We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roanoke Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roanoke Island Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Once again the Inn lived up to our expectations. The rooms were all different decor, clean and just charming. Our bed and pillows were excellent and the furnishings are very special. The second floor breezeway is wonderful for having coffee while watching the sunrise over the water. The breakfast was just right, thanks to Dee and we always had snacks and water available. The grounds were beautiful. Can't wait to go back soon!! It's a very special INN and worth the price.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a nice view, however, I prefer the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIFE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    32
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
70
175
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, VA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Just finished a great 4 nights at the Croatan Cottage! The house was beyond our expectations, from the layout to the room sizes to the decoration. Dee was a wonderful innkeeper, taking time to answer all our questions and making sure we had everything needed; very flexible and accommodating. Manteo is a cute town, very quiet (probably by design) but with the local bar/restaurants, we would have loved to have seen some outdoor live music on the weekend. The Saturday Farmers Market was nice, and the Festival Park (nearly outside your door) was a very scenic walk/run spot.

The house is plenty big enough for a family of 4, and perfect for a dog with a fenced yard. Porch swing was great, small swing in the backyard for kids, and easy walking to all that downtown Manteo offers. Had all the things you need to cook your own meals, and stocked from the Inn pantry. 10 minutes to the Nags Head beaches was an easy drive, yet far away from the vacation crowds.

The pictures of the cottage don't do it justice...its a place you want to leave as nicely as you found it (and makes you want to own one just like it). Only downside is it's costly, but worth it if you can swing it.

Definite recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriental, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a great stay. Our room was wonderful. Reading a few of the not-so-great reviews, i would respond by saying that we weren't looking for a "perfect" cookie-cutter room. If we wanted that we wouldn't go to a B&B. each place has its own character, and The Roanoke had charm, and comfort, and comfort. The room was great. We had a very comfortable room, and a fabulous view. Coffee in the garden, by the pond, was worth the price. Wine on the veranda in the evening was exquisit. Dee, the Innkeeper, was wonderful. She gave great advice on restaurants and activities. She was attentive to our needs and a charming hostess. We're hoping to head back again in the fall.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Pulling up to the Inn is so inviting. The landscaping is beautiful and with the picket it reminds me of Charleston, SC. The Inn Keeper is lovely. She's very welcoming and she happy to give recommendations. Her suggestion to have dinner at 1587 was perfect, loved that place.

Our disappointment was in the room. It's not a fancy place but for over $200 per night I would expect to have a comfortable bed, pillows and linens. It felt like the mattress was as old as the antique bed. You could literally feel the hard metal springs underneath you. The pillows were flat and uncomfortable, the quilt looked and smelled like it came from your grandmothers attic.

The carpet was the same carpet we had in our basement growing up. It's gray, no cushion underneath and very thin.

The decorations were terrible but I can over look poor taste for comfort on vacation. Two or three booked weekends in that room would pay for a well-needed comfort upgrade.

My other complaint is that the breakfast is a few items from Food Lion, literally the bagels were still in the Food Lion bag. One reason we enjoy staying at Bed and Breakfast is for the company around a large table of strangers with a warm breakfast. It is called a Bed and Breakfast, right?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jaclynrva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensvale, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were totally enchanted by this lovely old Inn and its fantastic location.

Everything is literally steps from the door.

Greeted warmly by Dee, we made ourselves right at home, setting up on the 2nd floor porch to enjoy the cool breeze, a cool drink, and soak up the wonderful view across the water to Marshes Lighthouse.

The Inn keepers pantry was well stocked, with large ice maker & fridge.

We stayed in room 5, the bed and pillows were wonderful, everything was crisp and clean, but there were no closets in the room, and the shower was terrible - water pressure non existent, and it made a loud screeching noise that was unbearable. Also the towels were soft but useless for drying anything. Combined with no cooked breakfast option, the price is a little cheeky, but well worth it for the location & experience.

A stroll across to view the Elizabeth II is a must, and lunch on the waterfront in downtown Manteo is lovely. We also visited the Elizabethan Gardens, a charming oasis, and of course you must see the Lost Colony show.

Room Tip: Room 4, 5 & 7 upstairs have the best outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pc0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had an outstanding 5 night stay at the Inn. Room 3 was charming, nicely appointed and very clean. Dee, Sarah and the rest of the staff were very friendly, accommodating and made you feel at home. As stated on the website, the pantry was well stocked with hot and cold drinks and snacks that were available anytime. Had a wonderful continental breakfast daily, with several types of pastries, bagels, bread, fruit and yogurt. Found ourselves enjoying a glass of wine and reading in the common area almost every night. The gardens were beautiful and would be a great place to have a wedding. The view of the Roanoke Sound and Roanoke Marshes Light House located across from the inn was picturesc and the historic district of Manteo was only steps away. The beach was close by only about 10 minutes away. The Roanoke Island Inn was beyond our expectation and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cross Junction, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I came across Roanoke Island Inn during my pursuit for the “perfect place” to take some visiting family from the UK, who had expressed a wish to visit the Outer Banks. I opted for "Croatan Cottage" and Dee happily accommodated us. She seemed genuinely excited about our choice to stay at the cottage and explained everything in detail. Upon arrival Dee greeted us with warmth and enthusiasm. The cottage sits just a stones through away from the shopping and restaurants of Manteo and as we pulled into the driveway, we harmoniously began to ooh and aah. The chorus continued as we explored the cottage taking in every gorgeous detail of the immaculately restored 1900's "Sears Kit" house. Dee has accomplished the perfect balance of staying true to the period of the house yet incorporating all the modern conveniences that we expect in today’s world. We all felt that the cottage was home away from home and when our short stay was over we had to pry ourselves away. My 77 year old mother said she would quite happily move from the UK to spend the rest of her days in such a delightful cottage, soaking up the warmth and friendliness of the locals. Perfect cottage in a perfect town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimandMikeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#1 of 2 in Manteo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
13.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.1 mi away
The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roanoke Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roanoke Island Inn

Property: Roanoke Island Inn
Address: 305 Fernando St, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic Bed and Breakfast offers 8 rooms , a private Bungalow- and a fully furnished historic home called the "Croatan Cottage". All of our Inn rooms offer private entrances, private baths, tv, ac,wifi.charging stations, beautifully appointed. 5 of our rooms will sleep 2 with King beds. 3 rooms will sleep 3-4 guests. Bungalow sleeps 2-4 and is also dog friendly. The fully furnished and loaded 1920's "Croatan House " sleeps max 6 and is also dog friendly. The Inn rooms offer a beautiful common pantry area which all guests enjoy the use of our microwave, toaster oven, mini fridge, ice machine, soda machine, sink, dishwasher and this common area is where our "self-serve continental" breakfast is available daily from 8-11 am. All guests have access to our 10 rocking chair breezeway upstairs on the second level offering breathtaking views of the Manteo waterfront and iconic Marshes Lighthouse building, our fabulous common lobby area with a library of books and comfy chairs, plus all guests have use of our complimentary bikes, gorgeous back yard garden and koi pond area equipped with multiple chairs and gazebo to just relax with a good book or day dream. Daily housekeeping available and attentive staff keep this gem a must stay when visiting Roanoke Island and the Outerbanks area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roanoke Island Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing