We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lost Colony

The Lost Colony
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bursting with action and excitement, The Lost Colony is the epic story of America's first English colony. Over thirty years before the Pilgrims landed at Plymouth Rock, a group of 117 men, women and children waded ashore on Roanoke Island in July 1587 to establish the first permanent settlement of its kind in the Americas. Recruited by Sir Walter Raleigh, among these settlers was John White, his pregnant daughter, Eleanor Dare, her husband Ananias and the Indian chief Manteo who had become an English ally during a previous visit in Britain. They unloaded their belongings and supplies and repaired on old fort previously erected on the island. On August 18, 1587 Eleanor Dare gave birth to a daughter she named Virginia, thus earning the distinction of being the first English child born on American soil. Ten days later, John White departed for England promising to return with more supplies. It was the last time he would ever see his family. Three years later, John White returned to Roanoke Island on his granddaughter's third birthday only to find the settlement deserted, plundered and surrounded by overgrown brush. On one of the palisades, he found the single word "CROATOAN" carved into the surface, and the letters "CRO" carved into a nearby tree. The 117 pioneers of Roanoke Island had vanished into the great wilderness and into folklore. Their collective fate to this day remains unknown and is considered to be America's greatest mystery. Nestled along the shores of America's most historic and mysterious island, over 100 professional actors, technicians and designers have gathered every summer since 1937 to honor the memory of the brave people who came here to build a new country. The production is as epic as their story. Written by Pulitzer Prize winning playwright Paul Green, The Lost Colony is a cultural treasure and the best family entertainment on the Outer Banks! Performances Monday through Saturday nights May 29-Aug 22, 2015 at 7:30PM.
Taichung, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have been going to see The Lost Colony off and on since I was a child, and I still love it! The story intrigues me, and I love the singing and dancing! Although I appreciate that the show is almost an hour shorter than the last time I went, I missed the dancing and singing that seemed to have disappeared. I was also surprised by the ending, which was different that what I remembered. Still, I loved the show, and I would especially recommend the VIP backstage tour, especially for history buffs and/or theater enthusiasts! I was mesmerized! Enjoy the show!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslievdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brandonasny, Manager at The Lost Colony, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to let us know your thoughts about the show and how much you have enjoyed it over the years! We're especially glad to hear how much you appreciated the backstage tour. We've worked hard over the years to make it a very special experience for those who take it and it sounds like we did it up right in your case. We look forward to seeing you again on a future trip to the Outer Banks!

Brandon Smith
Theatre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    147
    61
    15
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Forest Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Make Sure You Have the Backstage Tour & Dinner”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Lost Colony is a wonderful outdoor production. BUT... make sure you include the dinner with the cast members and the backstage tour. This will make you appreciate the production so much more. We were thrilled with the opportunity to meet and chat with many of the characters, the back stage tour was the BEST!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brandonasny, Manager at The Lost Colony, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thanks for taking a moment to let us know how much you enjoyed your experience here at the theatre! We were all thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the character dinner and backstage tour. We have worked hard over the past couple of years to create something very special that would create lasting memories for our patrons and it sounds like, in your case at least, we hit the nail on the head! We hope that the rest of your vacation was just as enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you on a future trip to the Outer Banks!

Brandon Smith
Theatre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia Station, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Entertaining”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had six in our party, 2 adults and a 22 year old, 21 year old, a 16 year old and a 15 years old. All younger persons were females. They enjoyed the play and especially the handsome young men in the show. :)

They also walked away with a lot of history facts they didn't know, so it was a good experience for all.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brandonasny, Manager at The Lost Colony, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We're thrilled to read that the show appealed to the wide array of ages in your party. We pride ourselves on providing the best family entertainment on the Outer Banks and it sounds like in your case, we hit the nail on the head. We hope to see you all again on a future trip!

Brandon Smith
Theatre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsonsburg
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great production”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I had seen the Lost Colony play the previous year and with one of our kids interested in theatre we decided to take him this year. We enjoyed it for the second time and our son who will minor in theater while in college really enjoyed it. The production is very well done and the outdoor theatre is very comfortable. This was a great night spent on the Outer Banks.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brandonasny, Manager at The Lost Colony, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking a moment to let us know how much you enjoyed the show over the past couple of years! Coming to The Lost Colony has become a tradition for many families and we hope it does for you too! We look forward to seeing you on a future trip to the Outer Banks!

Brandon Smith
Theatre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soperton, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very well done”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

First time there and we enjoyed the play. It was hard to understand several of the actors esp the "drunk" so there were times it was hard to follow. The backdrops were well done and actors did their performances well.The story implied they had moved on elsewhere which is a strong possibility, but it is just as probable that they were killed by the Indians. I recommend it as a great nighttime activity. It lasted much longer then we were told when we bought tickets. We were told about 1 to 1 1/2 hr and it was more onto 2 hours. There was nowhere to eat left open at that hour, surprisingly. The one and only thing we could find open between Manteo and Kill Devil Hills was a McDonalds so EAT FIRST.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Loopylue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brandonasny, Manager at The Lost Colony, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit! I'm sorry you were told the wrong information about the running time of the show. The show runs 2 hours and ten minutes with a 15 minute intermission, which is actually quite a bit shorter than it has been in some years. Great advice on food! It's particularly frustrating to those of us who work here. You definitely need to plan ahead if you want to eat after the show. There ARE a few places on the beach that serve food late....but you have to seek them out. Thanks so much for taking a moment to let us know how much you enjoyed the evening and we hope to see you again on a future trip to the Outer Banks!

Brandon Smith
Theatre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lost Colony also viewed

 

Been to The Lost Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing