We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“16-year wedding anniversary July 2012”
Review of Cameron House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cameron House Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We decided to take a little trip for our anniversary and were looking at all sorts of places to stay in the Outer Banks area. We came across The Cameron House Inn during our search and the pictures looked very nice so we decided to book it for one night. It was quiet, relaxing, and comfortable. We felt at home. We wished we could have stayed longer and we will definitely be coming back again, maybe when the weather is cooler. The house is beautiful and our room (Creef) was great. We were very pleased with everything. This is definitely a place to relax.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSandsJUL2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012

My fiance and I just got back from a mini summer vacation in the Outer Banks. Knowing the coast would be busy around July 4th, we decided to stay away from the crowds and chose the Cameron House Inn in Manteo on Roanoke Island. The Inn was welcoming, beautiful, and very relaxing. We loved waking up to the smell of fresh cooked breakfast, which included sausage, bacon, eggs, biscuits and gravy, hash brown, and lots of fresh fruit. There was always bottled water, sodas, coffee, and tea available, as well as random sweets like cookies and cake, appearing throughout the day in either the kitchen or large living room. The comfortable bed and spacious Mirabella Room was the perfect place to return to each evening after a day of sightseeing and enjoying the beaches. The staff was friendly, welcoming, and gave great suggestions for places to eat and which beaches to visit. We will definitely be returning to the Outer Banks and the Cameron House Inn.

Room Tip: The Mirabella has a romantic curtained canopy bed and an extra TV room with 2 sofas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Cameron House Inn, the owner, Beth was warm and welcoming and I enjoyed the atmosphere. The rooms are large and comfortable. There is a large back porch with seating for 8-10 with large fans and a fireplace, a perfect place to sit, enjoy the breeze and talk with my friends. The breakfasts were delicious and the fresh fruit was excellent. I loved the chocolate chip cookies for mid afternoon snack. The location was excellent, in very close proximity to a biking path which runs the length of the island, I had some great runs there. I also loved the large swing on the front porch. The staff directed us to the local farmer's market on Saturday morning where we all bought crafty items. I would return here again for a relaxing and fun filled time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stayed st The Cameron House Inn with my book club(eight ladies).We had an absolutely wonderful time. The inn is very clean with big rooms and not overly decorated as some B and Bs can be. The breakfast was delicious and included an egg dish, wonderful fresh fruits, coffee, tea, juice, bagels, and sweet rolls. One morning we even had home made biscuits and gravy. Homemade cake and cookies were available throughout the day along with beverages. The front porch with a huge swing and the back porch with fireplace lent themselves to many talks,laughter, and relaxation. Beth and both the ladies who work there were incredibly nice and felt like friends the moment you introduced yourself. Several of our memebrs rode the bikes and explored Manteo. At the suggestion of our host, we visited the nearby farmers market and really enjoyed the crafts and goodies. The stay was perfect and we will definitely come again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Mirabella and it was beautiful with a canopy bed and sleeping alcove with fold out s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Our first trip to OBX, and our first stay in a B&B-- and the Cameron Inn was a great choice! The house itself is beautiful, the front porch just begs you to wile away the afternoon on the wide porch swing. The decor is soft, warm colors and everything is so cozy! We had lovely breakfasts, and the best cookies and other treats available all the time (such a nice surprise to walk in after a day of sight seeing and find a new sweet treat awaiting us!). Exploring the town of Manteo is like stepping back into a simpler time...and the old-fashioned red bicycles provided by the inn are a great way to see the town. And the cats! Beautiful cats, always willing to climb up on your lap outside and cuddle! We were looking for a relaxing winter getaway, and we could not have chosen a better place! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Each room has something special about it...we chose the Featherstone because of the in-room fireplac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This was our first trip to the Outerbanks. Since hurricane Irene was heading toward the OBX while we were planning our trip, we decided to wait until after she went through before we booked. Lucky for us, The Cameron House Inn survived the storm.
The inn is charming, clean, comfortable and the staff is very welcoming. From the minute we arrived, we were told where everything was, and told to make ourselves at home. If you're looking for a place that pampers you and waits on you hand and foot, this ain't it. If you want relaxed, family style accomodations, this is the place. There is a fireplace on the back porch with rocking chairs and several very friendly cats (outside only) that will be more than happy to sit on you lap by the fire for as long as you sit there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Creef" room on the first floor. It has two windows and is off of the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwmagui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The light..and a welcoming warmth is ALWAYS on at the Cameron Inn.

And homemade pie is always waiting for you on the counter as well.

I could go on and on...but unless you have Grandma's house in ManEo...I would be returning regularly to family comfort of the Cameron Inn.

Can't wait to get back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Langit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
13.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
4 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,639 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
The White Doe Inn
The White Doe Inn
#3 of 9 in Manteo
289 reviews
22.4 mi away
Sanderling Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House Inn

Address: 300 Budleigh Street, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range: £142 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cameron House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cameron House Inn is a beautiful Manteo, NC inn nestled in the heart of Roanoke Island. Near Nags Head, Cape Hatteras and famous Outer Banks lighthouses, it is the ideal accommodation location for exploring the Outer Banks, the Roanoke Island attractions and enjoying the shops, restaurants and activities of Manteo. Cameron House Inn offers six guest rooms, all individually and beautifully designed. The overall style of the inn is Arts and Crafts, and the rooms reflect that look. Special amenities give each one its own appeal. Relax in a rocking chair by the outdoor fireplace and let the quaint, peaceful spirit of small–town Manteo carry you back to a simpler time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Cameron House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameron House Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing