We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Hideaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roanoke Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roanoke Island Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic Hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Not sure what the best part was: location, charm, hospitality, or ambience! The Roanoke Island Inn had it all in spades. Rocking chair porch overlooking the water, waterfront walks, summer house (or folly) in the garden, colorful koi pond, round-the-clock snacks, and a stable of bikes made for a very relaxing stay. Parking is ample, and downtown is just steps away. Such a perfect place to base a trip in the OBX. A quick drive over the bridge and you are on the beach, then come "home" to quiet southern comfort and grace. Only snag was a fairly hard mattress in room 7, but that is a matter of preference as much as anything.

Room Tip: Second floor waterfront view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryBeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    32
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
70
175
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was our 3rd time staying at the Roanoke. My husband and I enjoy relaxing on the 2nd floor porch, and love that the inn is in walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants in Manteo. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly.

Love it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This beautiful cottage is part of the Roanoke Island Inn, 305 Fernando St, Manteo, NC 27954. It is completely refurbished and very nice on the inside. Attention to detail is outstanding. Very warm and comfortable and has two central AC Units. Just park and go to town or to the park. Very convenient and close to all activities in Manteo. In-keeper ""Dee" is warm and friendly. They supply snacks, full kitchen, everything to make it feel like a home. Croatian Cottage is pet friendly as are two of the rooms in the inn. 100% worth it if your going to Manteo.

Room Tip: Be aware the traffic on interstate 95 and into Manteo is a challenge unless you drive thought the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank svact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed with my MoH the night before and with my husband the night of our wedding. Ms. Dee made all of our stay absolutely wonderful, from the initial booking process through checkout. We opted to use the garden area for our First Look, and from what I've been able to tell so far, the pictures look amazing! We had coffee ready for us both mornings, and snacks were available 24 hours. The Inn is also located within walking distance of several shops and restaurants, as well as some other scenic areas of Manteo, which was nice for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clingehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This inn offers charming rooms filled with coastal furniture and Audubon prints and maps. You'll love the rockers on the second story porch overlooking Shallowbag Bay and the Manteo Light. Library and kitchen have everything you need including wifi and soda fountain. Bikes available, but it's an easy walk along the waterfront down to restaurants and shopping.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyCent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a lovely Inn in a perfect position. Very comfortable and a great kitchen with food and drink available all day along with breakfast in the morning. Great access to nearby restaurants and sights. We spent 2 nights here touring the Outer Banks but it's a great base for longer trips

Room Tip: We had a nice room at the front with great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armada2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My 9-year-old son and I traveled to Manteo to learn about NC history and experience the natural habitat of the critically endangered wild red wolves. I was so pleased to find that the Roanoke Island Inn was just as beautiful and welcoming as the photos suggested. Dee and Sarah were delightful and very responsive to our needs. They also offered detailed suggestions to help us make our trip absolutely fabulous. The location is perfect--right beside the little marina, just a quick car ride to Kill Devil Hills and Nag's Head, and only a few miles from the "Lost Colony" theatre. Highly recommend! We look forward to our next visit with the Roanoke Island Inn!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#1 of 2 in Manteo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
3.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roanoke Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roanoke Island Inn

Property: Roanoke Island Inn
Address: 305 Fernando St, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic Bed and Breakfast offers 8 rooms , a private Bungalow- and a fully furnished historic home called the "Croatan Cottage". All of our Inn rooms offer private entrances, private baths, tv, ac,wifi.charging stations, beautifully appointed. 5 of our rooms will sleep 2 with King beds. 3 rooms will sleep 3-4 guests. Bungalow sleeps 2-4 and is also dog friendly. The fully furnished and loaded 1920's "Croatan House " sleeps max 6 and is also dog friendly. The Inn rooms offer a beautiful common pantry area which all guests enjoy the use of our microwave, toaster oven, mini fridge, ice machine, soda machine, sink, dishwasher and this common area is where our "self-serve continental" breakfast is available daily from 8-11 am. All guests have access to our 10 rocking chair breezeway upstairs on the second level offering breathtaking views of the Manteo waterfront and iconic Marshes Lighthouse building, our fabulous common lobby area with a library of books and comfy chairs, plus all guests have use of our complimentary bikes, gorgeous back yard garden and koi pond area equipped with multiple chairs and gazebo to just relax with a good book or day dream. Daily housekeeping available and attentive staff keep this gem a must stay when visiting Roanoke Island and the Outerbanks area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roanoke Island Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing