We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grease and Poor Service”

Big Al's Restaurant and Grill
Ranked #5 of 35 Restaurants in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The past is back! Big Al's Soda Fountain & Grill serves up authentic American fare in a retro 50's fun dining atmosphere. Restaurant features soda fountain counter, juke box, dance floor, game room/arcade, one of the largest Coca-Cola memorabilia collections in the country, fresh never-frozen USDA certified Prime Angus burgers, home made desserts, 50's inspired gift-shop and blue-plate specials. New owners have recently updated the restaurant from top to bottom with a focus on a quality dining experience with all the good flavors of the era.
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Grease and Poor Service”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Went in to an empty restaurant that had plenty of wait staff standing around. We ordered our drinks of 3 waters and 1 iced tea. 10 minutes later, still nothing. And, since the menu was mostly greasy food, we decided it was a good sign to leave.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    128
    81
    42
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outer Banks Weekend”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Easy to find. Food and the service was great. Your dinner was brought out in timely manner. Our server always kept checking back with us to see if we needed anything. Prices within the family budget $$. Lots of ample parking.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pass this one by”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

The restaurant was not crowded yet the service was poor. We had a party of eleven so she came and took our food and drink orders together so we could have time to look at the many she said?? We had to ask for refills and the prices were a little on the outrageous. Cute little place with a 50-60's type theme just poor service and too expensive. Kids meal is $6.99 plus $1.69 drink just to give you an idea.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjdean2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

I absolutely loved this place. I would definately go back. We sampled a little bit of everything and the food was great. Friendly servers. Great atmosphere.

Helpful?
1 Thank tara00snoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

When we got to Big Al's we had to put our name on a list. There were many tables that were unused. Other customers came in and were seated before us (same number of guests). Once we were seated the waiter came and took our order. We did not see the waiter again until after we had finished eating. The waiter never came to check and make sure our food was correct, nor did he came to offer us drink refills. Needless to say, we will not return to Big Al's.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Al's Restaurant and Grill also viewed

 
Manteo, Roanoke Island
 

Been to Big Al's Restaurant and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing