We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So friendly!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roanoke Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roanoke Island Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“So friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The innkeeper Dee was very friendly, laid-back, and helpful. There is a beautiful view from the (second floor) porch of the Inn looking out over the water (great for sunrise!). There are lots of snacks and drinks available in the pantry, and the grounds are lovely. My room was very comfortable with a king bed, a tv, and an easy chair. You are within walking distance of the shops in downtown Manteo and the farmer's market on Saturdays. Nags Head is just across the bridge and the National Seashore is a 15 minute drive. My only complaints: the carpeting in my room (? all rooms) was chintzy, and the room rates are very expensive, especially for late September!!

Room Tip: The cottage seemed very cozy and cute (we just looked in). Second floor rooms may get noisy if ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    32
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
70
175
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hoschton, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was our first visit to the Outer Banks, and we chose the very best place to stay. The staff were very helpful. Our room was comfortable and had a view of the water and small lighthouse. We had breakfast and lunch several times on the breezeway (porch) right outside our door. After walking to dinner at one of the great local restaurants, we usually stepped into the living room/reception area for coffee and tea, as well as a treat, such as the small packages of Oreos from the snack jars in the kitchen. We rode their bicycles to area attractions, such as the beautiful Elizabethan Gardens and the fort. We could walk to the Festival Park and town in about five minutes. While the rooms are not fancy, they are appropriate to the period of the house. This was a quaint experience, very enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7, which is a family suite with a king bed in one room and a single bed in the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmpok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We are repeat visitors, and it is always like coming home when we're here. I have only positive comments for the staff and the inn.

All the neat activities in Manteo are within an easy walk, and the recently renovated Bodie Island Lighthouse is only about 15 minutes away by car. That's a great trip, and you can climb to the top now.

Thanks for a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: Stay away from Room #4. It's my favorite, and it's always booked it seems when I'm read...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

The Roanoke Island Inn is in a word wonderful. As you turn the slight corner on Fernando Street and you see the Inn you are immediately struck that you have picked the perfect spot. The Inn itself is beautiful, with multiple flags flying, well appointed rooms, and a library / living room that is ideal for breakfast, reading, and a wonderful libation before dinner.

Dee, the innkeeper is great. She was very helpful with recommendations for dinner and lunch, no need for breakfast, the room comes with a great continental breakfast of fresh fruit, pastries, coffee, cereals and whole pieces of fruit.

You are within walking distance of the small town of Manteo. The boardwalk starts across the street from the Inn, it is great. The downtown we found had great!! shopping, and the restaurants had wonderful seafood, of course, and a variety of other specialty dishes as well.

Cannot recommend this Inn enough. After we got there we found out that they have two cottages too, where 2-3 couples or a entire family could stay.... Try it you will fall in love with this Inn, Manteo and of course the Outer Banks of North Carolina.

We went to The Island Farm, they have two rescued wild horses there, and to we walked up and toured the site of the Currituck Beach Lighthouse. It is build of red bricks and the history will amaze you. Enjoy

Room Tip: No bad ones from what I could see, you either look onto the bay or into the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimK46haywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Once again the Inn lived up to our expectations. The rooms were all different decor, clean and just charming. Our bed and pillows were excellent and the furnishings are very special. The second floor breezeway is wonderful for having coffee while watching the sunrise over the water. The breakfast was just right, thanks to Dee and we always had snacks and water available. The grounds were beautiful. Can't wait to go back soon!! It's a very special INN and worth the price.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a nice view, however, I prefer the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIFE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, VA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Just finished a great 4 nights at the Croatan Cottage! The house was beyond our expectations, from the layout to the room sizes to the decoration. Dee was a wonderful innkeeper, taking time to answer all our questions and making sure we had everything needed; very flexible and accommodating. Manteo is a cute town, very quiet (probably by design) but with the local bar/restaurants, we would have loved to have seen some outdoor live music on the weekend. The Saturday Farmers Market was nice, and the Festival Park (nearly outside your door) was a very scenic walk/run spot.

The house is plenty big enough for a family of 4, and perfect for a dog with a fenced yard. Porch swing was great, small swing in the backyard for kids, and easy walking to all that downtown Manteo offers. Had all the things you need to cook your own meals, and stocked from the Inn pantry. 10 minutes to the Nags Head beaches was an easy drive, yet far away from the vacation crowds.

The pictures of the cottage don't do it justice...its a place you want to leave as nicely as you found it (and makes you want to own one just like it). Only downside is it's costly, but worth it if you can swing it.

Definite recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriental, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a great stay. Our room was wonderful. Reading a few of the not-so-great reviews, i would respond by saying that we weren't looking for a "perfect" cookie-cutter room. If we wanted that we wouldn't go to a B&B. each place has its own character, and The Roanoke had charm, and comfort, and comfort. The room was great. We had a very comfortable room, and a fabulous view. Coffee in the garden, by the pond, was worth the price. Wine on the veranda in the evening was exquisit. Dee, the Innkeeper, was wonderful. She gave great advice on restaurants and activities. She was attentive to our needs and a charming hostess. We're hoping to head back again in the fall.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#1 of 2 in Manteo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
13.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.1 mi away
The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roanoke Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roanoke Island Inn

Property: Roanoke Island Inn
Address: 305 Fernando St, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic Bed and Breakfast offers 8 rooms , a private Bungalow- and a fully furnished historic home called the "Croatan Cottage". All of our Inn rooms offer private entrances, private baths, tv, ac,wifi.charging stations, beautifully appointed. 5 of our rooms will sleep 2 with King beds. 3 rooms will sleep 3-4 guests. Bungalow sleeps 2-4 and is also dog friendly. The fully furnished and loaded 1920's "Croatan House " sleeps max 6 and is also dog friendly. The Inn rooms offer a beautiful common pantry area which all guests enjoy the use of our microwave, toaster oven, mini fridge, ice machine, soda machine, sink, dishwasher and this common area is where our "self-serve continental" breakfast is available daily from 8-11 am. All guests have access to our 10 rocking chair breezeway upstairs on the second level offering breathtaking views of the Manteo waterfront and iconic Marshes Lighthouse building, our fabulous common lobby area with a library of books and comfy chairs, plus all guests have use of our complimentary bikes, gorgeous back yard garden and koi pond area equipped with multiple chairs and gazebo to just relax with a good book or day dream. Daily housekeeping available and attentive staff keep this gem a must stay when visiting Roanoke Island and the Outerbanks area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roanoke Island Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing