We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A throwback with authentic Southern cooking”

TL's Family restaurant
Ranked #12 of 35 Restaurants in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A throwback with authentic Southern cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was our best lunch during a week's stay at the Outer Banks. What TL's lacks in advertising budget, it more than makes up for in food quality and friendly service right in lovely Manteo. The prices are unreal too. My southern fried chicken dinner was $7.95 and the portion size was amazing. The corn fritter bites were done to perfection also. I wanted authentic southern cooking on our last day in the OBX, and TL's really hit it out of the park! Excellent stop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank YankieDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    72
    25
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for a quick stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Good for a quick stop on the way back from the aquarium. The food was average, but good wholesome damily fair. I'd go back without question.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmeriBrit0572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
294 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Country Cooking at the Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

If you enjoy southern country cooking with a bit of beach flair then this is your place on the Outer Banks . Expect the place to be packed with locals and tourists alike especially on the weekend mornings

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Furlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What a super lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

After a midweek visit to the aquarium we felt it was time for a late lunch and this location was surrounded by local license plates and trucks. The trout special was two very large portions with the customary two sides, The fish sandwich was flounder with plenty of fries. A quality meal, reasonable prices for the location and the friendliest service in town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarheel1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
263 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fried everything”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

It was all good, but how hard is it to fry nearly everything? We would defiantly eat here again, but branch out to some of the non-fried comfort foods. My fried chicken was god with a light breading. My wife's said her shrimp sandwich was awesome (I can't comment, allergic to seafood). Other meals passing the table looked appetizing.

Helpful?
Thank Timzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TL's Family restaurant also viewed

Manteo, Roanoke Island
Manteo, Roanoke Island
 

Been to TL's Family restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing