We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Tranquil House Inn helps make a business trip ever so pleasant.”
Review of Tranquil House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tranquil House Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

On a recent business trip to the Outer Banks the last week of February 2014 I stayed at the Tranquil House Inn in Manteo. What an outstanding pleasure during the so called "off season". The Inn was buzzing with occupants who seemed to be having as great a stay as I was. From check-in to check-out the staff was super! Customer service in all aspects was simply fantastic. My room was huge and comfortable. Wine and cheese at 5 PM was a nice way to end the day. I plan to stay again in the near future

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Inn recently for our first trip alone in 7 years. The Inn, it's staff and the surrounding town and park are just what you need to detach from the everyday turmoil of life. The staff goes above and beyond, to make your stay wonderful. The breakfast is nice. The wine and cheese time is just right! The time you can spend on the spacious deck just gazing out at the harbor is romance in the making. We enjoyed the food in the 1587 as well! The casual atmosphere with 5 star dining was tremendous. We know that our destination for our next alone time is the Tranquil Inn. Our many thanks to the staff of Tranquil House Inn. Your Inn and hospitality rejuvenated our marriage. We look forward to seeing you all again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The room was large and comfortable with a king bed desk and sofa. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Wine and cheese at 5pm was a nice amenity. The 1587 restaurant was great and we had an excellent meal there. Overall a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Finally got back to the Tranquil House Inn after several years. Nothing has changed. It is still one of the nicest places to stay for a relaxing time. Enjoyed breakfast outside on the second floor deck - weather perfect. Rooms were spotless. Amenities as expected. Dinner at 1587 on the first floor of the Inn was "five-star." Manteo is a lovely town and the Tranquil House Inn serves as the perfect base as it is walking distance to all the town has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view to maximize the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanbmsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Right on the water and very peaceful. If you like to historic section of a town, as I do, this fits right in. Walking distance to nice shops and restaurants and you can sit on the porch and enjoy the water, boats, etc. They do a nice little breakfast and in the afternoons offer sweets, coffee, and wine, that was a great way to begin the evening. The rooms are a bit older but very clean and large.

Room Tip: They happily showed us a room so we could decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob_Haight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is an Inn in a small Southern Coastal town that is right on the Water. While it does show it's age of over 25 year some...the charm and location more than make up for the slight wear and tear. The staff is awesome..very kind and eager to help you in any way.
The beautiful rustic back deck is a bonus for chatting and enjoying the water view.
The restaurant 1587; serves 5star dinner only and you simply must have dinner there. You can enjoy waterside dining and the staff is most professional and the food selection is excellent.
I don't think it would be the best place for a family with kids but for couples...it is great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with with a view of the Water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarciaBryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Tranquil House and had a wonderful time. The room was very clean and the staff attentive and helpful. I have to say, that the housekeeping staff does a great job. The receptionist said that the Inn was 25 years old and while we noticed a little wear and tear, we were amazed at how well kept it was. Breakfast was good and the Wine and Cheese was a nice touch. We stayed in a second floor king and found it to be just right for us. However, we were able to see one the third floor rooms and will definitely be requesting one of those on our next trip. We would recommend the Tranquil House to anyone. Great Inn and great location.

Room Tip: Check on the third floor. We paid a standard rate, but those rooms are more spacious and worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ECCS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
0.5 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#2 of 2 in Manteo
234 reviews
3.8 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,597 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
3.2 mi away
Oasis Suites Hotel
Oasis Suites Hotel
#2 of 13 in Nags Head
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquil House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquil House Inn

Address: 405 Queen Elizabeth Ave, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9815
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range: £67 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern inn with a view over Roanoke Sound. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquil House Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing