We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Oysters!”

Darrell's Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 33 Restaurants in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$21
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Darrell’s is a family-style seafood restaurant that’s been a favorite on Roanoke Island since 1960. Seafood is the definite specialty; the fried oysters are widely touted as the best anywhere, served with the traditional fixings of cole slaw, french fries and hush puppies. Locals know that Darrell’s does seafood right. Land food, children’s fare and light eaters’ dishes are also available. Darrell’s is now serving the best BBQ and BBQ Ribs fresh off an all narural wood fired smoker. Helpings are heaping and desserts are delicious, if you have room. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served Monday-Saturday and breakfast and lunch on Sunday’s.
Lara, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very Good Oysters!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My wife and I met two friends there for dinner. One was a local who said that it was usually very good and it was. My wife and I each had the fried oyster dinner and we were very pleased. They were excellent and numerous, possibly more than I needed but NOT more than I could eat. An extra large portion of fried oysters wins me over every time. They were not over cooked, or over breaded. The coleslaw was also very good (one never knows with coleslaw).
Our server was fast, friendly and informed regarding the food. Our experience there was very good indeed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    115
    55
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hartford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad is to much of a complement”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This was an awful place. My wife and i didn't expect much and found it to even disappointed those expectations. the service was indifferent and the food terrible. Everything was overcooked and hard. We would never go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewHartfordWatchdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The Red Drum is a family style restaurant to spite its name.”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The Red Drum Taphouse is open for lunch and dinner. The food was good as was the service. It is quite loud in the restaurant the the table beside us had a "SCREAMING" child that they ignored for quite a while. (I do mean ear piercing screaming) I kept hoping that someone from the restaurant would ask the parents to either take her outside or do something to quiet her. We could hear every word of the conversation from the large party seated behind us. Our waitress was lovely and professional despite the fact that the large party behind us kept raising their voice and demanding their every desire to her, including a, "and we want it now!" at the end of each demand. She never got upset and kept her cool, including a lovely smile throughout her rude treatment. Everyone enjoyed their meals but we could have definitely done without all of the drama around us. There is no atmosphere, it is a good place for a family to grab a reasonably priced meal. It is not recommended for a private or quiet meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Soccermotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Seafood”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Celebrating a friends birthday and chose Darrell's Restaurant. We wasn't disappointed at all with the food, service or atmosphere. I started out with now a new favorite of mine, the She Crab Soup. This soup was a awesome in that it had plenty of fresh crab meat in it and you got the hint of sherry but it wasn't over powering. My friend had the steak and a salad and both was perfect. I got the crab cakes (Friday's Special) truly fresh and flavorful food . The waitress never let our drinks get empty and made sure we had all the extra's to enjoy our meal. Loved they have daily specials and much more. Plan on taking husband next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viccobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otto, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Family Restaurant”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Had the shrimp and crab cake dinner. The shrimp was cooked perfectly and the cole slaw was excellent. Very friendly and competent waitress.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank V L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Darrell's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Darrell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing