We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular Lighthouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roanoke Marshes Lighthouse

Roanoke Marshes Lighthouse
Ranked #6 of 38 things to do in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lake Station, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Spectacular Lighthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in Manteo last week and walked from our Inn on the boardwalk to the Lighthouse. Grandiose in appearance as we approached it. We couldn't go up as it was roped off though. It did not light up at night as we thought it would have - too bad. It was a lovely lighthouse to look at and walk around on the outside deck.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    53
    21
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Greatest Lighthouse in the OBX”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This lighthouse has a great history and is even more pretty at night. It is a must-see in the great little town of Manteo, you forget you are at the crowded OBX.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pretty Cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The lighthouse was pretty cool overall. You can't go inside, and you have to walk down the dock. There is no cost, and it is really pretty.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyler418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
715 reviews
241 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Lighthouse, really?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I get this is a lighthouse designed for the sound side and was rebuilt in downtown Manteo, but in my opinion, it can't be listed as a true NC lighthouse. At least let us climb up to see the light from the inside. The "lighthouse" gives a bit of history and shows where the "lighthouse" used to be located. Take it or leave it. Snap a picture and move on.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank VEE1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
206 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Replica of the former light”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

A little out of the way to get to, but is a good replica. Grounds free, no access to the lighthouse (at least, not while we were there). Worth the visit just for the history. Pretty site.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnandJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roanoke Marshes Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Roanoke Marshes Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing