We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming”
Review of Roanoke Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roanoke Island Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Picturesque inn on the edge of Manteo's (very small) centre. Had Room 2 which had 2 beds and a minimalist charm and very seaside feel. Beds were firm but comfortable and there was no wardrobe, just some Shaker style pegs on the wall - do people not stay for more than a few days? The only thing that let the room down was a musty smell that never quite went and we wondered if the a/c unit was the cause.

The two inn keepers we met were very friendly and welcoming and were genuine about making our stay was good as possible. We asked for an iron and ironing board and one was promptly delivered. The kitchen area was well stocked with tea, coffee,chilled bottled water and sodas for guests to help themselves to at anytime, along with snacks, biscuits, crisps and nuts.

The help your self continental breakfast arrangement worked very well where you could eat in the communal area or load up a tray to take back to your room. There was a great cold selection with cereals, bagels, muffins, danish pastries etc. The communal area was nicely furnished with a wonderful trompe d'oil painted ceiling and nautical memorabilia, books and interesting object d'art all around. The gardens were pretty with some secluded seatings area.

Recommended !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whinbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    32
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
74
178
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was really the perfect inn experience. Very comfortable room, access to a lovely common room with books and food, and a terrific location in Manteo. It is easy walking distance to the town and its restaurants, easy driving distance onto the Outer Banks, but isolated enough that it is blissfully quiet. The view out across the sound is lovely. The daytime sound of the songbirds was replaced at night by the sound of frogs.
A lot of care and work has been obviously been invested in the grounds, which are landscaped both on the Sound side as well as the beautiful interior gardens.
There is an ease to the place, to a freedom of coming and going without feeling confined by overly attentive owners, which can sometimes be the case in small B&B's. The breakfasts are serve-yourself affairs. Worked well for us, but might be a disappointment to anyone who wanted a gourmet sit-down breakfast.

Room Tip: We loved the view on the Sound side, and the access to the porch upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bookmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Can only agree that this is a lovely inn to stay at. Website probably does not do it justice. The friendliness and willingness to help make it very special and the gardens are beautiful. We were sorry to leave. Also make sure you see Gina's paintings.......they are brilliant!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olyphant , pa
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The second time was perfect. We stayed on second floor and it was a rainy couple of days and we enjoyed it! Got a spectacular light show one night! It was cosy, the gardens were pretty and they were getting ready for a wedding. This time we spent more time exploring downtown. Dee is like a family member you pick! Always a nice breakfast choice of pastry, fruit and cereal. Snacks and drinks all day. Love spot in a lovely town.

Room Tip: Pretty views all over!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Excellent service, a beautiful site, and comfortable accommodations made our overnight visit most memorable. We particularly enjoyed a glass of wine on the balcony overlooking the water! And a short walk to many great restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at the Roanoke Island Inn for two nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location is idyllic as it has a great view and is very close to the centre of town. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the innkeeper was extremely helpful and friendly. We took advantage of the bikes available at the inn and cycled around to the various attractions.
Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 105erp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Couldn't think of a better place to stay - great location, excellent room and we couldn't have been made more welcome. Would recommend unhesitatingly. Generous continental breakfast and the manager, Dee, was extremely helpful

Room Tip: Upstairs at the front has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#2 of 2 in Manteo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
3.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roanoke Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roanoke Island Inn

Property: Roanoke Island Inn
Address: 305 Fernando St, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic Bed and Breakfast offers 8 rooms , a private Bungalow- and a fully furnished historic home called the "Croatan Cottage". All of our Inn rooms offer private entrances, private baths, tv, ac,wifi.charging stations, beautifully appointed. 5 of our rooms will sleep 2 with King beds. 3 rooms will sleep 3-4 guests. Bungalow sleeps 2-4 and is also dog friendly. The fully furnished and loaded 1920's "Croatan House " sleeps max 6 and is also dog friendly. The Inn rooms offer a beautiful common pantry area which all guests enjoy the use of our microwave, toaster oven, mini fridge, ice machine, soda machine, sink, dishwasher and this common area is where our "self-serve continental" breakfast is available daily from 8-11 am. All guests have access to our 10 rocking chair breezeway upstairs on the second level offering breathtaking views of the Manteo waterfront and iconic Marshes Lighthouse building, our fabulous common lobby area with a library of books and comfy chairs, plus all guests have use of our complimentary bikes, gorgeous back yard garden and koi pond area equipped with multiple chairs and gazebo to just relax with a good book or day dream. Daily housekeeping available and attentive staff keep this gem a must stay when visiting Roanoke Island and the Outerbanks area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roanoke Island Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing