4.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,617 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
902 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#2 of 2 in Manteo
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cameron House Inn
Cameron House Inn
#1 of 9 in Manteo
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 319 Sir Walter Raleigh St, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range: £189 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury lodging, quality service, and island life await you at the White Doe Inn; located in the quaint, coastal village of Manteo on Roanoke Island, NC. All bedchambers are decorated with family heirlooms, turn-of-the-century antiques & reproductions with comfortable sitting areas and fireplaces. Several rooms offer spa tubs for two and balconies. A full breakfast if offered daily. Every effort has been made to create a comfortable and intimate ambiance. Pets and children under 10 are not allowed at the White Doe Inn (Main House). The White Fawn Cottage is available for up to six guests and accommodates children and pets. It is adjacent to the Inn; however, amenities are not included but may be added; i.e. spa services, breakfast and dinner at the inn. Call for specific details and to reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Doe Inn Bed And Breakfast
The White Doe Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing