We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, romantic, peaceful!”
Review of Tranquil House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tranquil House Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
raleigh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, romantic, peaceful!”
Reviewed 31 May 2005

What a beautiful bed and breakfast. The hotel is lovely and romantic. The room was clean, roomy, well appointed and comfortable. The front desk clerk, Sheryl, is very sweet and blessed us with her kindness. This inn is undoubtedly the best on this little island and perfectly locted in the heart of the quaint down town area. There are many little shops and places to eat within easy strolling distance. The breakfast in the morning on the deck is perfect...truly a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank justsunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    59
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
28
88
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2005

We stayed over Easter Weekend for three nights - received a AAA discount, so be sure to ask!

Breakfast in the morning included fruit, pastries, sausage biscuits, instant oatmeal/grits, bagels, toast, coffee, tea, etc. An extended continental type breakfast if you will. Wine & cheese reception every evening was nice touch - in the afternoons - cidar was brewing and yummy cookies were put out.

We had the Suite right off the 2nd floor. The suite was nice, but I'd actually prefer a room on the third floor next time we go. The suite is directly adjacent to the area where breakfast/wine/snacks are served, so it's a little awkward privacy-wise, and people can be a little loud since they don't realize people are staying right on that floor. We asked to look at the King-rooms on the third floor - they were great - very big room, small bathroom was the only downside for those rooms.

Hotel's location is great - you can walk to several restaurants & shops in downtown Manteo, and also to the Riverfront Park area. We ate at Full Moon Cafe - the quesadillas were fabulous! The hotel has bicycles you can borrow at no charge, and we took advantage and biked over to the Weeping Radish restaurant about a mile away.

And, let me also point out the lovely Pioneer Theatre, also in walking distance - it shows 2nd to 3rd run films, $5 a person, but the popcorn and drinks are $1 a piece! It's charming - very, very old theater!

Manteo has FREE WI-FI thanks to Andy Griffith as well!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jenni5791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2004

This is a fantastic place to stay at. You can’t ask for a better location. I stayed there in September 2004 and the weather was perfect. The inn is centrally located with easy access to everything.

I stayed in suite on the second floor which was beautiful. I had a great view of Manteo and the harbor. The down side of this was that it was on the second floor. The main porch/common area is also located on this floor and in the mornings/evenings when people were sitting on the porch they had a direct view of my living room. Sure I could close the blinds, but why would you want to with such a beautiful view? The bathroom could have been a tad bit cleaner for the price I was paying, but overall I didn’t have much to complain about in regards to the room. If you want a room with a view, ask for one on a different floor, although, keep in mind there’s no elevator and you’ll have to carry your bags upstairs (they may have a porter – I didn’t ask and they didn’t offer).

The inn serves a continental breakfast in the morning and wine and cheese in the evening along with fresh baked cookies (yummy!).

I found the staff to be friendly, helpful and attentive to my needs, although, I must admit that I’m not high maintenance and easy to please. I didn’t eat at the restaurant because it was a bit pricey for me, but the menu looked very good and it has been rated highly in various magazines.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank NJdudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2004

We have stayed at the Tranquil House Inn many times. We have never been disappointed. Maybe it's the fact that we love Manteo, and the Tranquil House is just icing on the cake. The setting is peaceful and quaint. The staff is always friendly and very helpful. The last couple of visits we have stayed in corner rooms on the street side of the inn, which could be considered noisy in any other city or town; but, it has been very quiet even in the middle of the summer. The rooms were bright and sunny, and very comfortable. It is so nice to take your morning coffee and sit on the deck overlooking Shallowbag Bay and the historic ship, the Elizabeth II, or just take a walk. If you stay at the Tranquil House, be sure to have at least one dinner at the restaurant, 1587. The food is fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank shenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 February 2004

Very nice. It has the feel of a Bed and Breakfast. Cookies and lemonade in the afternoon, cheese and wine in the evening. Within walking distance of Main.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
0.5 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#2 of 2 in Manteo
227 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,518 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
4.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Nags Head
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquil House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquil House Inn

Property: Tranquil House Inn
Address: 405 Queen Elizabeth Ave, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9815
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern inn with a view over Roanoke Sound. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquil House Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing